We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very overpriced and dated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“very overpriced and dated!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

after a month of travelling through California with a trip to Vegas and the Grand canyon this was our final destination to relax on a beach and finally unpack our suitcases! we stayed in some fantastic luxury hotels during our trip including the U.S. Grant in San Diego, The Monterey Plaza and the Venetian in Vegas, the Embassy suites was double the price of all these others (even with a half price discount!) and is a dated, slightly smelly hotel with no atmosphere. We did have a lovely view of the beach but the price in no way reflects the standard or service expected. We only ate in the hotel once and waited for 25 minutes for food even though there was only one other couple in the whole restaurant!!! I would have moved hotel after the first night but my husband didn't want to do any more driving - fair enough! we have 2 daughters (age 11 and 14) that were very bored at the hotel. If you want a great beach location this hotel is OK but would recommend really searching for the best price and a few nights would be enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddicits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    569
    305
    200
    158
See reviews for
848
603
61
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here for two nights based on a reasonable experience in another Embassy Suites in San Francisco. We booked a partial sea view room with balcony via their call center. On arrival, we found the hotel is fairly spread our, reception very impressive. We'd booked Internet in the room but it wasn't wireless and the desk clerk refunded us even though we'd paid in advance, and then he gave us free access to the wireless in the lobby and pool areas. Good start

Room was great, and although we were on the side of the hotel we had a nice view of beach and were sheltered from the onshore breeze. See pic. Room was spacious, two bathrooms and a reasonable pull out sofa bed for our kids. Beds and linen were clean. Decor felt a bit dated, especially in corridors. Main gripe would be that although the room was clean, it needed a thorough spring clean. There was mold around the windows for example that wouldn't have taken much effort to clear away. And the windows were all a little greasy, probably from the salt air. For this reason I've marked then down a little on cleanliness, but it wouldn't put me off too much. This is a great resort style hotel, good for families. Not much to do in local area though!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_gra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We went for 1 night August 2011.Upon entering our room we were greeted by on overwhelming smell of a mixture of mold,mildew and musk.The AC was not working so we called the front desk and went to dinner. When we returned their was a note from maintenance saying they had fixed it and it was now 65 degrees. That was a lie as it still was very warm in the room. I called the front desk and the same guy came a second time. He told me it wasn't fixed and he couldn't do anything else to fix it. I spoke with front desk manager asked to move to another room. Manager said no rooms were available. I checked online and called embassy suite and multiple rooms were available

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Perfect location for beach lovers..... step right onto the beach from the 1st floor rooms, but amazing views from the 3rd floor rooms. We were there in the spring so can only imagine what the summer is like - gotta go back!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blnaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Our 1 bedroom room, although large with 2 bathrooms, was really in need of refurbishing. Old furniture and a slightly musty smell... But the bed was comfy.
What made us happy about our stay was the location. Located right on the beach, it made for a beautiful relaxing stay. The beach is superb and was a pleasure to walk.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant - it was okay. Breakfast was included and offered a nice selection.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Izzy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with a group of 70 other women from my church for a retreat. We had a great time!

Check in was a breeze, even though there were tons of people arriving at the same time. The doormen helped us out of the car and allowed us to park in front while we checked in. I didn't have to wait at all (partly due to it being a group check in and everything was already taken care of).

They have a unique parking system, that was somewhat confusing. All of the parking is underground but there are several buildings where rooms are located so they've created a system of colors to correspond with buildings. So depending on where your room is, you park in that specific color. It was kind of dark (i mean it is an underground parking garage) so it was a little hard to tell exactly where we needed to go, but after the first time and realizing where we were, we were fine the rest of the stay. You do have to pay for parking per day though. They also have valet which we didn't use.

The room was great. We had a partial ocean view, but it was beautiful with a large balcony. There were 5 of us girls in the room but we had so much space! The living area had a sink, microwave and fridge as well as a table. I didn't sleep on the pull out couch (I claimed a bed) but the girls said it wasn't very comfortable. That's to be expected though, I doubt there are very many comfortable pull-outs. There was a good size TV in the front room as well as a full bathroom. There was access to the balcony from both the front room and the bedroom

The bedroom had two queen beds and another full size bathroom as well as another flat screen TV. There was a large closet with plenty of storage space.

The breakfast that's included is fantastic! Tons of options and hot foods to order.

The pool was beautiful and there were several hot tubs that were surrounded by lush foliage.

There was access to the beach from the hotel and you used your room key card to get back onto the hotel grounds. I liked this added security.

The grounds were beautiful with many meandering paths... maybe a little too meandering if you're in a hurry... but it was still beautiful.

I didn't use the fitness room, but from glancing at it, it seemed well-equipped.

The meeting room was great as well. They provided water, mints, pens, and paper at each meeting.

Overall I had a great experience at the Embassy Suites and would definitely return with my husband. It's a great hotel for meetings and retreats like I was on, but it would also be fun for couples and families since the beach is right outside the hotel. I only stayed 1 night, but would love to stay longer next time!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoovergab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

After another hotel bumped our room and we had no place to stay, we scrambled for a hotel and found a room here. Maybe we got "last minute" pricing, but we paid a LOT and did not get value for it (in our opinion). The room was old and tired and had scuff marks and dents. The manager did move us to a newer room which was nicer but still not what we would consider "luxury" given what we've experienced elsewhere for that price. The "managers reception" was absent a manager, plus the room was dirty and the limited snacks had run out without refills. Beyond the high room price, we had to pay extra for parking, internet access, and even the bottled water in the room - we felt "nickled and dimed" at every corner. On the plus side, the grounds were lovely, the lobby is elegant, beach was right there, and it looked like they had fun family activities planned.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelbelleLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
6.6 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
634 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Address: 2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-3638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#4 Family Hotel in Oxnard
#5 Business Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel And Resort
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel Oxnard
Embassy Suites Oxnard
Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard
Oxnard Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Hotel Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing