We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centrella Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 6, 2014

what a lovely place to stay. welcoming friendly staff, generous room, great breakfast. it was a great place to stay on our tour of California/Nevada. would stay there again in the area. the garden has a nice sitting area which was nice to sit and have a quiet drink. walking distance of the beach and shops. great central location for the Monterey peninsula, 17 mile drive and the Big Sur, and Camel by the sea

Room Tip: as it was in a quiet area, I would think all the rooms would be as quiet as the room we had, which I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you were able to enjoy the gardens. Our gardener has a wicked green thumb so we are blessed to have year round blossoms. Please consider us your home away from home if you are ever in the Pacific Grove area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 517 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Sweet place with good location in beautiful Pacific Grove. Just a few blocks from the water. Vintage Victorian serves a hot custom cooked breakfast and some wine and appetizers in the early evening. The main sitting area of the hotel shuts down early which was a disappointment to us since our room (20) had not sitting area, not even a small table and chair. So, we were forced to hang out in our room, in bed, after dinner although we were looking forward to sitting by the fire after we ate. On the up side, our room overlooked the garden and we got beautiful sunshine in the morning. However, what really woke us was an earthquake or a Mack truck driving through our room. Not sure what it was but early in the morning the wall between our bathroom and sleeping area started to roar and thunder very, very loudly. When we reported it to the desk, they apologized, but no one came to see what was up. We felt like this must be an ongoing situation and perhaps we were the only ones to ever mention it. Also, service was uneven. The people checking in ahead of us got a looooong explanation from the young man behind the desk about the town, restaurants, etc. while we went unacknowledged.Finally, another clerk came to the desk, checked us in and gave us no hint about the town, restaurants, etc. It was fine for us because we know the area, just frustrating.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 20. (See above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillDoreen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank for taking time to share your experience. We do shut down our front desk at 9pm but the sitting area with our fireplace is available throughout the evening for our guests to use. I will make sure that is communicated to our future guests to prevent a similar situation from occurring.

The part I am most curious about is the wall shaking in your room. We have not had that happen before and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are investigating what could be the cause since that wall is an interior wall and does not face a street and isn’t shared with any other room.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and try to always provide a wonderful guest experience. I apologize that in your case this was not fully realized. If you are ever in our area again or would like to speak with me directly I would welcome an opportunity to discuss the details of your stay to help us be a stronger team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a great stay at the Centrella Inn. The place is very well kept and our room was bright and clean. It's true you can hear sounds from the street just like being in any B&B or Inn in a downtown location.

The hot breakfast included with our room was delicious. The staff were helpful in pointing out a great place to eat dinner and also good advice for our road tripping.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

You had one of my favorite rooms #15. It gets great sunlight and has a wonderful claw-foot tub. I hope you continue to have wonderful and safe travels. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

What a great hotel, perfect location, extremely helpful staff, and delicious breakfast. The hotel was built in 1889, and has the quaint sounds of creaking floors. Whilst the rooms are quite small, and dated the décor was traditional and very clean. Only down side, our mattress on our bed was too soft, but overall very happy

Room Tip: Second floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank big47al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your encouraging words. I am glad you were able to make yourself at home during your brief stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My girlfriend found an excellent internet special and we enjoyed one night at this pleasant inn. The service was great, as were the late afternoon snack, evening cookies, and tasty breakfast. The location one block off of Lighthouse Avenue and just a few blocks from the ocean couldn't be beat either. Our room was on the small side but for one night it was manageable. There are lots of lodging choices in the area and I don't think you'll be disappointed choosing here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacobM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

I am glad you were able to take advantage of our online specials. We pride ourselves on providing excellent services while being reasonably priced. Thank you for sharing your stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Location, location...we stayed in rm 5, the cottage upstairs, Steinbeck room...like a small apt with no kitchen...but there is a wet bar and small fridge. Room was described with an ocean view but that is questionable, I mean if you stand in the living room on your tiptoes and squint out the small window..yeah there is some blue water detectable but I would not describe it as a view. Just knowing it is close is a good feeling though, and stepping outside on the street at the side of the building is the not too distant view of that ocean....ahhh, a couple short blocks away. Look up the other way and Lighthouse street is a short block up with plenty of great restaurants, inc. Max's(delicious) and shops. Town is darling..quaint, plenty of Christmas decorations and lights. Weather was perfect, warm and sunny for this time of year. Breakfast was awesome...restaurant quality, great coffee. The staff is extremely friendly, very genuine.
only downsides...room was in need of some curtains, rods and hooks hanging there without. a couple gauges in the wall but small..very noisy garbage pick up Fri. morning. These things were minor given the very comfortable bed, wonderful staff, cozy fireplace, great breakfast, and fantastic location, walking distance to everything. Stayed local, though went to Cannery Row for a couple hours one evening..just made me miss my kids. On the way out went to the Fishwife..amazing, get the Talapia tostada, one of the best things I've ever eaten..so fresh omg!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eileen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

You mentioned one of our favorite restaurants, Max's Grill. I keep telling him to remove Grill from his name because it does not do him justice. I am glad you were able to travel to our area while we still had the Christmas vibe going strong, it makes the entire area even more enchanting. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in the "cottage" (rm 4) which was indeed a livingroom w sofabed and useful table (kids ended up eating takeout). Totally friendly and accommodating host. 24h coffee and hot chocolate. Good value ($200/night for the cottage). Great about a late cancellation of a night. No complaints except the breakfast was a bit greasy and not to my taste. But that is a small point. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eternaloptimist815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

The cottages are ideal for families. I am glad we were able to provide a comfortable retreat during your travels. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
933 reviews
1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
0.6 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
461 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Address: 612 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2611
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $128 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centrella Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing