We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful & Charming”
Review of Martine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martine Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Modesto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful & Charming”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The Martine Inn was exactly what we had hoped! The antiques & decor were warm, cozy, and well maintained. Cody helped us with our bags & gave us a quick tour of the grounds.

Later, we came out to see the classic cars & he had just covered them. Cody, without skipping a beat, uncovered them for us and even gave us a little background about them. He was knowledgeable, helpful, and pleasant.

We played pool until just after 10pm. We noticed the time and started cleaning up. Just as we were finishing a woman, (not sure if she worked there), popped in and was rather snippy, saying the game room closes at 10. (If she had taken the time, she would have seen we were in the process of leaving.)

Overall, we had a wonderful time, a lovely breakfast with unparalleled views, in a quaint atmosphere. We were delighted with our goody bag upon checkout. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LitLit02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    96
    29
    23
    11
See reviews for
37
325
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Back home in Savannah GA now, reminicing about the Martine Inn....one word: disappointing. On entry, the inn seemed dark, tired, carpet old, musty. We had to walk around and search for a few moments before we located staff. (A student who would only be available for a few hours during day hours.)

We were there while the weather was still a little chilly and was given a "deluxe" downstairs "suite" which turned out to be musty, damp, cold. Obviously a closed in garage area with multiple ceilings/rooms combined. The Inn's only saving grace ...and the ONLY reason we stayed for the night...was it's location. Breakfast was blah. Quickly checked out, never to return.

With so many quality B&B's in the area, don't waste your money or time at the Martine Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseMary2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Manager at Martine Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We take all guest concerns very seriously, even when guest posts comments 9 months after they've stayed here. We are struggling to make sense of this traveling nurse's comments, who was given a "local's discount," because she was stationed locally, would have been greeted at the door by our full-time Innkeeper (college grad),especially if she arrived during normal check-in hours, would have been given a choice at breakfast, was in one of our finest rooms, which if she had interest in the history of the Inn, would have learned that the room she chose was the original servants' quarters, in which the floor was lowered in order to heighten the ceiling, and who walked throughout the Inn on carpet that was a year old. We would rather have guests stay at the Inn because they appreciate the work, the passion, the care which goes into it daily -- not just because of the location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Could not have been more pleased with our recent stay at the Martine Inn. Wonderful accomodations, extremely friendly personable staff, owners are very involved and fun people to chat with!! Location is perfect and the food (full breakfast and wonderful happy hour in front of the lovely fireplace, plus fresh cookies all day long) are absolutely delicious! The owner (Don Martine) has a really interesting collection of vintage MG racing cars on display too, which is fun.
Sea lions, foggy morning vistas, comfort and attentive amentities and staff, all attracting fun and interesting fellow guests...
We will be back for sure!!
Thank you to all at Martine Inn for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda Dunes, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our stay at the Martine Inn was one we will treasure. We chose this B&B for its location (just a couple of blocks from the Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row) right on the bay. The views as we had our sumptuous breakfasts on antique china was that of the bay with otter and seals playing in front of us. Each room was filled with lovely antiques, and all the comforts we could want. We had a small room mix-up at first, but when they realized what had happened, they not only upgraded our accommodations, but added a beautiful tray of chocolate dipped strawberries and chilled champagne, along with their apologies. Each evening they provide appetizers and wine and we enjoyed meeting and visiting with the other guests. No tv in the rooms, but a computer and printer in the parlor with wifi available. We loved the fireplace ready to light, and did so each morning before going to breakfast. As we left, we were sent off with warmth, and a small care package for the trip! This was more than we usually spend, but worth every penny! We will be back!

Room Tip: You can see the rooms on their website to choose the one that appeals to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Good-this B&B has a lovely location across the street from the ocean and a great walking path. It has a nice drive up appeal and quaint public rooms. It offers pool, games, evening snacks, and they'll make you a cup of coffee even after that. The dining room overlooking the ocean has a wonderful view and breakfast is tasty and served very nicely. There are interesting antiques and collectables throughout the house. The young man greeting us was nice as was the breakfast staff. The good-bye snacks are a kind touch.

The Bad-We have stayed in many B&B's before. Our room was on the second floor. While I understand that there are no bellman at B&B's, I am usually offered help with my luggage as I am a slight woman over 50. I realize that they didn't have to offer, and they didn't. Our room was small and had very bright lights in the ceiling. I heard steps overhead until about midnight. There was no place to put anything in the tub-shower. These were minor quips to the noise that awaited us in the middle of the night. Birds started to constantly screech--I'm not talking about chirping--and we finally tried to close the windows (which were opened when we arrived) at about 4 a.m., although it was warm with them closed. The window mechanism was very difficult and it took a while to figure it out. After we closed the windows the noise was still constant, the bird screeching lessening to a burglar alarm sound. I know that birds are a natural part of the scene, but closing the window should have been explained to us and double panes would have helped. While this area is very expensive, for $250+ I expect more. Maybe a different or more expensive room would have made this experience better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

All the good things that people say are true- mostly. Yes, the staff was helpful and friendly and the view from the dining room is spectacular. There's a lovely and ample spread in the late afternoon, copious enough to leave us almost too full for dinner.

For me, the biggest issue was the musty/moldy smell coming from the meeting room across the hall from our room as well as the general need for sprucing-up. (Outside really needs a paint job) As my title says, the place has seen better days.

Another issue is that at 9pm as a guest, you're on your own. We came in from dinner and wanted some ice at 9:10 but the day host was gone. Everything is locked up and our understanding is that the owner lives on site and is there for emergencies. (Ice, in our opinion not being one of them).

I'd say the breakfast was average- no choice of any sort. No, "would you prefer bacon or sausage, french toast or eggs." I was able to ask for scrambled eggs instead of the whipped cream laden french toast, but it came on a tiny plate and I had to ask for some fruit.

Didn't quite feel as elegant as it may once have been.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wfredmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Some old-timey hotels feel kitschy but this one is perfect. The detail in each room is remarkable and it feels like you are staying in someone's family house rather than an impersonal hotel. The snacks,mtea available, and amazing breakfast really are something to write home about. I frequent b&b's and can safely say this is near my favorite.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ehazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.6 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#17 of 56 in Monterey
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martine Inn

Property: Martine Inn
Address: 255 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine walking out the front door of your beautifully appointed room and gazing at a beachfront paradise. Take a few steps and smell the ocean and hear the baby seals as they sun themselves. The Martine Inn, a Pacific Grove hotel, provides the perfect romantic getaway for people who love nature and beachfront activities. The Martine Inn overlooks Monterey Bay and provides pristine views of the coastline. The hotel features amenities including:- Romantic Ideal Location- Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row- Complimentary Gourmet Breakfast- Complimentary Evening Wine & Hors d'oeuvres. Complimentaty Wi-Fi. Library, Conference Room, Game Room with Billiards and Ping Pong Tables. Vintage MG Car disply. Escape to the Martine Inn for an unparalleled experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Martine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martine Hotel Pacific Grove
Martine Inn Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing