We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage is roomy for family of four”
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centrella Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cottage is roomy for family of four”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed one night in one of the Cottages which has a bedroom and living room with a pullout. Everyone was very friendly, they poured a healthy glass of wine at cocktail hour, and there were more breakfast choices than expected. Parking is free, and it's just a couple blocks to the small downtown in one direction and the harbor in the other. The inn and the surrounding area are all older, well kept houses.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostonfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
As one of the few Bed and Breakfast's that welcome families with smaller children we do our best to make sure the cottages feel like home. I'm glad you were able to enjoy your time at the Centrella. We love to have families staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    157
    48
    23
    23
See reviews for
61
288
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I went with a group of friends to visit Monterey. We stayed at the Centrella Inn. Very nice place, Friendly staff, Very comfortable beds, We all enjoyed our stay there and were planning another trip there in the future

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamarilloSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing. If you are interested in coming and staying with us again please sign up for our newsletter. We provide discounts that are only available to our newsletter members as well as keep you informed about all the upcoming events on the peninsula. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was a charming B&B with better-than-average amenities: a beautiful garden, a luxuriously comfortable bed, and a breakfast menu changed daily with local, fresh ingredients. We enjoyed out stay and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We take advantage of our local farmers market every Monday and snag the freshest ingredients so that we can provide a delicious breakfast. What better way to get fueled for your day of hiking, biking, shopping or just relaxing. Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope we get an opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stopped here during our road trip along the coast. We had stayed here before and had really liked the atmosphere of the place.
The B&B is situated in an old Victorian House, very centrally located. You can walk to the little harbour, or just go up two blocks to have dinner. The free parking was very nice.
This time, we arrived too late for the free wine&cheese in the afternoon, but last time it was lovely. The B&B has a living room at reception where this takes place, with a nice view at the garden.
Breakfast is also here, as well as the milk and cookies at night (which were great by the way). In this room, you can also grab some tea or coffee at night when reception left for the night.
The rooms are very nicely decorated, with old Victorian furniture and details. Yes, without tv's, but with wifi. You are not completely cut of from the modern world, so to speak.
The only thing we did not like about our stay here, was the noise from one of the other rooms. They kept their airco on all night, which made far too much noise in this tranquil place. A shame!
Breakfast was good. You can choose from some egg dishes on a menu, and there are some cereals, fruit, etc. It was a good deal for the price and we probably will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharshankRedemption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I know you are a long way from Pacific Grove, but I hope you will continue to consider us as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Centrella Inn is big enough to have some privacy, but not so big that one gets lost. The room we had was delightful with two chairs tucked into a windowed alcove. The breakfast is easily the best we have encountered at a B & B. We were given a menu that listed several choices; all we tried were excellent. A glass of wine is offered each evening, and cookies later. Coffee and tea are available always. The inn has a charming garden to sit and enjoy the sun. The location is one block off the main street of Pacific Grove, and just 100 yards from the ocean. In addition, the cost was the lowest of comparable B & B's in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are unique in that we are a Victorian home that is considered small for a hotel but large for a bed and breakfast. That gives us the advantage of being able to provide private retreats while nurturing the feeling of being in a traditional bed and breakfast. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope we will get a chance to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our stop in Pacific Grove was part of a 3 week motorcycle trip through northern California and this was as far south as we traveled. Pacific Grove is located on the Monterey peninsula shared with Carmel by the Sea and Monterey. The inn is right in the heart of town, one block off the main street with several good restaurants and walking distance to the ocean and Monterey’s fabulous aquarium. The inn itself is older and without some of the amenities that you’d expect in a more expensive and modern hotel - which was just fine by us. We found it comfortable and charming, and although we were only able to stay for 2 days we would have been happy spending more time if we could. The bed was very comfortable, the location was great and the breakfast quite good. They also had fresh baked cookies every day, free wine each afternoon before dinner time and a beautiful garden to relax and unwind after a day of trekking about the area. We’d highly recommend staying here - especially if you can do so when they offer a deal through Groupon, Living social or one of the other “coupon” sites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for saying we are in the "heart" of Pacific Grove. That's exactly how we feel. Our town has life and a pulse and is a reflection of the people who make up this beautiful area. Please come and see us when you venture our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times, most recently two weeks ago. My wife, 2 daughters and I always stay in one of the cottages. It is very nice because the girls can be girls (15 and 13) and not disturb any of the other guests. I think the 1st time we came they were about 10 and 8.

Our cottage was towards the back of the property and was very quiet. We didn't really get any noise from the back street. We all got a good night's sleep. One of the doors was a bit hard to open, so we used the other doors and it was fine. There is a small fridge and flat screen TV in the cottage. For the 4 of us, the cottage was spacious enough. It was very clean and the heating worked well. The carpet was a little worn, but clean.

Breakfast was very good-I had cooked oatmeal, and the girls had eggs, sausage, etc. and we were all happy. The staff was just super and went out of their way to give me directions when I asked. The location is perfect-easy walking distance to downtown and also the beach.

For the value, I think this is a great place.

Room Tip: The cottages offer added privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I love to see how much a family grows and changes through the years. It is one of the best aspects of being at the Centrella. I hope you will continue to to share your family with ours. Thanks for taking time to share such kind sentiments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Property: Centrella Inn
Address: 612 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2611
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centrella Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing