We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centrella Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arrived at Centrella Inn for a 2 night stay.
Check in was super friendly, quick & efficient. Information provided on the local area.

We were given room 2 which is right at the front of the house on the corner. This is a small but lovely room.Unfortunately for us it was too noisy, you could hear every person slam the front door late till early & street traffic did keep us awake.

Next day we requested to move rooms. The lovely lady at reception did this for us with the minimum of fuss. We ended up with a 2 room suite upstairs at the back of the house. Suited us much better & we stayed an extra night. She ( sorry name eludes me) moved our luggage for us & when we returned there were petals on the bed with a bottle of Salmon Bay bubbly & a lovely note. Very special for us.

Centrella Inn has atmosphere. It is decorated within keeping of the victorian era.The gardens are well kept. The cat is gorgeous. There are games & books on the shelves. A small lounge area to sit & quietly chat outside of your room.
Water/tea & coffee available 24 hrs. Breakfast is also provided but we did not sample - not breakfast people! Parking is available.

Every afternoon wine tasting & nibbles are provided. Try the Salmon Bay red - nice.

In summary Centrella Inn is worth it. The "lovely ladies" service is outstanding. Pacific Grove was my pick of the towns from Santa Cruz to Santa Barbara. Loved the architecture. Went to Carmel, no comparison, came back after a couple of hours.

Location is very good. Short walk to the main street. Try the antique stores, lots of treasures. Red Roof Cafe was delicious, try their vast aray of pie. Locals very friendly, spent quite some time chatting in coffee shops! One night a week their is a farmers market, good for a local chat & fresh fresh fruit. Quick walk to Lovers point & some great scenery.

We walked to Monterey from here most days. It's a good scenic walk along the waterfront with plenty of photo opportunities. Also hire the push bikes & cycle the aprox. 20 miles to Pebble Beach. Great scenery - only takes a couple of hours.

3 days was not enough & we look forward to our 4th trip the the USA to continue.......

Room Tip: Upstairs much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oziwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive to make guest satisfaction our number one priority and your review encourages to keep that as our top priority.

We hope to be able to welcome you again as part of the Centrella Inn family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 497 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed recently at this cute old B & B for a two night week end stay. We had one of the smaller rooms on the second floor. We did look at some of the others and I would recommend spending a bit more for the larger suite or cottage rooms, as they have bigger bathrooms, space and nicer decor. The breakfast is quite good with a menu of hot items including egg scrambles, quiche and waffles. The Inn has a great location just one block up to the many shops and restaurants and one block down to the bay and lovers point park. The lot parking is limited, but there was street parking available during most of our stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. Nice wine and cheese in late afternoon plus yummy warm chocolate chip cookies at night :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd floor if booking the lower price rooms, especially upstairs corner end rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMHappyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We couldn't have wished for a better hotel, we had travelled from Santa Cruz, had been on our feet all day & were so pleased when we arrived here. Full of character & charm, Nicole greeted us and what a lovely professional lady with a charm of her own! Our room was fantastic & the wine hour with nibbles was just fabulous. What a great way to meet fellow guests. We met some lovely ladies having a school reunion. This hotel is a real credit to Monterey and our first visit to California, thank you x

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soyabean_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you! Your words have encouraged us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed in the Lovers Loft, very romantic, like a home away from home. Great location, service and a decent choice for breakfast. Although my husband was not happy carrying the suitcases up to the room. As noted by other reviewer Nicole on reception was excellent. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We certainly agree with you and the other reviewers that Nichole is a wonder. She has been with us for almost a year and has been a major asset to our team.

The blessing and curses of an old house.....stairs only, no elevator. However once you get up there the lofts are well worth it.

Have a wonderful holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stopped in Monterey on a California road trip, and Centrella Inn turned out to be a great choice for a one night stay- thanks, Trip Advisor! The Inn is housed in a charming Victorian building in Pacific Grove, just a couple of minutes down the main street from Monterey. Nicole at the front desk was lovely, giving me a good rate for a last-minute reservation. The room and bath were simple, but clean and quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The delicious breakfast was made to order downstairs in the morning, and using their offer on Yelp!, I got a free bottle of California cabernet sauvignon on the way out. I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

It was a pleasure meeting you. You have such a warm friendly smile.

We strive to be a soft place to land after a long day of traveling, and based on your nice review, I would say we succeeded.

I know Monterey is a long way from home for you, but I hope you will consider us your home away from home the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is our 3 year to stay at this charming Inn. Walking distance to many very good resturants. The staff is so helpful. Full very good breakfast. No TV in rooms, 3 stories with stairs only. Garden cottages, and patio. A cozy place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Your group is always a pleasure. We look forward to hosting you each year. I can't believe that it has been 3 years now. I certainly hope to see you all next year as well.

Have a wonderful holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Two blocks from Lover's Point and the bay, one block from shops and restaurants. Quiet location, "quaint" and comfortable. We stayed in a separate cottage (thank goodness because there was a large gathering of friends staying in the main house). Nice hot breakfast, small portions, but tasty. Wine and snacks in the evening; hot beverages available 24/7, and...hot chocolate chip cookies at 8pm! Evening staff was extremely helpful and courteous - couldn't have been nicer! Very TINY tv's, but adequate - we didn't go there to watch tv. Nice patio for relaxing when the weather is a little warmer. Quality toiletries were provided. Decent value. I look forward to my next stay there.

Room Tip: If quiet is important to you, ask if a large group is booked before booking a room in the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your generous review. Our evening staff is wonderful and they love to spend time with our guests. They appreciated your kind words.

If I remember correctly you were here during our Movie group gathering. They are a spirited bunch and have been staying with us for years. I am glad our garden cottage was able to be your refuge during your stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to share. Can't wait to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,001 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Address: 612 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: $138 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centrella Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing