We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centrella Inn
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Centrella Inn is big enough to have some privacy, but not so big that one gets lost. The room we had was delightful with two chairs tucked into a windowed alcove. The breakfast is easily the best we have encountered at a B & B. We were given a menu that listed several choices; all we tried were excellent. A glass of wine is offered each evening, and cookies later. Coffee and tea are available always. The inn has a charming garden to sit and enjoy the sun. The location is one block off the main street of Pacific Grove, and just 100 yards from the ocean. In addition, the cost was the lowest of comparable B & B's in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are unique in that we are a Victorian home that is considered small for a hotel but large for a bed and breakfast. That gives us the advantage of being able to provide private retreats while nurturing the feeling of being in a traditional bed and breakfast. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope we will get a chance to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    149
    46
    22
    23
See reviews for
59
272
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our stop in Pacific Grove was part of a 3 week motorcycle trip through northern California and this was as far south as we traveled. Pacific Grove is located on the Monterey peninsula shared with Carmel by the Sea and Monterey. The inn is right in the heart of town, one block off the main street with several good restaurants and walking distance to the ocean and Monterey’s fabulous aquarium. The inn itself is older and without some of the amenities that you’d expect in a more expensive and modern hotel - which was just fine by us. We found it comfortable and charming, and although we were only able to stay for 2 days we would have been happy spending more time if we could. The bed was very comfortable, the location was great and the breakfast quite good. They also had fresh baked cookies every day, free wine each afternoon before dinner time and a beautiful garden to relax and unwind after a day of trekking about the area. We’d highly recommend staying here - especially if you can do so when they offer a deal through Groupon, Living social or one of the other “coupon” sites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for saying we are in the "heart" of Pacific Grove. That's exactly how we feel. Our town has life and a pulse and is a reflection of the people who make up this beautiful area. Please come and see us when you venture our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times, most recently two weeks ago. My wife, 2 daughters and I always stay in one of the cottages. It is very nice because the girls can be girls (15 and 13) and not disturb any of the other guests. I think the 1st time we came they were about 10 and 8.

Our cottage was towards the back of the property and was very quiet. We didn't really get any noise from the back street. We all got a good night's sleep. One of the doors was a bit hard to open, so we used the other doors and it was fine. There is a small fridge and flat screen TV in the cottage. For the 4 of us, the cottage was spacious enough. It was very clean and the heating worked well. The carpet was a little worn, but clean.

Breakfast was very good-I had cooked oatmeal, and the girls had eggs, sausage, etc. and we were all happy. The staff was just super and went out of their way to give me directions when I asked. The location is perfect-easy walking distance to downtown and also the beach.

For the value, I think this is a great place.

Room Tip: The cottages offer added privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
I love to see how much a family grows and changes through the years. It is one of the best aspects of being at the Centrella. I hope you will continue to to share your family with ours. Thanks for taking time to share such kind sentiments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lovely inn located within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and beach; very cozy setting and feels like home. The inn offers excellent breakfast options. The staff was very accommodating and took care of us. When we arrived we noticed our room did not have a television, so we were able to get an upgrade to a suite for just $75 more. We will definitely stay again! We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a TV if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdbck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Our Chef loves what he does and it shows in all the goodies he provides for breakfast. My favorite are the homemade scones. Yum! ( You would think after 7 years I would be tired of them) Thank you for your encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

what a lovely place to stay. welcoming friendly staff, generous room, great breakfast. it was a great place to stay on our tour of California/Nevada. would stay there again in the area. the garden has a nice sitting area which was nice to sit and have a quiet drink. walking distance of the beach and shops. great central location for the Monterey peninsula, 17 mile drive and the Big Sur, and Camel by the sea

Room Tip: as it was in a quiet area, I would think all the rooms would be as quiet as the room we had, which I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you were able to enjoy the gardens. Our gardener has a wicked green thumb so we are blessed to have year round blossoms. Please consider us your home away from home if you are ever in the Pacific Grove area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Sweet place with good location in beautiful Pacific Grove. Just a few blocks from the water. Vintage Victorian serves a hot custom cooked breakfast and some wine and appetizers in the early evening. The main sitting area of the hotel shuts down early which was a disappointment to us since our room (20) had not sitting area, not even a small table and chair. So, we were forced to hang out in our room, in bed, after dinner although we were looking forward to sitting by the fire after we ate. On the up side, our room overlooked the garden and we got beautiful sunshine in the morning. However, what really woke us was an earthquake or a Mack truck driving through our room. Not sure what it was but early in the morning the wall between our bathroom and sleeping area started to roar and thunder very, very loudly. When we reported it to the desk, they apologized, but no one came to see what was up. We felt like this must be an ongoing situation and perhaps we were the only ones to ever mention it. Also, service was uneven. The people checking in ahead of us got a looooong explanation from the young man behind the desk about the town, restaurants, etc. while we went unacknowledged.Finally, another clerk came to the desk, checked us in and gave us no hint about the town, restaurants, etc. It was fine for us because we know the area, just frustrating.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 20. (See above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StillDoreen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank for taking time to share your experience. We do shut down our front desk at 9pm but the sitting area with our fireplace is available throughout the evening for our guests to use. I will make sure that is communicated to our future guests to prevent a similar situation from occurring.

The part I am most curious about is the wall shaking in your room. We have not had that happen before and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are investigating what could be the cause since that wall is an interior wall and does not face a street and isn’t shared with any other room.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and try to always provide a wonderful guest experience. I apologize that in your case this was not fully realized. If you are ever in our area again or would like to speak with me directly I would welcome an opportunity to discuss the details of your stay to help us be a stronger team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a great stay at the Centrella Inn. The place is very well kept and our room was bright and clean. It's true you can hear sounds from the street just like being in any B&B or Inn in a downtown location.

The hot breakfast included with our room was delicious. The staff were helpful in pointing out a great place to eat dinner and also good advice for our road tripping.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
You had one of my favorite rooms #15. It gets great sunlight and has a wonderful claw-foot tub. I hope you continue to have wonderful and safe travels. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Property: Centrella Inn
Address: 612 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2611
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centrella Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing