We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Victorian Gem”
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centrella Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Victorian Gem”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Centrella Inn is an atmospheric Victorian hotel. Rooms are small, but full of period character. A high quality breakfast is provided, in addition to late afternoon hors d'œuvres and glass of wine.
There is a peaceful seating area outside and comfortable lounge indoors. These provided oases after a day of tourism.
The staff are exceedingly helpful with respect to one's experience at the inn and tourist information.
Parking is limited, especially when fellow guests park across spaces.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snorrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    160
    48
    25
    23
See reviews for
69
292
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This place was incredibly Creepy. Plus the bathroom was dirty. It was full of bodily hair on the floor, it was small in the shower and the shower curtain was made of cloth and it was draping on your body the whole shower, unsanitary!!! I need to be unsanitized at this very moment. It was noisy located right off a busy street. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was delicous. But that is not enough for a gross bathroom and the Munster like home. Plus this place made you want to knit yarn. With no TV's . Do not stay here!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyEverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Pacific Grove is a gem; better than Monterey itself. Centrella Inn B&B is an historic place with a lot of charm. Service is a bit non-professionnal but very friendly. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akhenaton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

a great location, rooms quite small and no bath....... shower for short people. breakfast good, value good, shower dated..... far too small. evening wine excellent!

however i would def come back

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoHinshropshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay area, CA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Centrella Inn is a conveniently located inn within walking distance to the beach, downtown Pacific Grove, the outlet mall, and the Monterey aquarium.

If you're into the old victorian-style experience, you'll absolutely love this place. If you're a fair-weather fan of it like my husband and I, you'll find the experience quaint, but you also start to miss some of the modern amenities. The walls were really thin so we could hear our upstairs neighbors and the conversations on the street.

The breakfast they serve was quite outstanding - they have a menu that you can choose from ranging from Belgian waffles to plates of eggs/bacon/potatoes. They also have self-serve stations where you can help yourself to the cold items like cereal and fresh squeezed orange juice.

They have hors-d'oeuvre hour from 5 to 6pm where you get a free glass of wine and some cheese and crackers. I found it a bit on the late side, as we tend to eat dinner early, and wished they started at 4pm instead.

I would also not pay rack rate, which is ridiculous, and even the "discounted" rate that I got felt a bit high. Of course, this is the only B&B we've stayed at Pacific Grove, so I don't know how the price compares to other B&B's in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Email confirmation indicated that I had successfully negotiated (via telephone) an acceptable two nights for the price of one night web rate but somehow that never made it into the "notes" in our booking record. Bummer!! It was disappointing to have to haggle upon checkout in order to pay an already negotiated rate. Therefore I highly recommend presenting a printout of the email upon checkin/checkout to avoid this possibly happening to you. I've never had to do that before anywhere, but I'll be prepared to do that from here on out at every hotel with which I book a two-nights-for-one deal.

Having said that, we _loved_ our stay, loved our room, _loved_ the breakfasts, and _loved_ the fact that the Inn is so popular -- it was packed when we were there during the week between Xmas and New Year's. We knew how lucky we were to have snagged a room at the Centrella! We really appreciated the Inn's flexibility in allowing us to cram a rollaway into our room since we were two female friends who wanted to sleep in separate beds yet stay in the same room. The location is fantastic -- a few steps away from the movie theater, a few steps away from the mural at Lover's Point in Pacific Grove, and such a nice, short walk from the Monterey Bay Aquarium -- why hassle with trying to park there when you can just walk from the Inn? Our room overlooked the street so I just used the earplugs that I always have packed in my luggage.

Definitely would recommend the Centrella. Staff is great (despite the booking notes snafu)!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

I booked the Premier Victorian Room. Their website stated premier Victorian room with either a bay window or garden view. Our room had none of those features and overlooked a street. Room was very tiny; one would say cozy. No room for the suitcases except on the bedspread which was white. We left the cases in the vehicle so we wouldn't mess up the nice bedspread. The breakfast was tasty but small portions. Would not stay again or recommend!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,982 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Property: Centrella Inn
Address: 612 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2611
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centrella Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing