We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This review is a bit late, it for Nov. 2012. I just remember to write this review since I am going back later this month.

Rooms are really big with 2 full bathrooms. It's really relaxing to sit out in the balcony and have a few drinks. The pool is heated perfectly; we were able to go swimming even though the weather was chilly.

As with all Embassy, breakfast and manager reception is fantastic.

What makes this hotel great is the location. You are right on the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvilLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoy our property and are returning again! That is the best compliment we can receive. Thank you for sharing your comments and it is our pleasure to serve you.

Best Regards, Lisa Asdikian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,755 - 1,761 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very disappointed in service on arrival and afterwards and also the cleanliness of our room after arrival. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Perhaps when they get their act together it would be a nice place, but we won't know about that.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else until they clean up their act.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disappointed1234_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

I am so sorry to hear about your recent stay with us. I am sharing your comments immediately with our management team to resolve the issues that you encountered. We are constantly working to improve our services and amenities for our guests and we do hope you will reconsider visiting us again in the future.

Best Regards, Lisa Asdikian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This beachfront hotel must be one of Embassy Suites' finest physical facilities. Unfortunately, the level of guest services we experienced were completely unsatisfactory. We arrived at the posted check-in time of 3:00 PM, hoping to walk the beautiful beach before dinner. Although the hotel was far from full, our room was not ready. After several conversations with hotel staff including the manager, we were told at 3:15 that our room was just being finished and we would be issued a key as soon as it was released. After another 30 minutes of being ignored as we sat in the lobby in full view of the reception staff and manager, I again approached the manager, to express my total dissatisfaction with the way we were being treated. This time I got his attention, and we were issued a key in a few minutes, getting in to our room after nearly an an hour's wait. Unfortunately, our problems hadn't ended. Upon trying to access the internet, I spent the next hour unsuccessfully talking and meeting with three different people before finally giving up. So much for our walk on the beach. We did go down for Happy (???) Hour which I would characterize as adequate at best and enjoyed a very nice breakfast the next morning. All-in-all, however, our stay was a bust! Too bad, the hotel has so much potential! Were it not for the poor service we received, I would have rated this hotel 4 out of 5. But then service is what it should be about.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tellitubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

I apologize for the level of service you received during your recent stay with us. This is not the level of service we strive to provide to our guests and I reviewed with our management team. I extend my personal apologies for the challenges. We are located in a lovely seaside setting, and I am sorry you didn’t get to experience all we have to offer. I can assure you this experience is not the norm. We are in the middle of making many improvements to the property including the Manager’s Reception and Internet service for our guests. Thank you for taking the time and for sharing.

Best Regards, Lisa Asdikian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

No beds in reserved rooms. No hot water. Old hotel and it shows everywhere.Construction noise and debris.
This hotel does not live up to Embassy Suites reputation for quality and value.
Staff says "sorry" a lot because of the condition of the entire hotel.
Couch and chairs were old, hard, lumpy and uncomfortable. No hot water in shower.
No wireless service in this day and age!
Had to pay $15/day for self parking..a complete rip off.
At over $200/nite, it should have been a dream stay but it was a nightmare!

Room Tip: Don't take a room in any building under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

I am sorry that you did not have a good experience with us. We recently completed a renovation and I apologize for the disruption. The final touch was the installation of the beds to our new suites, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. I apologize that your suite did not have hot water and I am sharing your comments with our management staff to fix any problems. We do charge a minimum parking fee but we also provide many complimentary amenities including the full cooked-to-order breakfast and Evening Reception. We will be making many other improvements to the resort this year including Wireless Internet service. Again, I extend my apologies to you on behalf of myself and our entire team.

Best Regards, Lisa Asdikian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it and can be a good deal if you get a decent room rate. It is right on the beach, next to a large park with a playground, and breakfast is served every morning so if you have small children with you, it is pretty convenient to keep them entertained and maintained. We stayed at this hotel after going whale watching on a boat that left from the Channel Islands Marina, which is less than a 5 min drive to the hotel. The newly renovated rooms are nicely appointed and thoughtfully laid out to support beach activities with a tile entry and extra shower in the front of the room. The pool is fairly large and there are two, good sized hot tubs nearby. The standard Embassy Suites manager reception is well staffed by some hard working bartenders who keep the drinks moving. Same goes for breakfast where the chef does a great job pumping out omelets like an egg ninja. If you are in Oxnard and can get a good rate, this hotel is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have beautiful views and nice breezes, but you will pay more for them. If you go cheap, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments and I am so glad you enjoy our renovated suites and the guest amenities we offer. Please do visit us again!

Best Regards, Lisa Asdikian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First of all this was perhaps the sixth or seventh stay at this hotel and we have always come away happy. The location, beach front is excellent and the self parking garage is situated below the hotel in such a way that a short elevator trip will put you close to any room in the hotel. The service is always friendly and helpful. On this trip, Mathew a front desk manager was particularly accomodating in getting us an excellent room. The only downside was that the hotel restaurant and lounge are being remodeled but that should be complete by April 1st. Overall it is a great stay for a beach get away.

Room Tip: Any room in building 3 or second story buliding 7 rooms offer a spectacular view of beach and the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We are so happy that you enjoy our property and have returned many times! We are proud of our wonderful staff and I am happy to hear that they were so accommodating to you. We are in the final stages of our renovation at this time, but we are looking forward to the positive changes coming soon that will enhance our guest stays. We look forward to your return!

Best Regards, Lisa Asdikian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very poor service, mediocre property, feels very dated. Not many food options on the grounds. Careful, oceanfront view rooms after just have a view of a sand dune. Self parking is 15/night, which is ridiculous. Won't stay again.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustinEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take your comments very seriously as we want each guest to have a positive experience. We are in the midst of making many renovations to the resort and we will be opening up a new restaurant in the spring. We do charge a standard parking fee, but we also provide many free amenities including the full cooked-to-order breakfast and evening Manager’s Reception. I hope you will reconsider visiting us again in the future and experience the many positive changes coming our way.

Best Regards, Lisa Asdikian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
6.6 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
658 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort

Address: 2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-3638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oxnard
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#5 Business Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range: $154 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel Oxnard
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel And Resort
Embassy Suites Oxnard
Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard
Oxnard Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Hotel Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing