We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beatiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, ME
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“beatiful setting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2005

You can't beat the location! Full ocean views from the common areas where afternoon wine & snacks and breakfast are served.

We had the most expensive room - in the carriage house in the back. It was a quiet room with a fireplace & jacuzzi tub, but it needed updating and had a musty smell. Definitely not worth the price.

The breakfasts at Four Sisters Inns (we've stayed at several) are skimpy - basically they serve the bare minimum to qualify as breakfast - and they don't put out enough for everyone. Same with wine & afternoon snacks.

But the staff were friendly and they truly seem to care about their guests' comfort, so if you get one of their great rates off season, it might be worth the money. In season, at full rates, I'd look elsewhere.

Helpful?
8 Thank FalmouthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Marketing at Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2006
We are happy to hear that the guest loved the setting of the inn as well as the friendly staff at Green Gables Inn.

We pride ourselves on our bountiful breakfast and it is so very unfortunate that the guest felt as though their breakfast was inadequate. We are constantly working with our chefs in creating new recipes and menu's for our breakfast, which is our signature amenity.

Our breakfasts are so popular that we even have a cookbook, now in its fifth edition, with our signature and specialty dishes highlighted.

We are very proud of our Green Gables Inn and can assure you it is quite the place to stay! Please call us directly if you have any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    47
    29
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
179
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2005

My Wife and I arrived at the Green Gables to celebrate our anniversary. When we opened the door to our room, the staff had a bottle of champagne, baloons and flowers waiting for us....right in front of a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean! The staff were incredibly accommodating and the 1/4 mile walk to the Aquarium was refreshing. Wine in the evening, wonderful breakfast in the morning...all for less than $200 a night! We will be visiting this B/B on our next trip up the Coast!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2005

Great view of the Pacific Ocean in the Carriage House with working fireplace. Jacuzzi enjoyed!

Very relaxing. Reminded me of visiting Great Gramma. Old Victorian house that has been meticulously maintained.

Great breakfast and wine tasting in the parlor.

Take a walk on the Pacific Shore!

Perfectly located to enjoy the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RooneyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2005

My best friend and I took an 18 day vacation in May and did the whole west coast. When we left San Fran we were exhausted and a little crabby. The Green Gables Inn was just what the doctor ordered. The house was beautiful, the hosts were warm and inviting and the views were sensational. We statyed in the Balcony Room and it was so wonderful to fall asleep to the sound of crashing waves.

The inn serves wine and Hor'devors in the evening. It isn't a spectacular meal, but it is complimentary and I thought it was adequate. I thought that breakfast was a little more tasty.

I really liked being in Pacific Grove. It was nice and quiet but it was a quick walk to the aquarium and the cannery. Can not wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ktbear7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2005

My finance and I stayed in the Green Gables in last September and I must say that it is truly amazing. A truly magnificant home where we felt honored to stay for two nights. The breakfast was ok (decent food is common with "Sisters" B&B's) as we have deffinitely had better at other B&B's at a much cheaper price. Besides that, every ammenity you could ask for and a must for any B&B lover.

Stayed September 2004
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2004

We stayed at the Green Gables Inn for our Honeymoon during xmas 2004. We chose one of the Carriage House suites (room 10). The room had everything that we wished for: ocean view, fireplace, a nice big king bed, jacuzzi tub......

The Inn serves delicious breakfast each morning. They also serve wine and Hor'devors in the evening. The Inn is situated in quaint Pacific Grove, which we believe is the best place to go in the Monterey Bay if you wish to avoid the normally crowded tourist spots.

Overall our experience was great! We hope to return to this inn again. We recomment this place whole heartedly.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jerryjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2004

The Green Gables in has a fabulous view of the ocean. The room was very nice and the location is excellent. The food however was terrible. The appetizer in the evening consited of wine and macaroni and cheese. Not exactly what we were looking for. Breakfast was insulting. Scambled eggs and watery oatmeal - both ice cold. It appeared to have been sitting out for hours. We didn't even bother.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
2.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.0 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 301 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently voted as one of the Top 50 Small Hotels in the United States by readers of Conde Nast Traveler and perhaps the most beautiful and famous inn located in California, the Green Gables Inn is a historic gem with panoramic views of the Monterey Bay. Every detail in this exquisite Queen Anne Victorian, built in 1888, has been meticulously restored for your enjoyment. Make your reservation well in advance for a very special getaway.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Green Gables Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing