We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Resoort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Nice Resoort”
Reviewed April 29, 2007

My family (3 sons 18,16,12) stayed at the Mandalay Beach Resort for 2 days in April. We enjoyed our stay and wished we could have spent a few more days there. The grounds were very well cared for and the breakfast and managers reception were excellent. Our room was clean and spacious. We enjoyed our time on the beach, at the pool and on the tennis courts. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indiana323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    578
    312
    209
    174
See reviews for
887
615
61
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

Our family of 4 kids (10 - 14) and 2 parents enjoyed this resort very much. Excellent beachfront location. The usual nice Embassy Suites cocktail hour and breakfast. Good pool. Lovely suite with plenty of room for everyone. Pretty grounds. Not located close to shopping or dining, but very good for beach going.

  • Liked — proximity to beach
  • Disliked — distance from additional restaurants
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2007

I stayed at the Embassy Suites for 2 nights on a business trip. What a gem of a hotel! The room was huge and we got a great price on it. The rooms are two bedroom suites. Mine had 2 beds and a pull out sofa. Nice dining table and chairs, wet bar, 2 marble bathrooms, and a nice balcony overlooking the pool and with a partial ocean view. We arrived late and the staff was very friendly. My keys frequently got demagnitized and they were very nice about it too. The breakfast was great, made to order and a huge range of food from waffles, to omelets, to baked goods, fruit, cereal, you name it! The pool area was super nice and relaxing. Easy access to the beach and walking trails around the beach and in the surrounding neighborhood which was great. I used the exercise room, its small, but has weight machines and cardio and was just fine for a brief workout. You pay for parking, which seems a bit odd for a hotel not in an urban area, but at least it is covered in a garage so that was nice and you have in and out access 24 hours. I was annoyed paying for Internet access though and it was very slow at times, that was my biggest complaint, actually only complaint at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again for sure.

  • Liked — Great location, huge suites, comfortable beds, large bathrooms!
  • Disliked — Spotty wireless internet access
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zoecatva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2007

Reviews here are mixed, but I went with it anyways. I was very surprised. The hotel is right on the beach in a very quiet area of Oxnard. There is nothing really to walk to, so for meals, expect to use the car. The hotel lobby was a bit dated, but still nice and in good condition. There are 9 buildings, most are 3 stories and only two are not on the beach in some way. The rooms are very good sized. Now where the dated comes in is in the room. Everything was in good condition, nothing looked too tired. Yet, the color choices in the room were "tropical." There was a unique blue in the main room and a green in the bedroom. Aside from that, everything was great. The pool is huge and there are two jacuzzis at the hotel. You can rent bikes and surreys at the hotel (though the company is not run by the hotel). You can walk across the beach walk and be right at the beach, which was not very busy (sure, it was Feb). I would certainly stay here again (and I spend 60+ nights in hotels).

  • Liked — Views and room size
  • Disliked — Paint color on the wall
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank javisq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2007

I might as well get it out of the way. If you've read any other reviews, you know it. It's the decor. I'm not a picky person at all, but the outdated lime green walls were a bit of a detractor from what otherwise was a great place.

The good:
The location on the beach was unbelievable. We stayed in an oceanfront room with green lawn and sand right out our patio window. It was unbelievable. Sitting in the living room, staring out at the beach, watching the sunset from the living room, the patio, or the lawn in front was priceless (unless of course you count the $254/night).
The service was fantastic. We were upgraded to this room free of charge, no questions asked. We simply got to our room, thought we'd like an upgrade, called the front desk, and they went through all the options for use to give us exactly the room we wanted. This was the theme throughout, from the bartenders to the bell service, everyone was so outgoing, friendly, and helpful. I couldn't help but leave much larger tips than I normally do because the people were so wonderful.
The Pool. Unfortunately, we went in November so it was about 60 degrees, but sunny as could be while we were there. Being from Milwaukee, this was still great weather for us, but we didn't use the pool as much as we would have normally. The pool area is extremely impressive looking. The grounds are beautiful and well kept.
The extras. As always the manager's reception and breakfast are always a nice perk with Embassy Suites.

  • Liked — location on the beach, service, pool area
  • Disliked — outdated lime green decor
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VR731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2007

Two room suites. As a HiltonHonors member, I got a free upgrade to a ground level ocean front suite. Open the door, walk across the bike path & the sandy beach to the ocean. Now, how many place have you stayed where you can do that?

Rent a bike to cruise along to the beach or around the adjacent yacht harbor.

Pool area seems ideal for kids. Showers are disguised as caves. Tennis courts on the grounds.

At night, full sports bar. (Free drink comes with your room.) In the morning, you get full hot breakfast as part of the room price.

Decent hotel restaurant. Free internet access from computer stations in the lobby.

I've stayed here a number of times on business and have appreciated the relaxing atmosphere. Will return with the kids to unwind.

It is not a high-end luxury hotel. It is a place where you can track sand into your room without feeling guilty.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LLBean314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

I do not see how so many great reviews have been written about this hotel. The entire place was such a has-been facility, it may have been very nice back in 1974, but c'mon, it's time to scrap the whole thing and start over. From your first view of the filthy underground parking facility ( with some lame-o attempt to be spruced up with some really odd and out of place clam-shell like fountain thingy), the dingy elevators which also give you a great view of wires and other electrical treats, not to mention they sometimes open up behind you so you can peer into the secret world of the kitchen and laundry facilities, this place has it all. Ah, the lobby...again, probably was great when 'Jaws' first hit the screen. The receptionists do their best to make it seem like you're staying somewhere special, and I must say they have been trained well. Then it's off to your ocean-front suite! Wow, dark hallways with low ceilings painted in horrid colors using leftover bulk paint that was discounted back in 1980. And the rooms! If you really liked the Gumby and Pokey show, then you're in luck, because that's the color scheme in your suite. Lovely, the ceilings inside were as low as the hallways. Two bathrooms however...let's turn on the shower...whoa, spray all over my face because the shower nozzle was barely screwed on. Oh, and look, we have complimentary pets, two spiders in the bathtub have greeted my wife and I. Toilet paper, crunch, flush. Ok, shower time...I could spit harder than that water flow. Oh well, let's go take a look at our ocean-front view. Oops! There's a dirt/sand barrier 10 feet high which blocks any view of the ocean from the first floor whatsoever. Well, it is easily accessible beach access, right? Nope, the sliding glass door has malfunctioned with some broomstick thing lodged in there for some reason that will not release. Let's settle in for the evening and order some room service: It only took 1.5 hours and three calls to room service before our 100% completely disgusting $125 meal arrived. Yummy! No worries, we'll feed some of the steak to our little dog. Wow, she's not even hungry, so let's leave it on a small plate for her...3 hours later...I'll go check on our little pooch and how she's doing. ARGHHHH!!!! What is crawling all over my feet and up my legs? ANTS! They found her steak, still uneaten. Well, at least the ants liked it. Time to retire for the evening: What is all of that screaming? How nice, our room turned out to be next to two outdoor ping-pong tables and about 10 kids have decided to have a midnight tournament. Turned up the tv to provide some white noise so we could sleep. Ah, morning, let's take a walk on the beach. Nice walk, return to the gated entry and our room-key will not open the door. So, we wait for about 20 minutes until someone else comes by who was leaving the hotel to the beach. Time to go, but let's get that complimentary breakfast first. Well, it was better than last night's dinner, but Eggos could have done that. Time to leave, let's explore the rest of this outstanding hotel on our way out. Why, what a lovely little river running through the commons, it is so clear and vacant of even a single goldfish that you can see every pipe and valve. Exquisite! Now it's off to the parking lot again via the glass elevators offering our last chance at seeing the trash bins overflowing with refuse as we descend. One last surprise on our way out, we get to pay $12 for the privilege of parking there overnight. Great job Embassy Suites Mandalay Bay, I guess another $12 for parking after $325 for that one night stay in such a glorious setting was well worth it. And I thought it was so clever of me to invite the wife on my short business trip weekend in (ahem) beautiful downtown Oxnard. At least the drive south is quite spectacular along the coast. Time to bring in the demolition teams to that hotel and start over.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the other Mandaly Bay in Las Vegas or the real one in Jamaica
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank mfarmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
6.6 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
644 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Address: 2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-3638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#4 Family Hotel in Oxnard
#5 Business Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel And Resort
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel Oxnard
Embassy Suites Oxnard
Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard
Oxnard Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Hotel Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing