We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately old home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stately old home.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

As previously said, a stately old home overlooking the ocean. Staff all very friendly. This is the second four sisters inn that we've stayed in. I would have to say the first in the Sonoma valley was more to our taste decor wise. This is very much the patterned carpet, wallpaper and frills and teddy bears every where! Although we enjoyed our two night stay, would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolaCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    48
    29
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
184
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This lovely old house sits overlooking the sea. we stayed in 'Jennifer' a spacious room on the first floor (UK) 2nd floor (US). It had a wonderful set of windows that made it light and airy, if you sit on the window seat you can peek at the sea. At night with the windows open you could hear the surf breaking on the rocks. The linens were excellent and the towels soft and fluffy, bathrobes were provided. the bathroom was functional and had a shower and jacuzzi bath tub, the toiletries were of good quality.

The drawing and dining rooms had wonderful views and clusters of seating areas, we sat watching sea otters which was thrilling.

Afternoon nibbles are served in the dining room which was a nice touch and in the evening fresh baked cookies and sherry is available. Breakfast was served buffet style and consisted of cereal, fruit, baked goods and a lovely quiche the morning of our visit.

Each member of the team we met were courteous, efficient and friendly- a great combination.

We loved staying here and wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a wonderful experience in wonderful hotel , only dissapointment that it was one night only , old fashioned charm with attentive but not obtrusive service, beautiful house in beautiful location .hope to revisit one day and stay much longer .

Room Tip: All rooms charming .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've stayed at the Green Gables twice now. The first time was many years ago and I remember it being first class all the way. We stayed in the same room this time and it is definitely dated now and could use a good cleaning. There was nothing wrong per se, just that it seems old and dusty now. We stayed in the Gable Room which is good sized and quiet yet you can hear the ocean which is nice. The bathroom is small, not much room but still fine. The loft area is the problem. We made the mistake of climbing up to see the view and it was very dusty, musty and probably moldy. My husband got the worst allergy attack that bothered him all night until he ran to the local drug store for medicine. It seemed like the place hadn't had a good cleaning in years. The lady that showed us around said as much, that it was hard to reach and was dusty. Hmmm, if she knew that, perhaps clean it? Just a thought. The afternoon wine and snacks and the breakfast were fine, nothing special though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikesCats3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My 2 nieces and I love this B&B. We stayed at the separated cottage style building on the second floor ( room 7). We were so surprised to see how big and how charming the room was. One king bed and one sofa bed with the nice sitting area in front of the fireplace. We can see the ocean from our room. More surprised to see the big full bathroom with separated shower and bathtub ( with jacuzzi ). We wish we stayed longer than just one night. The afternoon wine was excellent but we were kind of disappointed with breakfast. It was just OK not many choices as I expected and as compare to another places that I used to stay before in Pacific Grove.
The location of this place is the best and can't be beat.

Room Tip: If money is no limit, choose the room with the full view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovemyFigaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

we stayed in the Garret room, 2nd floor and I think the least expensive. the room is pretty much the same as pictured on their website but seemed a little overdone with the wall paper. sometimes had an odd smell. there are only 2 outlets and one has the bed lamps and clock plugged into them. hard when you have so many electronics to charge. the rooms view is of the side yard if you crane you neck you can see the ocean pick another room if you wish a better view we had a cat in heat one night that yelled all night. you could hear the waves late at night with the window open needed for the smell though. we were ok with the room as it was just a resting place on a busy quick weekend.

the bathrooms were nearby and always clean and easy to access. the stairwell was recently carpeted and when we were leaving the host came running after us because we were letting the luggage bump the carpet. seemed a bit excessive but whatever. turn down was nice a rose and chocolate but the teddy bear was a little weird. there were a lot of teddy's in the inn that was odd and creepy.

nightly cookies and I think wine or sherry (didn't use) was nice. breakfast one day was a french toast which was good. some oatmeal ceral, fruit and a small amount of bacon. 2 juices. another day it was quiche YUMMY lots of it. one day we didn't use do to an early rise day for a race but they were kind enough to leave some bagels in the fridge for us. I didn't drink coffee but another person commented that it wasn't great.

check in and check out went smoothly. parking was on the street and sometimes hard to find. entrance after 8 was a side door that stuck sometimes.

most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

the view from the dining room was beautiful directly across the road was the ocean and at this time of the year there were harbor seals with babies.

would I stay again? maybe depending on what I was there for but probably not.

Room Tip: pick the right room for the type of stay you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stampmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our trip was bittersweet. Just lost my spouse and it was quite sudden and unexpected and he had made a promise to our minor daughter he would take her to the ocean. So, I fulfilled his promise and as we made our reservations, I worked with Honey. (appropriate name). I told her of our "needs", quiet, peaceful,etc., and she recommended the carriage house. Absolutely perfect! We were a little behind since I'm direction challenged and tea time was closing up however Ivy let us know she would keep us "filled" and the sideboard open till we had our fill. Room was a "partial" view... The view was beautiful and could hear the ocean (we left windows open) all thru the night. From turndown, and breakfast, and the goodies, and the tenderness shown, am looking forward to bringing our oldest to get the same treatment oh, so soon! Lovely!!

Room Tip: Although carriage has "just" a partial view, still very nice. There are stairs if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
0.0 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 301 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently voted as one of the Top 50 Small Hotels in the United States by readers of Conde Nast Traveler and perhaps the most beautiful and famous inn located in California, the Green Gables Inn is a historic gem with panoramic views of the Monterey Bay. Every detail in this exquisite Queen Anne Victorian, built in 1888, has been meticulously restored for your enjoyment. Make your reservation well in advance for a very special getaway.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Green Gables Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing