We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed at the Oxnard Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach because I was attending a weekend conference that was based at the hotel. Personally, I had no idea there was a nice area of Oxnard. There is a very nice area, and that's where the hotel is.

Room: HUGE!!! Bedroom and living room. TWO full bathrooms. Sliding glass door. Ordered room service once. Delivered very fast, and it was great!
Amenities: Beautiful pool. Two extraordinarily large hot tubs. Perfectly heated, not too hot. Right on the beach. Beautiful park next door which is where our conference was held. When at the last minute, rain threw us out of the park, the Embassy arranged for us to have a conference room there, turned out great!!
Breakfast: Omelet bar to order plus anything else you would possibly want.
Manager's Reception: Otherwise know as happy hour, free every night: beer, wine and alcohol to order with snacks. Very friendly bartenders happy to get you some good drinks
Hotel: Great staff, very friendly, very helpful
Restaurant: Ate a few meals at the restaurant, good selection, good quality, great service
Drawbacks: Some noise. Don't stay near the elevators. Don't get a room facing the restaurant/ bar if you don't want noise at night

This place was great. Like I said, very unexpected to have an amazing resort stay in Oxnard, who knew? It was wonderful, I'll be there again for my conference next year!

Room Tip: Try to get a room not on the first floor and away from the elevators. And, beware there is a nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgirl2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us for your recent weekend conference in the Oxnard area. We are delighted that we were able to surprise you with our premier oceanfront location and are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us!

We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our fabulous pools and hot tubs as well as our other great amenities like our cooked to order breakfast, manager’s reception and restaurant. We can’t wait to share with our team your kind words about their service and are so delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you so very much for all of your time and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    574
    312
    206
    171
See reviews for
880
611
61
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Location is great but the rooms are dark and staid, could use a fresher feel. I was disappointed that my pool view room had only a glimpse of the promised view and was at ground level right on a pathway,so very little privacy and a bit gloomy. I asked to be moved to a higher floor, but was told the resort was full, although I doubt that was the case all of the 3 nights I was there.
Light was out in the bathroom, I asked for it to be repaired but nothing was done.
Room facilities seemed a bit downmarket for the star rating, would barely reach the 4 stars.
I was staying there to attuned a conference so was out most of the time, so from that perspective the hotel was fine but I would not have wanted to spend a lot of time in my room otherwise.
Staff friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd or 3rd level floor and insist on the view you are paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Ventura County area. We can’t thank you enough for your kind words in regards to our staff and beautiful beachfront location!

We appreciate your feedback regarding our rooms and would like to extend our sincerest apologies that we were unable to move you to a different room due to our high occupancy status. We can’t thank you enough for the opportunity to share with our engineering team about the light in your restroom so we may target any issues in the service they provide as well as having these issues repaired in an expedited manner. We thank you so very much for all of your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have been coming to this resort for many years. We live locally and it's the perfect beach getaway. We last stayed over this past Easter weekend (2012). With an oceanfront, 1st floor room in a newly renovated part of the hotel, our expectations were exceeded. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, from the easy parking (don't do valet, the self park is much more convenient!), to the friendly room service and front desk. They were super. The room we had was recently renovated and everything was clean and updated. I thought the colors and decor were perfect. The only slight complaint would be that the master bathroom was too dark. They need better light by the mirrors.

Our room was nice, but what was outside our room made the weekend the great time that it was.....We had a sliding glass door leading to a small patio outside with table and chairs. Past that was a huge expanse of grass that my kids could play football and run around on. Next was a large step down to the bike path (which my kids could ride their bikes on while mom and dad relaxed and just watched.) The bike path is short, just around a mile long, but it was fun to ride on together (We brought our bikes, but you can also rent them there.)

Right on the other side of the bike path were the dunes. They were a great place to play in the sand and to run around on and play hide and go seek. The beach was just past the dunes and we had a perfect view of those beautiful waves.

My kids are 10,8 and 2 and our day went a little like this:
Wake, eat our yummy complimentary breakfast (my kids loved it!), go for a family walk or bike to the "pirate park" right down the bike path from the hotel, swim in the hotel's heated pool or relax in the Jacuzzi, hang out on the grass/dunes, eat lunch and relax while the kids played, go down to the beach, back to the pool, cocktail hour, dinner and watch a breathtaking sunset. Could you ask for a better vacation?

We can't wait to come back in June!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing us for your Easter weekend getaway! We can’t thank you enough for your patronage and we are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed one of our newly renovated oceanfront guest suites!

We are so excited that our staff was able to share their spectacular service with you and exceed your expectations. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all of the great amenities we have here on property as well as enjoying the beach and bike paths. We really appreciate all of your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again in June!

Thank you so very much for all of your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadow Hills, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and it was worth every cent. We had ocean view room so ocean was right in front of our patio. Two room suite was great with kids, each room with own TV, Bathroom, privacy. Second room with sofa bed. Hot buffet breakfast delicious and happy hour each evening with complimentary drinks. Tropical Pool/sauna heated, waterfalls, / fun activities for kids. On site restaurant delicious and night time lounge entertainment with band and dancing. Easy access to beach with beautiful sand dunes. Bike ride rentals at hotel. Relaxing weekend, felt like a tropical paradise. Staff very friendly, even left items behind in hotel which were quickly found and returned to me ( even basic toiletries) . Rooms were brand newly furnished and Spotless. Decor was beachy with marble like surfaces. Slept like a baby with sounds of the ocean, Enjoyed watching Sunset both nights.

Room Tip: Ocean view beautiful but not necessary since beach is steps from the hotel. Hotel sits on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fendij3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent stay in Ventura County area. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed one of our newly renovated ocean view guest suites!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed all of the amenities that we offer on property from our breakfast service to our manager’s reception and restaurant entertainment. We are very proud to be the only all-suite resort in Southern California located directly on the beach and are delighted that you enjoyed our location in the sand and surf! We can’t thank you enough for the kind comments regarding our staff and are delighted we were able to exceed your expectations!
We thank you so much for choosing us and look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach is a very nice, laid back, yet high-end feel resort.

To be fair, we only stayed one night, but we enjoyed our stay. We got a room with a "partial ocean view." The partial ocean view was accurate, the main view was of the dunes and a neighborhood, but to the right, you could see the ocean.
This was fine; unless you are planning on hanging out on your hotel room porch, the view doesn't matter much.

The room was comfortable, with nice furniture and everything.

We had no complaints on noise or thin walls or anything, so I can't talk about that.

The courtyard areas are very nice; definitely feel like a tropical resort with lots of greenery and pools with waterfalls...very relaxing.

The breakfast area was very nice. It's a buffet-style breakfast area, but the food is prepared in front of you by cooks, and it is pretty good.

There is plenty of parking (mostly underground).

The staff were very courteous and helpful; providing directions to nearby restaurants and other advice.

I have no complaints about this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cullen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent visit to the Oxnard area. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our premier oceanfront location!

We are delighted that you were able to enjoy views of the Pacific from the comfort of your guest suite! We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed our cooked-to-order breakfast and we are excited that our property and our staff were able to exceed your expectations. We definitely appreciate all of your kind comments.

We thank you so much for choosing us and look forward to the opportunity of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I just saw my review from 2006 and looks like things haven't changed much! I returned again because of the location but the issues with the service ( or lack thereof) continue. Our room had a great location but the condition was marginal at best- stains on sofa, and the spare bathroom had used towels and soap from a previous guest! The worst part is the next day housekeeping ignored them yet again. I also question whether the sheets were clean or not- there were some dodgy stains. I believe they are renovating the hotel but they really need to get their act together with housekeeping and customer service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent visit to Ventura County, We thank you for choosing our beautiful oceanfront location!

We appreciate your feedback regarding the guest suites and you are correct in the fact that we are currently undergoing major renovation here on property. All guest suites will be completed this month with a much more modern look that we are sure you will be delighted with. Also, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the towels that were left in your bathroom. We can’t thank you enough for the opportunity to share this information with our housekeeping team so we may target any issues regarding the service provided.

We thank you so much for all of your time and look forward to the opportunity of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

if there are a lot of people staying for weddings, then make sure you get a room on the top floor, the walls are very thin and not enough security to keep the natives quiet. The hotel sits right on the beach, that is great!, happy hour is awesome with a fantastic breakfast. So if your at the bottem floor, you will hear everything, from people running up and down the hallways, walking hard on the ceiling, I complained to the front desk, and the guest continued to get louder. I use to book this hotel every other month, now I choose other locations maybe this hotel is good for a daytime stay only.

Room Tip: request a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinyurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us during your stay in the Oxnard area. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy our beautiful beachfront location!

We are delighted that you enjoyed some of our delicious drinks at our manager’s reception as well as our cooked to order breakfast. Our sincerest apologies that noise from outside of the room disturbed your stay, we have forwarded this information to our front desk team so we may target this issue for future guest satisfaction.

We thank you for all of your time and look forward to the opportunity to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
6.6 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
642 reviews
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Address: 2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-3638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#4 Family Hotel in Oxnard
#5 Business Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel And Resort
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel Oxnard
Embassy Suites Oxnard
Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard
Oxnard Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Hotel Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing