We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cozy and comfy, reasonably priced.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Centrella Inn
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfy, reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here with my bf last weekend for a family trip to Pebble Beach. We reserved a "cottage", #5. I reserved a traditional room on 2nd floor looking out towards garden for my parents (other reviewers said this was the strategy for a more quiet room).

First, I was impressed with the help over the phone with Nicole when reserving our rooms. When we arrived, Danielle was super friendly and bubbly. She was there the next morning and again greeted us warmly. The inside and outside were beautifully decorated with holiday decor. And, yes, warm chocolate cookies were there for us that night, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate available all the time.

We stayed in Cottage #5. A good choice because it was on the top floor and quiet. It's away from the main building and a nice walk past fountains, trees, flowers. It was clean and comfy with a living area, couch, and small flat screen t.v.. The fireplace was gas.(I was hoping for a wood burning one). The rooms are big, king size bed super comfortable. Bathroom was very spacious also. Overall great sized rooms compared to other B&B's in the area. Carpet is a bit worn, slippers would be great to bring along for extra coziness.

The traditional room is small but really all one needs for 1 night. Bathroom small with a standing shower with an apparent shower head that hits "chest high". HA. May have to bend over to wash your hair if you're taller than 5feet 5inches. Overall, my family said they were comfortable in the room.

Breakfast in the am was nice. Many different omelette choices, even Belgian waffle. The omelette was tastier than the waffle though. There are continental choices too if you wish. There is a good selection, though not much fresh fruit as another reviewer mentioned.

The B&B is located just a few blocks down from Lover's Beach. It's a lovely walk down there. It is also an easy walk to local restaurants.

Room Tip: Cottages are GREAT! Reasonably priced, quiet, spacious. Great for a group too, to hang out in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfer29099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to share your experience. It is because of guests like you and your family that we love what we do.

Hope 2013 brings you and the family much prosperity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    139
    42
    22
    23
See reviews for
52
257
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We decided to return to this inn simply because of the amazing breakfasts. But sadly things have changed. The food is now is just about adequate-no fresh fruit and mundane workaday choices in a dining room that used to pile in the fresh produce. Sad really that the morning menu has been downgraded.

The bedroom is clean, slightly in need of a spruce up but simple and cosy....and there is something old fashioned and re-assuring
about a room without the ubiquitous flat screen...
And, yes, traffic noise is noticeable

Room Tip: Away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, General Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are happy you decided to stay with us again! It's thanks to repeat guests like yourselves that allow us to do what we love.

I remember when we were able to provide the bowl of fresh fruit each morning. Due to rising food costs and our desire to keep our rates reasonable, the bowl of fresh fruit was replaced by other health options such as yogurt and triple berry parfaits and oatmeal with fresh berries. We have had to amend our menu to make sure to have choices to fit each guests unique dietary restrictions and concerns such as vegetarian, gluten free and vegan choices.

I appreciate you taking time to share your experience. I hope you enjoyed your time here in Pacific Grove and Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

we stayed there beginning of november during our road trip froom san diego to san francisco.
It was amazing. It is a "Laura Ingles" house with very very freindly staff. We arrived late and it was chilly. The camin in the suit was amazing. Very good locaiton. Pacific grove is wonderful.
We definitely will come and stah again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zafer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, General Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your story. I glad we got to be your home away from home. The fireplaces in the suite are great. I have heard that Turkey is beautiful and I hope to one day travel through your beautiful country.

Wishing you continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Enjoyed several nights at this beautiful, historic inn located a quick walk from the beach walking/biking path. The small town atmosphere was friendly and had many fantastic places to eat for lunch and dinner. Ordering from the breakfast options each morning meant something fresh and exactly what I wanted plus gourmet coffee all made the Centrella one of the best places we have stayed at!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingwife31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Wow. What wonderful things to say about our inn as well as our lovely little hometown.

You have discovered one of our best kept secrets....small towns are where its at!

I know that Denver is a long way from Pacific Grove, but I certainly hope you will find your way back to us.

Have a wonderful holiday season and a spectacular New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our third stay beautiul Centrella Inn
We stay in cottage # 3 very quiet and private own entrance we had 2 entrance
Outstanding service
Very close Lover"s Beach Also walk Monterey Bay Aquarium must see
This B&B great place walk in town and wonderful restaurants
We will be going back Centrella Inn again
We have B&B in Cambria hercastle.cc

Room Tip: Cottages and suites are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We love having you stay with us. You and your husband are enjoyable to talk with and you always make me laugh.

I hope I can make it down to your spot in Cambria. I have heard how lovely it is from guests that have stayed with you on their trek up scenic highway 1.

Hope you get a chance to come again soon. Have a wonderful holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arrived at Centrella Inn for a 2 night stay.
Check in was super friendly, quick & efficient. Information provided on the local area.

We were given room 2 which is right at the front of the house on the corner. This is a small but lovely room.Unfortunately for us it was too noisy, you could hear every person slam the front door late till early & street traffic did keep us awake.

Next day we requested to move rooms. The lovely lady at reception did this for us with the minimum of fuss. We ended up with a 2 room suite upstairs at the back of the house. Suited us much better & we stayed an extra night. She ( sorry name eludes me) moved our luggage for us & when we returned there were petals on the bed with a bottle of Salmon Bay bubbly & a lovely note. Very special for us.

Centrella Inn has atmosphere. It is decorated within keeping of the victorian era.The gardens are well kept. The cat is gorgeous. There are games & books on the shelves. A small lounge area to sit & quietly chat outside of your room.
Water/tea & coffee available 24 hrs. Breakfast is also provided but we did not sample - not breakfast people! Parking is available.

Every afternoon wine tasting & nibbles are provided. Try the Salmon Bay red - nice.

In summary Centrella Inn is worth it. The "lovely ladies" service is outstanding. Pacific Grove was my pick of the towns from Santa Cruz to Santa Barbara. Loved the architecture. Went to Carmel, no comparison, came back after a couple of hours.

Location is very good. Short walk to the main street. Try the antique stores, lots of treasures. Red Roof Cafe was delicious, try their vast aray of pie. Locals very friendly, spent quite some time chatting in coffee shops! One night a week their is a farmers market, good for a local chat & fresh fresh fruit. Quick walk to Lovers point & some great scenery.

We walked to Monterey from here most days. It's a good scenic walk along the waterfront with plenty of photo opportunities. Also hire the push bikes & cycle the aprox. 20 miles to Pebble Beach. Great scenery - only takes a couple of hours.

3 days was not enough & we look forward to our 4th trip the the USA to continue.......

Room Tip: Upstairs much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oziwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive to make guest satisfaction our number one priority and your review encourages to keep that as our top priority.

We hope to be able to welcome you again as part of the Centrella Inn family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
457 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed recently at this cute old B & B for a two night week end stay. We had one of the smaller rooms on the second floor. We did look at some of the others and I would recommend spending a bit more for the larger suite or cottage rooms, as they have bigger bathrooms, space and nicer decor. The breakfast is quite good with a menu of hot items including egg scrambles, quiche and waffles. The Inn has a great location just one block up to the many shops and restaurants and one block down to the bay and lovers point park. The lot parking is limited, but there was street parking available during most of our stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. Nice wine and cheese in late afternoon plus yummy warm chocolate chip cookies at night :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd floor if booking the lower price rooms, especially upstairs corner end rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMHappyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#3 of 8 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Property: Centrella Inn
Address: 612 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2611
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centrella Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing