We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian food taken to the next level.”

An Choi Asian Contemporary Cuisine
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 17 mile Dr.
Transit: Bus stop is right in the front of the restaurant
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Asian food taken to the next level.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The service is spectacular and the atmosphere wonderful. Finally an asian reaturant with an upscale but not pretentious feel. I went looking for pho but found so much more. If you have never had pho this is a great place to try it because they have a starter portion. I have had more flavorful pho but the other items ordered, the service and atmosphere make this well worth it. They have an absolutely fantastic foil wrapped fish. The pad thai is made at a spiciness level to order (1-10). Everything we ordered was wonderful. I was with a large group with several children, they handled us beautifully. Delicious food and great service, a little pricey but worth it. Don't miss this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PA_foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
suburban Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super Food and Really Comfy Chairs”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I ate at An Choi last night, mainly because it was within walking distance of our lodging. We were very pleasantly surprised at the high level of service and the quality of the pad thai (which we both ordered with shrimp). Normally we find this dish too spicy, but we were asked what level of hotness we desired on a 1-to-10 scale, and we both chose 3. It was perfect for us. The owner/server and the chef both checked to make sure we liked it. All ingredients were very fresh and not cooked to the wilted state. We only intended to order white wine by the glass, but the bottle was underpriced in our opinion (less than 3X the price of a glass), so we ordered the bottle. Why not? It was the last night of a fantastic trip that took us to HI and CA before returning to IL. And we didn't have to worry about the driver drinking too much, since no driving was necessary. We will be back to Pacific Grove and to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An Choi and Enjoyed!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had dinner at this place last week-end. Since we stayed at a hotel nearby we got 10% discount from the bill. I agree the price is just a little pricey but the food is excellent so I do not complain. The owner (a cook) and his wife run this restaurant with another cook and a waiter. The food was made perfectly to your request. They paid attention to detail so the food was not only tasteful but beautiful. We had Pad Thai, some veggie dishes, and crème brulée for dessert. The Pad Thai was as good as the one I had in Bangkok years ago while visiting Thailand. I would tell friends and relatives about this place and definitely go back when we visit Monterey/Pacific Grove area again. One little note: this restaurant opens only for dinner (every day from 5-9pm).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dieu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vallejo, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, small portions, tourist prices”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This place was directly next to where we were staying and the reviews were good enough to merit a visit (plus we love Vietnamese food). Overall the decor is a little tacky, but the service & the food were quite good. We got pad thai, sweet & sour tofu, and vegetables with cellophane noodles. All three dishes were good and well prepared. But it was pricey (about $45 for three dishes & a bowl of rice) - but at least the food was good & the location for us was great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gradtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Contemporary Asian Cuisine”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food is prepared to perfection. Be sure to try their Duck, it is boneless, and done nice and crispy. Very friendly staff in a nice setting. If you order plum wine, be surprised at its presentation. A very nice experience. Went there many years ago with my husband. It continues to be our favorite in Pacific Grove. Visited it twice this time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VaT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Choi Asian Contemporary Cuisine also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing