We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Suites Mandalay Bay Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Embassy Suites Mandalay Bay Beach”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Our room had a noisy fan that woke us every time it turned on or off. The second day, a maintenance man spent an hour trying to fix it, then gave up and asked the management to give us another room because the unit had to be replaced. The courtyards are under renovation, walkways are very rough and uneven. The Surf Room (where cooked to order breakfast is served) is disgusting, dirty and covered with bird droppings. We learned to put paper napkins down on the seats before we sat down. Bird droppings even covered the framed prints on the wall. The floor looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. This place needs a lot of work!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noreenbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us here at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach. I am glad to hear that our team was able to switch your room to a quieter one due to the noisy fan you experienced. We appreciate your feedback regarding our renovations and the Surf Room. We can’t thank you enough for sharing with us our opportunity to better target our housekeeping services in the Surf Room so we may maximize cleanliness and guest satisfaction. Our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this matter may have caused you. As you noted we are currently undergoing major renovations throughout our property as well as renovations to all of our guest rooms with rooms approaching full completion by the beginning of next month. We hope you come and experience one of our all new guest room suites soon!!!

Thank you for your time and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    569
    305
    200
    158
See reviews for
848
603
61
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We reserved a partial-view room for our family of 6 for $166/nt and I feel that this was an excellent value for our family.

Our room (4-303) had two comfortable beds and a nice living/dining area, with a large balcony that opened off both the bedroom and living rooms. The smaller bathroom near the room entrance was great for rinsing off sand after our beach time.

Parking is underground and was very convenient to our room in building 4. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and we enjoyed wandering around them.

The evening reception included nachos and popcorn as well as drinks (alcoholic and non-alcoholic). We ordered pizza from room service and enjoyed that along with our snacks.

Beach access is very easy; just walk out the gate and you're on the beach. We were there on Valentine's Day at sunset and hardly saw anyone else. Our kids loved playing on the beach.

The partial-view room, in my opinion, offers the best combination of value and view. Our room overlooked the grounds, but from the side of the balcony we could easily see the waves rolling in. I don't know if we had one of the newly redone rooms or not, but there was no disrepair in the room we had.

We only had one night here but I would definitely return when we had more time to enjoy the resort.

Room Tip: Get a partial view room. 4-303 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach. We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful beachside property during your stay in Southern California.

We are thrilled you and your family were able to enjoy the views from one of our beautiful suites, as well enjoying some of our delicious snacks and libations at our Manager’s Reception. We are very proud to be the only all-suite hotel located on California’s Coast located directly on the beach. We are happy you and your family were able to take advantage of the sun and surf!

We thank you so much for your time and look forward to serving you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Check in was easy, the rooms are large. Ocean View Suites have two bathrooms, two flat screen TV’s, a balcony, living room, dinette and large bedroom. The also have a refrigerator and a microwave. These Suites are located roughly 300 to 600 feet from the ocean. In between is a large, beautiful sandy beach.
Everything was neat and clean except the balcony. The balcony was filthy. A thick coat of dirt covered everything; furniture, floor, walls and adjacent areas. It appeared that the dirt had been there quite a while.
The hotel was under renovation, but some rooms were finished. The finished rooms were very nice. The internet was not free and adjustments had to be made to the computer for email to function.
Underground parking was confusing. Your room elevator was found by a color code. This was accomplished by finding what color the building support posts were painted. The large sign on the way in did not address our color code so finding it was a challenge. After finding it I also found that it was not the nearest elevator to our room. The elevator indicated by our color code took us into a construction area. The next challenge was finding a luggage cart. The cart area was clearly marked but no cart was present at either of the elevators that we used. I finally found one in the parking lot. It looked like the previous user hauled paint on it.
They put on a Managers reception in the evening that was very nice. Free drinks were provided along with snacks. Breakfast in the morning was also free. A cook was present to prepare omelets, eggs or whatever grilled food you wanted. He did a very nice job cooking. Cereal, pastries and other foods were also available.

Room Tip: Request a room directly facing the Pacific
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Critical V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us here at Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach. We are delighted you were able to enjoy our fabulous ocean views from the comfort of your suite! We are very pleased with the renovations going on in our guest rooms and are excited that you were able to enjoy one of them.

We appreciate your feedback regarding your balcony and the parking structure. This certainly helps us target any issues in our housekeeping service that need to be addressed. We can’t thank you enough for sharing with us the opportunity to improve any confusion our parking structure may have caused.

Thank you for your time and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accrosstheland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is a very nice Embassy Suites.
I am sure the rates must be much higher in the peak season or if there is a seminar. I was able to get a very good rate and was upgraded to the beach view room. WOW this was beautiful. The room was larger than most Embassy rooms with nice furniture. The property is well maintained and has a lot of cool flowers and landscaping. They also have a very nice pool and hot tub, I did not get to use them but was tempted to use to hot tub even though it was chilly when I was there.
The breakfast was fair but not the best I have had at an Embassy.
They were obviously working on redoing rooms and there was a bit of construction dust to deal with but not too bad.
I will say that when someone pulled a suitcase or cart down the hall it was very loud in the room, this was the biggest negative I had.
The amenities and coffee were typical.
The water did taste a bit off but not unusual for a sea side town.
Note that there is a daily charge for parking.
I wish I had more time there, it would be a nice beach to walk on and you can see the Channel Islands on the horizon.
All in all I will return there if I get the chance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockboyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a nice property on a nice stretch of beach. It has a well heated pool and 2 jacuzzis. We also used the tennis courts. The lobby area and main dining room are nice - but unlike other Embassy Suites in which i have stayed - the lobby and main dining restaurant are not used for cocktail hour and breakfast. Instead everyone is put into an awful poolside cafeteria setting for nightly Embassy Suites cocktails (with plastic glasses and poor selections). We just skipped it. Breakfast was OK but not great - partly because the atmosphere in the Pool cafeteria was so bad. The rooms were nice and clean. The balcony was nice with sea view. The staff were well-trained. Parking is $15/night extra. The area is isolated and all the restaurants in the area are very fast-food like or horribly unhealthy American style.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VooDooTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I'm an Embassy Suites fan anyway, but this property is particularly nice being right on the beach. They have been renovating and my building (#2) was just recently re-opened. I had a partial beach view (meaning, go out on the balcony, and look sideways) but it was quite nice. Channel Islands Harbor is a short walk/drive away (walk if the weather is nice). The happy hour was a tad disappointing, with some minimal snacks offered in the Surf Room - basically stuff one could buy at Costco - but the mixed drink specials each night were good and the wine fine. My only actual quibble was that they have signs in the room saying to hang up your towel if you're ok with reusing it, leave it on the floor if you want it replaced; I was there a week and kept hanging up my towel, and every day they replaced it anyway.

Room Tip: Worth it to get the ocean view, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us during your visit to southern California’s premier beach destination Mandalay Beach. We are thrilled you enjoyed our stunning views and the beautiful Chanel Islands Harbor they certainly are a must see.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the snacks offered during our evening reception. This certainly helps us make future improvements in our selections. We can’t thank you enough for sharing with us our opportunity to improve our linen re-use efforts. This is a very important initiative and we used your comment as a training opportunity with our housekeeping team.

Thank you for your time and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Spend a little more and get a full ocean view, second or third floor. They have a great breakfast with build your own omeletts, etc. And a happy hour with FREE drinks :-). The only problem was that housekeeping did not do our room after we left a bit late. There is live music most nights in the bar/resturant area, and the food is good.

Room Tip: Try the upper floors. They do charge $15 a night for parking even if you self park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us during your visit to Oxnard-Mandalay Beach. We are thrilled you enjoyed our unique full ocean views.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our delicious cook to order breakfast and managers reception. We can’t thank you enough for sharing with us our opportunity to improve our housekeeping services. We can appreciate the timeliness of service and this is something we can improve upon.

Thank you for your time and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
6.6 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
634 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Address: 2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-3638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oxnard
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#5 Business Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel And Resort
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel Oxnard
Embassy Suites Oxnard
Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard
Oxnard Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Hotel Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing