We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Would You Spend More Somewhere Else?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2009

This is a Hampton and frankly, they are all about the same. Good value, clean rooms and comfy beds. This one beats the rest by location alone. Right on the harbor with patio rooms available.
the room was extremely clean, no funny smells or stains. The bed was perfect with white linnens that didn't hide a thing.
Morning breakfast bar was well stocked and warm food was fresh. We didn't use the pool but it was heated just right for those chilly harbor nights.
This is a good place to unwind or romance. There's not much to do and the restaurants with the exception of the Lobster Trap are on the other side of the harbor. Walking isn't much of a choice.
It may not be a resort, but is was a nice break from a busy schedule
Book a harbor view room and bring a good book and a bottle of wine and you won't be disappointed.
Whatever you do, don't book Casa Sirena down the road. We walked there for drinks at the Lobster Trap and were totally disgusted. Dirty and falling apart, the entire property gave me the willies.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st0ked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaAGM, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2010

Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting the Oxnard Channel Island Harbor.

We are pleased that your recent stay with us was enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback and love hearing from our loyal guests in view of the fact that it is your comments that help us in improving our hotel.

I know there are many options to choose from in Oxnard and want to make you feel confident that your next visit to our hotel will provide you with the exceptional service you deserve.

We hope that you will choose our hotel in the future when traveling to the Oxnard area.


Sincerely,
Paula Fernandez
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 851 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed here as Casa Serena was closed, and let me tell you!!! WOW! For the price....it was perfect. And the continental breakfast, was more than I have ever experienced in all my years of going to hotels. Great food choices, wonderful service, and even a computer??? Very well worth the money!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohrbeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaAGM, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2010

Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting the Oxnard Channel Island Harbor.

We are pleased that your recent stay with us was enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback and love hearing from our loyal guests in view of the fact that it is your comments that help us in improving our hotel.

I know there are many options to choose from in Oxnard and want to make you feel confident that your next visit to our hotel will provide you with the exceptional service you deserve.

We hope that you will choose our hotel in the future when traveling to the Oxnard area.


Sincerely,
Paula Fernandez
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The first thing that we were aware of was how sincere and friendly the entire staff was. Our only problem was my getting lost in heavy fog on our arrival and the late night manager patiently helped me find my way by cell phone and warmly greeted us for check in at 1 a.m. in the morning. We stayed for a total of 6 nights and everyone we met on the staff was happy, helpful and kind. We will stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtleman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Great location. Close to beaches, kayaking, harbor. SImple breakfast (included) adds value. Free parking. Friedly staff. Stayed for 3 nights mid-August.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 94,597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I echo the previous reviews and also admit that I am biased as a Hilton Honors member. I thought that you can't beat the price/quality ratio. For $150 we had a second floor room with a balcony facing the Marina on a Saturday in August; the Mandalay Bay Embassy Suites wanted $400.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA-Geocacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Whenever we go on a trip, i would go to trip advisor and read the reviews, for many many times, it has been to my advantage. I thank you for all the honest reviews from all the real people who shared their most honest reviews. Last weekend, me and my family went to Oxnard for a quick getaway. Hampton Inn was very nice, relaxing,and a perfect size hotel.The free breakfast is a bonus itself. All the staff were very friendly. It's clean and the marina view from our room is a sight to see every morning . I would highly recommend it for families.

doctormom

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uedmd1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We booked two rooms for a family staycation / birthday celebration and found the property, service, and location, all excellent. In particular, the staff was very friendly and the decor exceeded the hotel's class rating. Some points that stand out:
- We requested refrigerators in both rooms before hand. Not only were these provided, but on top of them, microwaves as well - be sure to request these ahead of time though, because they do run out if it is a busy weekend
- Furniture, carpet did not have the small hotel / motel feeling. Instead, the headboard, desks, etc... are all darker wood and the color schemes are soothing
- Hot breakfast was free, and actually quite decent. Coffee and tea are available 24 hrs
- Free internet + workstation in the breakfast area complete with free printing
- Front desk staff was polite and knowledgeable about the area

Both of our rooms were marina side, so we had a clear 180 degree view of the park and docks (see photos). The only aspect I found lacking, was the gym - a pull-up bar or a few light weights to accompany the treadmill, elliptical, and stationary bike would have been great, but this is nitpicky for a smaller hotel.

The beach is a 3-5 minute drive from the hotel, and is also definitely walkable / bikeable if you want a little workout. Hotel aside, I have to say that the beach out here is alot cleaner than some others I have been to - it was nice walking on the sand, not having to worry about stepping on cigarette butts or soda cans.

If you are planning a weekend stay during the summer, also be sure to set aside some time for the Farmer's Market on Sunday morning (on Harbor Blvd. one block over) as well as other events (i.e. when we were there, an English car show was exhibiting).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mytibt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
3.2 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Address: 3231 Peninsula Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range: $150 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor Hotel Oxnard
Hampton Inn Oxnard
Oxnard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing