We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed, awesome breakfast!”
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centrella Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 5, 2007

This is place is perfect if you want to just get a way from the hectic life in the San Francisco Bay Area. My wife and I spend a weekend in Monterey and staying at Centrella Inn was definitely one of the good times we had there. Located in the heart of Pacific Grove, all the great places to eat and locations to take great pictures from are all within walking distance from the Inn. The staff was very friendly and was more than helpful in pointing out some of the great local eateries; the gentleman at the desk even walked outside to personally show my wife and I where to get a great lunch, dinner, and even a night cap... all within walking distance from the Inn. There was always plenty of food for breakfast and their fruit selection was always fresh. The only drawback I could remember was that parking was rather difficult as the Inn only had limited parking. There was plenty of parking on the street, but it tended to get scarce as the evening approached. But once the car was stowed away, the Inn was a perfect spot to be at. Definitely ask about their massage package as the spa is right across the street from them. All in all, I would highly recommend the Centrella Inn and will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ_Spartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 497 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2007

The management running the Centrella Inn must realize that what prospective guests read and see on their website is what they hope will be provided to them during their stay. If they are unable to fulfill that business obligation, then it would behoove them to change the face of the bed and breakfast that is being portrayed to unassuming customers. I understand that the establishment is attempting to operate a profitable enterprise, but the lodging, service, and overall care was considerably lacking, especially after what we were promised before our stay.
The problems my girlfriend and I experienced were too many to list, but needless to say, we switched rooms after not getting the one we originally booked, and we weren't impressed with both the breakfast or the snacks. What they have to work with is certainly a commodity, as the building, location and setting all have a certain charm to it. The main problems are the competency of the staff, the need for upgrading the lodging provisions with things like new beds (shower head's too) and making people feel welcome and comfortable. These things can all be worked out, and I hope that in the future the management is committed to providing the best bed and breakfast experience possible.
Thanks for the opportunity to speak on this.

Stayed: June 2007
5  Thank Greeneyes44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Over-promising and under-delivering. If you would browse Centrella's website, you'd think, it's a WOW place but wait till you get there. Bad service, lumpy bed, not so well kept. We booked 2 weeks advance for our stay and we didn't get the rooms we liked. Ms. Kim Marie (receptionist), who did the booking just said, sorry five times...(yeah...as if, it would help fix the problem) Yup! Very lousy service. Anyways, we got a different room that she really recommends which according to her has a very nice view of the ocean. Guess what, views of all the roofs you could possibly look at. The shower curtain just gross us out. Not exaggerating but it was yellowish! Oh and one more thing, the cookie they serve, well it's as cold as the stale one's you would have in the store. I hope the people who runs this place realize how bad the place and service was.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank sarg28migs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We stayed at the Centrella May 11-14, 2007 and found the experience most enjoyable. The staff was great -- friendly and helpful. Although there wasn't a huge selection of cooked breakfasts, what they did offer was well prepared!!! A delightful experience, and in a great location for walking to Monterey Bay or into the restaurant area of Pacific Grove.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelalliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

The Centrella Inn was absolutely amazing. First of all, the scenery around the inn was beautiful as was the inn itself. Centrella is only a couple of blocks away from the ocean and the inn is in an easy location to find with a lot of great restaurants around it. The people at the desk were very friendly and always smiling, and the breakfast at this inn was terrific-get the cinnamon raisin waffles- they are to die for! Overall my stay at the Centrella was the best hotel experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank allisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

We had a wonderful weekend at the Centrella Inn! They were so incredibly friendly and helpful, our breakfast was great and the room was perfect! We had a one block walk to the beach and to a fabulous restaurant, and thoroughly enjoyed the quaint garden and the privacy our room provided. I would recommend this inn to anyone in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SanFrancisco22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2007

I don't know what was wrong with the travelers that posted negative reviews for such a warm and cozy place. We stayed in one of the cottages off the main house and felt like we rented an appartment with all the amenities you could ask for. When we woke up the next morning expecting some kind of continental breakfast, we were pleasantly suprised to find the welcoming staff offering to cook virtually anything we desired. The food that was already cooked was a medley of scrambled eggs with ham, cheese and peppers, Potatoes mixed with assorted vegetables, fresh scones, english muffins, assorted fruits and juice. This was the first B&B that I've stayed at but after spending $400-500 an night for less quality places I can't see how others could have such a bad experience. Give it a try. Abby was one of the great staff members who was positive and up beat, Thank you again for a great weekend.
Jesse & Nicole

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank North_Bay_Jesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,001 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Address: 612 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2611
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $138 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centrella Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing