We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as before. Quaint but worn.”
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centrella Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at the B&B with my spouse and son for the third time We rented a cottage. The B&B was OK, but not as good as before. Something has changed, it might be a staff or ownership change. Breakfast was an issue. The last time we stayed at the Centrella breakfast was a buffet. This time it was a cooked breakfast and slowed the entire process. There was an inadequate number of tables a patrons were wondering when they would be served. The new system just didn't work. Our cottage was quaint but worn. We also didn't have pillow cases for one of the pull out sofa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esccec2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. When the current owners took over, 10 years ago, they wanted to remove the hotel feel and create a home away from home feel. That is why we added a fresh cooked to order breakfast, just like you would get at grandma's house. We do offer the continental items buffet style, such as breads for toasting, hard boiled eggs, homemade scones, cereals as well as juice and coffee and tea.

It is unfortunate that the items in your room were not fully prepared for your stay. I have spoken with housekeeping to insure that does not occur again.

We strive to make our guests a priority and as comfortable as possible. Your feed back will help to keep us on the right path.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 522 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent a night at the Centrella B&B for my wife's birthday on January 28th. The service was first rate. We enjoyed joking with the front desk lady. The evening wine and appetizer hour was wonderful. The wine and food were tasty and we really enjoyed the people we met from Holland. That's the best aspect of a B&B, getting to know other guests, instead of just spending time in your room, like we do at hotels. Breakfast was also tasty. The only slight problem was the location of our room. We had room 15, I think, which was a second floor room facing the street. It was rather noisy. When we return, we will ask for a different location. We stayed here because of a GREAT deal we got through TripAdvisor. Thank you Centrella Inn for a wonderful celebration of my wife's birthday.

Room Tip: I would try to avoid rooms that face Central Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We thank you for choosing the Centrella Inn to celebrate your lovely wife's birthday. It is an honor to be able to make her special occasion memorable. You should request room number 22 for your next stay. It is located at the back of the house and offers a garden view. I think it will be perfect for your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great location easy to get to all attractions. Wonderfull staff. They were so helpful and accomodating.Nicole was fun and did make us feel very welcome. Breakfast was super with lots of choices. Sitting around the fireplace, meeting and talking with other guest, just added more ambience to this beautiful Inn. Our rooms were comfortable and clean.We had such a great time, we ended up staying an extra day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

One of the perks of staying at a bed and breakfast is getting to meet new people and make new friends, from all over the world. I certainly hope you do find the time to come back and see us soon. It would be a joy to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

One of the reasons I chose this B@B was that it advertised for free wireless internet. I had about two hours of personal business I needed to do on my personal computer. After checking in, I found that the internet was down. When I inquired about it, the front desk told me that they were working on it. Two hours later, I inquired again and was told that the internet would be out until at least 5:00 p.m. the next day. Needless to say, I was very frustrated that I could not use the free internet service this B@B advertised and I was not offered any compensation for my frustration.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

It is our desire that we provide all our guest with the service and amenities promised on our website, however in your case this was not met. I apologize for that inconvenience.

Unfortunately, our internet service for the entire property had gone down that morning and even though we were here until 10 pm attempting to fix the issue it was not something we were able to resolve in one day. In the end we had to have Comcast and our computer tech company work together to restore the service and it took several days to resolve.

If you are ever out our way again, we would be happy to offer you a discount on another stay or a free upgrade into one of our suites or cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at this Inn. Location close to downtown areas of interest cannot be beat. Parking was provided and appreciated. The hostess, (Nicole?) had a great sense of humor and really made us feel welcome. Breakfasts were varied and outstanding, as was the breakfast service. We have stayed at many B&B's throughout the years both in this country and elsewhere so we are accustomed to the differences in properties. For certain, it is an old property and there are not what one would consider all the amenities,(our room had no TV) but it can't be beat for convenience and basic comfort. We would not hesitate to recommend this place and have already done so.

Room Tip: The rooms adjacent to the front of the property are directly across the street from a municipal buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestAldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Nichole is a hoot. She truly loves meeting our guests from all over the country.

The community dance events at Chautauqua Hall begin at 6pm and end at 9pm. It is a great way to learn a few new dance moves and then enjoy an evening of free dance. It is on Wednesday evenings that they perform their drum circle. It's one of the perks of being a small community.

I hope you will visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we arrived, we were offered an upgrade at an attractive price, took it and were very pleased with our cozy, quiet, garden view suite. The public sitting room and adjacent breakfast room are a lovely, light, airy space, as is the meandering garden. A friendly hostess is always available and informative.
Breakfast was hearty, and good, especially the scones, wine and snacks in the afternoon is convivial, and the evening warm cookies so appreciated.
The Inn is in walking distance of a wonderful stretch of coastline with seals, snowy egrets, otters and surf crashing over rocks and points.
There are many eateries close by; you don't have to get in your car after wine.
Friendl staff, excellent value.

Room Tip: The side street rooms are quieter, the garden view rooms quiet. Some rooms have bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. It's these kinda statements that encourage us. I hope you enjoyed your time on the peninsula and that you will consider us your home way from home.

Let me know if you would like the scone recipe. They are super easy to make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is such a fun place to stay. The people (Nicole, Honey, Danielle, Lori, and others) are friendly and make you feel at home. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. I especially enjoyed the Garden Room with its own fireplace, refrigerator, tv, and huge bathtub. The garden area is lovely with fountains and seating. The best part is the wine hour when you are able to sit by the fireplace and meet people from all over the world. The breakfast is delicious.......hats off to the chef. Coffee, tea, and cocoa are available 24 hours a day. It is within walking distance of the aquarium, a lovely walk along Monterey Bay, and restaurants. They also have their own parking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barlee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

It is because of guests like yourself that we love what we do. You are hilarious and make this job a joy rather than real work!

Can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
956 reviews
1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
0.6 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Address: 612 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2611
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $146 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centrella Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing