We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnighter.....”
Review of Inn at Oxnard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Oxnard
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“OK for an overnighter.....”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Recently stayed here for one night on a day road trip in the Ventura area. Have to say skeptical of the first impression and location.....Oxnard, CA.....not the liveliest neighborhoods and city. Also the hotel is quite a distance from the 101 exit. Hotel was next to a "Kiti's restaurant" that was now out of business. Not too many restaurants in the near vicinity.........more below.....

However, we were greeted nicely by the staff which is really where the review starts. Upon entrance to the room, had that Motel-6 feel, not that there is anything wrong with that but a standard room. Room itself was clean and quite spacious. Bed was clean, which we always inspect and pull back the covers....no funkiness. Room also came with a small refrigerator and microwave. I don't know if Wi-Fi was offered as we didn't have our laptops. All rooms are situated in a courtyard which can be loud at night. Was only woken up once. Other disappointment to the room was the shower. Seemed to be no hot water, just luke warm water for both a shower at night and in the am.

The next morning was pleasantly surprised by their breakfast. Was in a large room with plenty of tables and served cereals, eggs, sausage, bagels/toast along with a do it yourself waffle maker!

So overall would I stay here again, probably not. Given the distance from the 101 Exit and Oxnard itself, would have stayed in Ventura. Again, ok for a brief overnighter.

Recommendations: we found a great italian restaurant, Dominick's about 3 miles (google for directions), which was excellent! Highly recommend that place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotterswannebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    48
    37
    27
    34
See reviews for
60
41
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpfull. Because there was something wrong with our booked room (our 'fault', we booked by accident a wheelchair room), they offered us a free upgrade so that we could get our booked kingsize bed (a junior suite). The room was very nice and clean! A surprise was a free appetizer at early dinnertime next to the included breakfast. They also have a nice swimmingpool, a sauna and a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigcityy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmanagement2010, Manager at Inn at Oxnard, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at our property, we do appreciate your comments and will make sure to pass your kind words to our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting your accomodation needs while in the area in a near future! Lesly Elenes A.GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We arrived fairly late and really just needed a place for the night. Our king bedroom was quite large--there was a king bed as well as a sofa/seating area. It appeared to be an older style motel but fairly clean and comfortable. The room was quiet and we slept well. The breakfast room was quite large with plenty of seating. Many times hotels do not have enough seating in the breakfast area but this room was quite spacious.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmanagement2010, General Manager at Inn at Oxnard, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank you pfor taking the tiime to give us a review. We take great pride in our property and constantly strive to provide a clean, affordable stay with outstanding service. As you noted, our rooms are spacious and breakfast includes a wide-variety of offerings -- a good value. WE hope to see you soon!
Lesly Elenes
A.GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintersville, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Good motel. the staff very friendly. room was clean. the breakfast was great and there was plenty of places to sit. Our surprise was that they served dinner for free. We had taco's the night we were there. You don't get that at any other motel that I know of. Great job by the manager. There is an I Hop right next door.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annaohio013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmanagement2010, General Manager at Inn at Oxnard, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we appreciate your notes and hope to see you again while in the Oxnard Channel Islands area.
Best Regards
Lesly Elenes
A.GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Very nice hotel. I booked the room through Choice rewards and this did not sit well with the
clerk. We booked a suite and had a confirmation email, but when we showed up and Jaci the clerk saw that we used rewards for the nice room, said that the room was not available.
We booked it 15 minutes prior. She looked and looked and complained how much trouble she is going to get in for giving us a room about equal to what we booked and finally found a room. She had the maid go see if it was cleaned and came back and said it was ready to go. Later that night we found sand in 2 of the beds. REALLY! This is the service we get for repeatedly using Choice Hotels. The next day we go to use the "heated" pool of which Jaci said was just filled yesterday to it may still be cold, was still cold and there was not
a heat pump on. When we go to ask the guy on duty why the pool isn't heated, he said the pump is broken. Why so many lies? Is this how you run your business. So to end my review, If Jaci is working, spit in her face and go somewhere else, hopefully the other tenants run the place better that she does.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dafritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmanagement2010, Manager at Inn at Oxnard, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
We try to upgrade all our Rewards Members, however, due to the Strawberry Festival we were sold out and all of our upgrades had already been occupied. We are sorry we were unable to accommodate your request and also for the conditions you experienced with housekeeping and our pool. There is no excuse for the way you and your family were treated and I assure you corrective action has been taken. Again our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oxnard hotels

West Covina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My son and his wife have stayed here before (Choice Privilages GP-SXK81600) and recommended it to me when I needed to be in Ventura. The staff were excellent. Was given a convenient room, close to the dining room and elevator. (I'm old) The staff at breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends. Room clean and bed comfortable. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

The staff here is very accommodating and friendly. They offered a wonderful light dinner and complimentary happy hour as well as a hot breakfast the next morning, along with a complimentary USA Today. We were so pleased we stopped again on the return trip and were no less impressed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amacnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxnard hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Oxnard Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Oxnard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Oxnard

Property: Inn at Oxnard
Address: 1001 E Channel Islands Blvd, Oxnard, CA 93033-5508 (Formerly Ramada Oxnard)
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Oxnard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Inn at Oxnard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Channel Islands Hotel Oxnard
Comfort Inn Oxnard
Oxnard Comfort Inn
Channel Island Inn And Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing