We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood and home made tortillas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabo Seafood Grill and Cantina

Cabo Seafood Grill and Cantina
Ranked #6 of 298 Restaurants in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
747 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Great seafood and home made tortillas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Came here for a light lunch after driving by several times during the last week. As we were going to our table we noticed that they were making their own tortillas which is a good thing. The staff are friendly and there seem to be a fair number of locals eating there. That is always a good sign that the restaurant has good food. My wife had the shrimp cocktail and it was one of the best we ever had. I ordered the ceviche with the home made tortilla and it was also great. We like to try different restaurants but this is one that we would go back to.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    56
    11
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A must stop If your driving north from LA on Highway 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have never reviewed a restaurant twice but Cabo deserves the exception. We stopped by for a light dinner last night and had the Nachos and Large Shrimp Cocktail, both ridiculously good. There was a great buzz from the crowded bar, the joie de vivre palpable. Loud, happy people celebrating another end of the workweek. I have eaten many times at Cabo and can honestly say I have never had anything close to a bad experience.

About 55 miles north of Los Angeles on Highway 1 you will enter Oxnard and reach a "5 points" intersection. Cabo Seafood Grill sits on the NE section of that intersection and is visible. Do yourself a favor and stop and eat. You will be happily refreshed to continue on your journey.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tom_treddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two words - Cabo Margarita!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We've been eating at this restaurant for over a decade. The Cabo margarita is the BEST margarita I've EVER had. The salsa regularly wins best salsa at the Oxnard Salsa Festival. Excellent shrimp cocktail, carnitas tacos, shrimp dishes, enchiladas, and MORE! The queso fundido is yummy and the guacamole is terrific!!! You WON'T be sorry!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“It's a good place to visit nothing close to El Pesacador de Fillmore but not a bad place to have a good drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The place is in a good location in oxnard they have mariachi if you like to listen to it. They have a bar area and it looks like the drink are good not really a drinker.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank latinos28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munhall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unexpected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

When my friend and I pulled up it was not exactly what we were expecting in that it might not have had the most authentic look from the outside but we were excited for some mexican food none the less.

I chose the large quesadilla which could have easily fed 2 people! The chicken was seasoned perfectly and was what made the meal great. My friend chose the Tacos Dorados de Picadillo
which she said were unlike anything she had had before. You definitely get your money's worth here. Service was good and they make the tortilla's right in the front of the restaurant where people can see. The only thing I wasn't a huge fan of was the salsa as it was not a chunky style salsa that I prefer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallieterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabo Seafood Grill and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing