We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but There are Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK, but There are Better”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Checked in with only a few minutes remaining of the wine and cheese. Platters were decimated beforehand by other guests, not replenished and promptly removed at 6. Wine was some kind of very sweet white wine in un-marked decanters, and a poor quality red. Too bad as California has so many great wines.
Room was nice with excellent bed and huge warm comforter that was much needed. Several light bulbs burnt out.
Breakfast was the big disappointment. Hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, French toast and fruit, but not a piece of bacon or sausage in sight. Had the distinct impression that cutting corners on quality to increase profit was the main goal here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    48
    29
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
184
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, FL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Overall, we'd consier going back, but needs a few simple upgrades. Lovely setting, nice hospitality and we loved our room except for the fact that it was a cool January night & our small space heater just wasn't adequate, nor were the thin blankets. The coverlet on the bed was so heavy .. you couldn't use it. Surprised they don't have down or down alternatie comforters. Happy Hour was just OK. We weren't too disappointed because we'd just had a lovely early dinner & bottle of wine at he Fishwife Restaurant. No comparison to neighboring Inn's Hapy Hour, though. Breakfast was nice and replenishment of items was timely. Again, lovely settng & location.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Gable Room 04 on the 2nd floor & it had a view, lovely seatng area, was spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomMomTheVillages_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have stayed in several Four Sisters Inns in California and Washington over the years, and two on this particular trip. They are uniformly very attractive properties, well-located, well-managed with a personal touch, and loaded with amenities. Each property is unique, yet operated to the same high standard. This is the original Four sisters Inn (it was their home), and every room is quite different. We had the room with a "crow's nest" and had no complaints with it. The private bath (some rooms share) was roomy and was furnished nicely. The small sitting area in front of the window was a great place to curl up and read while listening to the waves across the street. The common areas are spacious and comfortable. Cannery Row is within easy walking distance as are numerous restaurants, and the miles long coastal path is just across the street. This is a great place to stay as you explore the area and far more affordable than comparable properties in next door Carmel.

Room Tip: I'd stay in the main house rather than the annex because of the charm and the view, but pick you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKSStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Pros: Location, charm, views, staff
Cons: A little pricey for January (230/with tax), breakfast minimal choices

My family stayed here for our annual family get away. We had 3 rooms (two of which were in the house). One room had a full ocean view and the other had a partial ocean view.

Upon arrival the staff was very nice and accommodating. There was coffee and hot tea available and appetizers and wine to follow.

What I liked most about this place was it felt like you were at home which made it easy to just relax and hang out with the family.

Our room had a Queen bed, a partial ocean view, a shower and a jetted tub, a TV with cable and free wi-fi.

Wine and appetizers were very good. I will say the breakfast selections were few so if you are counting on a lot of choices you may want to go out to eat.

The location was great. Short walk to the Aquarium and Cannery Row.

Restaurant recommendation is il vecchio which was wonderful but I recommend making a reservation if you can.

Overall it was a wonderful stay and I would consider it again when staying in the area.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has its own bathroom as I overheard some guests surprised to find out they didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoredonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is one of few places where I would return. It was not the best Inn for kids but it was OK with our daughters ( 2 and 5 years). Nice location and nice restaurants nearby, walking distance to the aquarium.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSM, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed 3 nights just prior to Thanksgiving and loved every minute. We were greeted with a warm welcome coming in the evening after dinner. The host provided some good information about the inn and how it all works. She then walked us to our room, showed us a few details and we were on our way to a wonderful stay. We stayed in the "cottage" building (room #7 second floor of 3) separate from the main house. It was an excellent room with a very nice view of the water and crashing waves,.. which by the way, we could here from inside our room. Very nice! The room and entire historical house (originally built in 1888) was very clean and welcoming in so many ways. Though there were other guests (usually it's all couples), everyone was quiet and very relaxed. Reading, playing games, enjoying the excellent ocean views from directly across the street.

The breakfasts were adaquate but definetly not big or with any fried foods. Homemade pancakes, quiche, breakfast breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. etc. The late afternoon wine, tea, coffee, and snacks was a very nice touch as well.

The Inn is located less than a 10 minute walk on an excellent, ocean edge, walking path from Monterey Town & Aquarium. It may take you a little longer as you stroll and enjoy the sea and sea life - which included over a hundred seals basking on the beach just a few steps from the Inn. All-in-all, I would highly recommend The Green Gables Inn and we hope to return someday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Lacey" room #7 which was not in the main house but had a wonderful ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

During summer 2012 we spent one night at the Green Gables Inn. The small room was even smaller than expected. The door did not close very well, leaving a huge gap at the bottom. The idea of having some snacks accompanied by a glass of wine late afternoon is appealing, however, the quality of the wine was very poor considering what is produced in the Monterey area. The views from the common room are beautiful. To spend some time reading here is a joy in itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerfromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.0 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 301 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently voted as one of the Top 50 Small Hotels in the United States by readers of Conde Nast Traveler and perhaps the most beautiful and famous inn located in California, the Green Gables Inn is a historic gem with panoramic views of the Monterey Bay. Every detail in this exquisite Queen Anne Victorian, built in 1888, has been meticulously restored for your enjoyment. Make your reservation well in advance for a very special getaway.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Green Gables Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing