We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value on the dunes of Oxnard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I originally discounted a friend's recommendation to stay at (1) an Embassy Suite for a family vacation and (2) not exactly most exciting town. But, it was a wonderful location right on the water, nice little gym with free weights, mats, benches and small but nice variety of cardio. Downside, though our room were very large with 2 baths, it was in need of refurbishing,
On-site restaurant food not very good (with refrigerator and consistently good restaurant recommendations by staff not really necessary). Free full breakfast with omelot bar very good but get there early. Free happy hour also good .

We asked for a waterfront room and were disappointed. The wind blows hard in the afternoon, and we could only see over the railing while sitting on bar stools. Better option is partial waterfront, overlooking park area and ocean, and clear view from a chaise to the water.

Room Tip: ask for partial waterfront with view of green area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princessvpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,929 - 1,935 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

I feel like I stepped into the twilight zone! This place was probably really nice in the 60's & 70's. I can only speak for the standard room I was in but if the rest of the hotel is in the same state of dilapidation as my room, I can't imagine anyone giving this place even a DECENT rating. When I spend $300 for a room I expect alot and this place FAILS to deliver. I was not even able to stay in my room and relax with the drapes open because the painting crew was working on on our patio for about 4 hours. A/C barely kept the room cool. Embassy Suites has always been like an "old faithful" until now, this was a real let down. Oh yeah not to mention they dropped the ball on my reservation. Never got my confirmation email, so when I called back and didn't have my confirmation number they said they didn't have a res under my name so I had to make a whole new one and then when I checked in they told me I had two rooms reserved and wanted to know if I still needed the second room. HELLO?! Room lighting was really bad and the internet was weak. I will say the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cautious2stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The manager and staff were very friendly and eager to help with any request. Our building appeared to be freshly painted and our room was clean. Having two full bathrooms in the suite was very convenient, especially traveling with two teenagers. The hot breakfast was wonderful and had something to offer for every taste.
The grounds are beautiful and kids will enjoy the numerous rock formations and waterfalls. This is the perfect place to stay if you plan to spend your time between the resort pool and beach. You can walk directly onto the beach from the property.
The beach is the only thing within walking distance, but restaurants and shops are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Bar can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnquilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stay at this resort at least twice a year and it's always beyond amazing. The staff is incredible and everyone from the valet to the front desk to the maids always seem to really care about the guests. The rooms need a little update, but they are in the process of redoing them right now. The color boards are out in the lobby and the new furniture and room decor looks great!
I love that every room has a living room and our favorite rooms are ground level in building 7 so that we can play lawn games out on the grass during the day and sit out and have a night cap in the evenings. We've used every possible service that the hotel has to offer and they have all been terrific. The gym is small but well equipped (love the cardio theater machines!), the spa is ok (but they are building a better one we hear), great bike rentals, and the food is fantastic! We love the free breakfast and usually eat lunch by the pool from either the bar menu or from the BBQ stand if it's out. The bar is well stocked and makes a great selection of tropical drinks plus your standards.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CariBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I'm so glad I booked the hotel before reading the reviews! Only afterwards did I glance thru the comments and was actually a bit frightened of the place. There was no need to be worried.

Our room was spotless. The grounds are fantasstic. The view is awesome! The staff more than helpful. Yes, the decor is a bit dated. Yes, there were some spots that needed paint. But none of that impacted the experience. Without hesitation, I recommend this Embassy Suites and would actually say it is a good value for a suites hotel, especially with the ocean right outside your door.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor ocean view - worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Genie533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The grounds are beautiful, there are ponds and waterfalls throughout the property and the pool is gorgeous. The beach is nice and quite and a short walk from your room. Breakfast is a little chaotic and since the rooms surround the pool it can be really noisy at night.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinkiebabe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Rooms are clean and extremely spacious, appears that most rooms have two bathrooms and TV's, sperate living and sleeping area, along with a large table and 4 chairs. Staff was very friendly. Hotel has direct access to the beach. Parking at $15 for self or $18 is excessive. Hallways in buildings are dingy and in need of updating. Pool area is very nice as well. Omletes in the morning and 2 hour happy hour each night as complementary was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preston71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
6.6 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
658 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort

Address: 2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-3638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#4 Family Hotel in Oxnard
#5 Business Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range: $155 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel Oxnard
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel And Resort
Embassy Suites Oxnard
Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard
Oxnard Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Hotel Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing