We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and nice touches for family stay”
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centrella Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value and nice touches for family stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in the "cottage" (rm 4) which was indeed a livingroom w sofabed and useful table (kids ended up eating takeout). Totally friendly and accommodating host. 24h coffee and hot chocolate. Good value ($200/night for the cottage). Great about a late cancellation of a night. No complaints except the breakfast was a bit greasy and not to my taste. But that is a small point. Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eternaloptimist815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
The cottages are ideal for families. I am glad we were able to provide a comfortable retreat during your travels. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    154
    48
    23
    23
See reviews for
60
283
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Wow! What a great inn. We saw the photo at the visitor's bureau, took a chance and phoned and made a reservation. We liked the place and area so much we ended up extending our stay. I would highly recommend this establishment.

Pros:
Very reasonable prices.
Super friendly staff....Kent: Thanks for being such a fantastic host. We really appreciate all your "tour guide" assistance!
Full breakfast included and the meals are superb. Many choices and prepared with pride.
Convenient location to many local attractions.
Parking included.
Free wine and snacks are an evening ritual.
Very cozy sitting room with fireplace and reading material.
Comfortable beds.

Cons.
Rooms are small but that is to be expected given the age of the building.
I would probably recommend that the carpets be replaced in the rooms.

Overall, it was a incredibly pleasant stay. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MP4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking a chance on us. Kent is wonderful and loves to share his knowledge of the area. I am happy you were able to benefit from his expertise. Please come and see us the next time you are in our lovely area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

What a lovely, warm and inviting B&B. We had such a lovely stay even if it was only for 2 nights while we travelled down highway one. Kent has to be one of the nicest people we have come across, his knowledge and recommendations were spot on, thank you! Both me and my wife have now decided if were ever to retire abroad monetary bay would definitely be setting the standard. Thanks again for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It easy to forget all the wonderful things you do on vacation once you return to your normal day to day life. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were profoundly happy at the Centrella Inn. First of all it is a nice historic place to stay in, with beautiful rooms, a real good bed, and a quaint but perfectly functioning bathroom. Secondly it is well located close to the Beach and a 20 minutes walk away from the Monterrey Aquarium. Thirdly the freshly cooked breakfast , the complimentary pre - dinner wine, the bedtime chocolate cookies the 24 hour coffee give it a touch of home away from home. But most of all - it is a uniquely warm and friendly place . Kent at reception not only baked the cookies, lit the fireplace,advised us what to do and where to eat but moreover gave us a knowledgeable introduction into his home area. Also the young lady at reception in the morning, and the staff preparing and serving breakfast were just marvelous. . We loved the place, we loved Pacific Grove and we were so happy to be able to prolong our stay for two more nights...Europe is far away but I hope we will be back some day.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful corner room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reismeeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
You were wonderful guests! Kent enjoyed sharing his love of Pacific Grove with you. Please consider us your home away from home if you are ever in our quaint little town again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lovely little room on first floor, walk-in shower and all the amenities of a really nice B&B. I got the
room by accident and I loved it. Beautiful dining room, polite efficient staff, great happy hour, nice
breakfast to order, chocolate chip cookies and coffee or tea. The staff knew where everything was
and the easiest way to get there. Very close to Pebble Beach golf course, 10 minutes from downtown Carmel. The guests were as nice as the staff, including a doctor in his 70's who watched "Walking Dead Marathon" with me on the common area TV. I have mobility problems and they have a ramp and my room was downstairs with everything I needed accessible. I cannot wait
to go back.

Room Tip: Close to Carmel and Pebble Beach. Very comfortable beds and lovely dining room and garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swbabe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
It is very rare to get a last minute cancellation so the fates were hard at work to bring you to us. You stayed in one of my favorite rooms and I am very glad that you enjoyed it as much as I do. I hope we will get a chance to welcome you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Such a warm and lovely B&B. Their service is genuinely kind and outstanding. Thank you Kent! Chapeau for the person who decorated the place. What else? Ideal location near the beach and restaurants, cosy fireplace, excellent choice of breakfast, coffee&tea available all day, wine and snacks in the afternoon and homemade chocolate chip cookies in the evening. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendySchneijderberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Kent is wonderful! He is one of our newest family members and has become a fan favorite. He is witty, charming and very educated. I thank my lucky stars that he is part of our family now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at the Centrella. It is well situated and just up the street from Lovers Point. The staff was great and very helpful, especially with restaurant recommendations and places of interest. We enjoyed the happy hour each afternoon, we sipped our wine outside in the lovely, private courtyard. Breakfast was freshly prepared with some nice offerings, omlettes and quiche etc. along with fresh baked goods. If you are looking for quaint , charming place to stay check out this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We have some many wonderful restaurants in Pacific Grove, it's easy to offer suggestions that will fit every dietary need. We now offer bike rentals at the Inn so that exploring all there is to offer in Pacific Grove and Monterey is now even easier. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
816 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Property: Centrella Inn
Address: 612 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2611
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centrella Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing