We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday, as we have been here before several times. The room was renovated, but paint was already scraped off front door and bedroom bathroom door. Tile wasnlt caulked carefully around tub. Big stain on the new carpet in front of the patio door.
Got not much sleep as I woke up very warm & it was too cold too leave the window open that did not have a screen. Workers woke up us up from jack hammering in next building over, could still hear it with ear plugs. Each time we walked to our room, there was a huge puddle of water on the floor just past our room that nobody did anything about.
Went to the bar a couple of times which has a nice fish tank to gaze at.
Was glad to leave and go home.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linnea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,893 - 1,899 of 2,207 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Husband and I were here in April for four nights. The location is great, separated from traffic and other busy activity, so it is very calm plus right on the very pretty beach--out the back gate and there you are. We, too, were first given a rather dark ground floor suite, but happily they were able to accommodate our request for a switch to an upper floor. And very gracious about doing so. In contrast to the stucco/tile/tropical garden exterior, the room furnishings were a bit heavier and darker than one would expect at a "beach resort" type place, but the suite was very large, airy, and scrupulously clean with a nice little private deck for wave watching.

The free breakfast was definitely at the high end of the scale, and we enjoyed sitting out in the open patio area with morning coffee and made-to-order omelettes. The dining room dinner was tasty if overpriced, and service (at least the night we ate there) was somewhat slow and distracted. A better bet was to go to the bar for a drink and bar food--working off the appetizers/snacks/burgers menu (out of the same kitchen as dinner) we had some quite good meals with quicker service and really enjoyed ourselves.

Overall, this was a very pleasant relaxed beach vacation experience for us and we would at least consider going back if we were in the general area again, but I can't quite rave because of...

The minuses: It may not be a problem for others, but the bed was waaaay too soft for me--I woke up with a stiff back every morning. Also, despite our very clean room, cleaning in the public areas seemed spotty, such as gritty breakfast tables, unvacuumed corridors, etc. Not deal breakers, but still at the price charged one expected more. Plus my top hotel rant--being charged for in-room internet and for SELF parking. I feel really "had" by this trend in hotel fees. Obviously Embassy Suites isn't the only company doing it, but it still rankles to have to pay for things that other locations continue to offer free of charge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie31774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for choosing us during your stay in the Oxnard area! We are delighted that you enjoyed our location here by sand and sea!

We are very happy that our staff was able to accommodate your request by moving you to a higher floor and that you were able to enjoy all of our dining outlets from our breakfast service to our restaurant and bar. We appreciate your feedback and can’t thank you enough for the opportunity to share with our housekeeping team the issues you raised so we may target any inconsistencies in the service they provide. We have also forwarded your comments regarding internet access and parking to our management team so we may rectify any issues in fair pricing.

We thank you so very much for all of your time and look forward to the opportunity of serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked a weekend here for our anniversary. We were on the 1st floor with a nice patio, and a glimpse of the ocean. However, shortly after arriving, we noticed a leak from one of the toilets. Maintenance came and fixed the problem but then informed us the lock on the patio door was broken and they would fix it as soon as possible; the part they were waiting for had arrived. In the middle of the night, the AC stopped working and was blowing out warm air. We reported it first thing in the morning and once again maintenance was in our room repairing something. The AC got fixed, then a different maintenance man showed up to repair the lock on the patio door. In the afternoon, we decided to take a nap due to lack of sleep the first night because of the faulty AC, but were awaken by people in the room above us. We could hear every step, door opening / closing and noise made in the room. It was so loud, we thought maintenance was in the room upstairs working. In the late afternoon, the noise stopped so we thought, okay they are done working for the day. We had a nice dinner in our room, watched a movie and went to bed around 10:30pm. But then were awaken after midnight by people walking back and forth across the room upstairs multiple times and opening doors. This continued until about 1am. There is virtually no soundproofing in the ceilings / flooring between rooms. I suggest the manager spend the night in one of the downstairs rooms in Building 8 when there are guests in the room above; and they will understand. We have stayed in many Embassy Suites in the past, in Florida, Texas and California, and by far, this was the most disappointing stay at an Embassy Suites we've ever had.

Room Tip: DO NOT book a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyC420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great Stay in New remodeled Room.

True Beachfront Resort. Great Views.

Pool area looks like Hawaiian Resort.

Huge Breakfast area.

Thank You Embassy for Perfect Family Vacation. A+++

Room Tip: Pick Beachfront room for Private Beachfront balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stansfieldinvestment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent stay in the Ventura County area. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest suites and are delighted that you were able to soak up some of our spectacular views from your oceanfront room! It also sounds like you were able to enjoy some of our great amenities while you were here on property such as our delicious cooked to order breakfast and beautiful pool facilities. We can’t thank you enough for all of your kind words and look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed at the Oxnard Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach because I was attending a weekend conference that was based at the hotel. Personally, I had no idea there was a nice area of Oxnard. There is a very nice area, and that's where the hotel is.

Room: HUGE!!! Bedroom and living room. TWO full bathrooms. Sliding glass door. Ordered room service once. Delivered very fast, and it was great!
Amenities: Beautiful pool. Two extraordinarily large hot tubs. Perfectly heated, not too hot. Right on the beach. Beautiful park next door which is where our conference was held. When at the last minute, rain threw us out of the park, the Embassy arranged for us to have a conference room there, turned out great!!
Breakfast: Omelet bar to order plus anything else you would possibly want.
Manager's Reception: Otherwise know as happy hour, free every night: beer, wine and alcohol to order with snacks. Very friendly bartenders happy to get you some good drinks
Hotel: Great staff, very friendly, very helpful
Restaurant: Ate a few meals at the restaurant, good selection, good quality, great service
Drawbacks: Some noise. Don't stay near the elevators. Don't get a room facing the restaurant/ bar if you don't want noise at night

This place was great. Like I said, very unexpected to have an amazing resort stay in Oxnard, who knew? It was wonderful, I'll be there again for my conference next year!

Room Tip: Try to get a room not on the first floor and away from the elevators. And, beware there is a nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachgirl2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us for your recent weekend conference in the Oxnard area. We are delighted that we were able to surprise you with our premier oceanfront location and are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us!

We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our fabulous pools and hot tubs as well as our other great amenities like our cooked to order breakfast, manager’s reception and restaurant. We can’t wait to share with our team your kind words about their service and are so delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you so very much for all of your time and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Location is great but the rooms are dark and staid, could use a fresher feel. I was disappointed that my pool view room had only a glimpse of the promised view and was at ground level right on a pathway,so very little privacy and a bit gloomy. I asked to be moved to a higher floor, but was told the resort was full, although I doubt that was the case all of the 3 nights I was there.
Light was out in the bathroom, I asked for it to be repaired but nothing was done.
Room facilities seemed a bit downmarket for the star rating, would barely reach the 4 stars.
I was staying there to attuned a conference so was out most of the time, so from that perspective the hotel was fine but I would not have wanted to spend a lot of time in my room otherwise.
Staff friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd or 3rd level floor and insist on the view you are paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Ventura County area. We can’t thank you enough for your kind words in regards to our staff and beautiful beachfront location!

We appreciate your feedback regarding our rooms and would like to extend our sincerest apologies that we were unable to move you to a different room due to our high occupancy status. We can’t thank you enough for the opportunity to share with our engineering team about the light in your restroom so we may target any issues in the service they provide as well as having these issues repaired in an expedited manner. We thank you so very much for all of your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have been coming to this resort for many years. We live locally and it's the perfect beach getaway. We last stayed over this past Easter weekend (2012). With an oceanfront, 1st floor room in a newly renovated part of the hotel, our expectations were exceeded. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, from the easy parking (don't do valet, the self park is much more convenient!), to the friendly room service and front desk. They were super. The room we had was recently renovated and everything was clean and updated. I thought the colors and decor were perfect. The only slight complaint would be that the master bathroom was too dark. They need better light by the mirrors.

Our room was nice, but what was outside our room made the weekend the great time that it was.....We had a sliding glass door leading to a small patio outside with table and chairs. Past that was a huge expanse of grass that my kids could play football and run around on. Next was a large step down to the bike path (which my kids could ride their bikes on while mom and dad relaxed and just watched.) The bike path is short, just around a mile long, but it was fun to ride on together (We brought our bikes, but you can also rent them there.)

Right on the other side of the bike path were the dunes. They were a great place to play in the sand and to run around on and play hide and go seek. The beach was just past the dunes and we had a perfect view of those beautiful waves.

My kids are 10,8 and 2 and our day went a little like this:
Wake, eat our yummy complimentary breakfast (my kids loved it!), go for a family walk or bike to the "pirate park" right down the bike path from the hotel, swim in the hotel's heated pool or relax in the Jacuzzi, hang out on the grass/dunes, eat lunch and relax while the kids played, go down to the beach, back to the pool, cocktail hour, dinner and watch a breathtaking sunset. Could you ask for a better vacation?

We can't wait to come back in June!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for choosing us for your Easter weekend getaway! We can’t thank you enough for your patronage and we are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed one of our newly renovated oceanfront guest suites!

We are so excited that our staff was able to share their spectacular service with you and exceed your expectations. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all of the great amenities we have here on property as well as enjoying the beach and bike paths. We really appreciate all of your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again in June!

Thank you so very much for all of your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Oxnard Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort

Address: 2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-3638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oxnard
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#5 Business Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range: $162 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All guests are invited to join us as we offer complimentary cocktails during our daily Evening Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel And Resort
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel Oxnard
Embassy Suites Oxnard
Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard
Oxnard Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Hotel Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing