We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a drive but well worth it”

Cabo Seafood Grill and Cantina
Ranked #4 of 305 Restaurants in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's a drive but well worth it”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This isn't the closest Mexican meal but sure out performs anything near me. I drive from Malibu up to Cabo at least twice a month. Almost always start with a shrimp cocktail. Usually have one of following for the second course: tostada al pastor, carnitas in some form, or a chile relleno..I would ear more but the "small" shrimp cocktail is huge and wonderful. Hand made tortillas wow. Great servers and the bar scene is different than any other that I have seen. Gets a bit loud when the mariachis play next to the table but its all part of the fun.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    56
    13
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, IL
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I stop here every time I am in Oxnard”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I travel to Oxnard one to twelve times a year on business. I have had at least eight menu items, but I keep coming back to the Camarones a Diablo, muy picanto. I use any of the excess sauce on the grilled vegetables or rice. The restaurant makes up the fresh tortilla chips and tortillas on the rotating platter for the customers to view. The guacamole is made right at the table. I was introduced to Cabo by coworkers at Oxnard. I have brought a number of coworkers from Illinois here and they were all blown away by their dishes. For the adventurous spices levels go from adequate for virtually everyone to time for cerveza to cut the burn. You can specify the level of spice, the knowledgeable staff will verify any gringos to insure that you know what you are ordering. I have never had even just an average plate here, I would order everything over again, except maybe the hogfish.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeedGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food, fresh but standard fare”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

we ordered the mixed seafood and meat platter - we were moderately hungry and the majority of it. It was good food, very typical Mexican but nothing that blew us away. If I were to go back I would probably order some of the other things in the menu.
If you are in town and want a fun place with a good atmosphere then go there they had the band playing, in one section is a bar with sports tv etc and everyone seemed to be having fun.
Nice staff, interested not just looking for a tip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandyshaw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food at Awesome Prices”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Arrived in Oxnard and wanted to find a good Mexican restaurant. We actually passed this hotel on our way to our hotel and it was busy - from the outside though, it looked way more like a seafood and fish restaurant than a Mexican restaurant. When we came back about an hour and a half later, it was still just as busy and it was bustling the whole time we were there - always a good sign. The food was delicious, the chips and salsa on the table were tasty, and the value for money was excellent. So far, this was the best meal on our vacation!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blebsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spoiled by New Mexican cuisine.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Expected flavorful green chile sauce, got sour vinegar instead. Carne asada burrito could have been warmed a little longer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onehvyhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabo Seafood Grill and Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Cabo Seafood Grill and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing