We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Grover Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was a great place to stay, we had a room with a marina view & a balcony. it was quiet, safe & very enjoyable. Breakfast was great as was the staff serving. The hotel receptionist was friendly & met all of our needs, on 2 different occasions we requested additional towels & they were brought up immediately. The grounds are very nice with one location offering a pool & another offering a fire pit. Nearby was a great Pizza place called Toppers, very industrial inside with lots of TV's for sports fans & a beautiful view of the marina. We will stay here again, the rooms were clean & comfortable, we rarely heard anyone else on our floor & the hotel said they were full. I highly recommend. Thanks to Liam for adjusting our rate, we were there for an NSA World Series Softball tournament, the NSA had the Hampton down as a hotel that was recommended, however, NSA put the wrong rate in & Liam was able to acommodate that within $5.00.

Room Tip: Pay the extra & get the Marina View room, we slept with our slider open to get the cool breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    254
    77
    20
    11
See reviews for
227
329
48
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mira Loma, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were extremely satisfied with the HI at Channel Islands for our 25th Anniversary. We were, however disappointed with the peninsula in general, as most businesses on the "Fisherman's Wharf" had gone belly up. We were able to go across the marina and found wonderful spots to eat at the Lookout Cafe and several others. Had a great time with Island Packers visiting Anacapa Island and encounters dolphin on the way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Katherine:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others, we do appreciate you doing so. We're glad to hear you enjoy your stay and sorry you were dissapointed with the area, there are some nice restaurants and places to visit on the other side of the Marina though, we hope you had a chance to try one of them. We are also looking forward to more development in the area for everyone local and visiting the area to enjoy.
Thank you again for your comments and hope to see you back at our property in the near future.
Sincerely,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a great find.....Friendly employees, nice furnished room, comfy bed, good location (views of the harbor), quiet and restful, walking paths around the harbor, plus a small city park (picnic tables and playground stuff for kids. Topper's Pizza restaurant within walking distance (great pizza, nice salad bar and right on the harbor views. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJWca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear BJWca:
We all appreciate your great review and kind comments which will pass along to the team, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next stay.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Negative!, Stinky, unorganized, lack of friendliness, bed comforter was so old it hand lumps as large as baseballs, p/c was not working because there was no cord! Buy one! I have never stayed at a Hampton with such lack of character and helpfulness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear MathewS:
I’m very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. As I explained in my prior response we were testing the PC with a new power cord that did not work and didn't place it back, never the less guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we apologize for letting you down. I will be sure to keep your feedback in mind as we're always working to improve our overall guest experience. Please feel free to reach out to me directly to discuss this incident in further detail.
Respectfully,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

. . . but I wished I could have stayed longer. A very nice and quiet location by the channel in Oxnard. Due to plans I just needed a one night stand on the way to Santa Barbara. Accommodations and weather were great. View out the window was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ried J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Ried J:
I'm glad you had the opportunity to stay with us even if it was for only one day, we are happy you enjoyed it and now that you know where we are, we look forward to your next visit.
All the Best,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spent a lovely night in Oxnard at the Hampton Inn. It is adjacent to a park and walking path. It's a short drive to the Ventura Harbor where we had a wonderful seafood dinner at Brophy Bros.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Tynescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Tynescott:
Just a quick note to thank you for your review in TripAdvisor, it looks like you both enjoy your time while at the Hotel, and we do appreciate you sharing with others. We hope to see you back in the near future while in the area.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great hotel with great service. We stayed in a harbor view room with a comfortable king size bed. The hotel was fairly quiet and in a great location. The staff provided excellent service and were all very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi_Anaheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello Jody_Anaheim:
I'm glad you like the time you spend at our property while in the Channel Islands area, thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience and for the nice comments about our team, which will be pass on. We look forward to your next visit, please feel free to contact us ahead if you need any information about the area.
Sincerely,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Address: 3231 Peninsula Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oxnard
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Family Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Business Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor Hotel Oxnard
Hampton Inn Oxnard
Oxnard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing