We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food. Kosher too.”
Review of Tierra Sur

Tierra Sur
Reserve with OpenTable
Tierra Sur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 305 Restaurants in Oxnard
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Del Norte
JoeCanuck
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food. Kosher too.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Food was excellent. Every last bit of it, and especially the lamb and duck dishes. The service was also great- friendly, not rushed, showing samples of food and tasting of wines. Not the cheapest around and a bit of a drive from LA... but well well worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    21
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best kosher restaurants the world.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Drove up while on trip in LA. Took pch and that made the drive up part of the experience. Did the short self guided tour of the winery first which I would recommend trying because if it's not ur speed u can rush through and be done in a minute.

Food was amazing steak was huge and the sauce was delicious. Wife had the ribs which were also really really good. Loved the cinnamon doughnuts with the chocolate dip for desert. All the courses were paired with wines by our server and he did a great job. Really top notch all around. The only issue one could have is location but I think u can make a nice day trip from LA and certainly if ur in Santa Barbra

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elchay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had!!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Would recommend this restaurant to anyone! Great menu, service, and wine list is to die for! Amazing dinner... Hope I can visit again soon!!

Helpful?
Thank Hollie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolute gourmet meal!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Who would of thought my gourmet meal it was completely kosher. I'm not Jewish but this winery restaurant is par excel lance. Service is very good and you can even take a self guided tour of this kosher winery (Herzog Wines). On one dinning visit we were seated next to 2 tables with a couple at each table. They were obviously orthodox Jews and we struck up a conversation. They were cousins, each a rabbi and were visiting from New Jersey. They made a special trip driving up from Beverly Hills where they were staying to eat at this restaurant. I was surprised at that to which they said "Do you realize this is considered the finest kosher restaurant in the United States. I can't vouch for that statement but I can say you won't be disappointed if you choose to dine here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FAKOOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Carnivores only, and don't be on a budget”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The best part of the restaurant is the service. Uniformly excellent.

The decor is what I might call "minimalist." The menu is short and, as implied, all meat and seafood. Some of it leans a bit exotic, such as bison kielbasa, and other dishes are more recognizable.

The limited options and the fact that neither of us were that impressed with our meals leads to the lower ranking. The tomato basil soup was excellent. The bison kielbasa was rated "pretty good" by my date, and I was truly disappointed to find that the grilled chicken was dark meat. On the flip side, the portions are quite generous for a higher-end restaurant; the kielbasa is listed as an appetizer but was more than enough for an entree.

For the price point, I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbiesOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tierra Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing