We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, KY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel Experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This Hampton Inn is located in a beautiful place with great views on the harbor side. The rooms were clean and well kept, all the staff was friendly and helpful and the ladies at the breakfast area were very nice and helpful. I consider it a good value for the money. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank fishon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear fishon2010:
We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay at our property and thank you for your nice comments about it as well as our staff which will share with them. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next stay with us.
All the best,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    259
    77
    21
    12
See reviews for
232
332
48
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

There are so many places to go and things to do right in the area. Lots of restaurants and shopping and Sunday Farmer's Market very nearby. The room was clean and very comfortable. We faced a small park with corner view of marina. There are resident ducks in the park. Good place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank auratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear auratravels:
I want to thank you for your great review and detail explanation not only of the great stay you had while at our property but of the surroundings and "things to do". We do appreciate your input and hope to see you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was disappointed with this hotel. I am a Hilton Honours member and one of my preferences is a high floor; away from elevators. We received a dark room on the first floor with a patio that looked directly onto the parking lot. Further disappointment when we realized that there is no laundry on-site. I thought all Hampton Inns had laundry facilities but this one does not. They offered to send our laundry out but that doesn’t work for a one night stay. Bad news after two weeks of traveling. Also, there was no fridge in our room; another thing I thought was standard at Hampton Inns.

Our room was noisy; likely because we were relatively close to an exterior door and the swimming pool. The bed was terrible and the truck parked outside our patio had issues with its alarm at 2:00 a.m. We really didn’t get a good night’s sleep.

The pool is quite small and there is no hot tub.

The hotel is in a quiet marina area. There are restaurants within walking distance but no healthy choices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vay_KayK8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear VayKayK8e:
I want to thank you for the notes and comments from your stay at our property, I am really sorry that your experience wasn't what you were expecting. While we don't have laundry facilities at the hotel is correct that we offer next day service from an outside vendor, but of course as you said, that doesn't work when you only stay one night, some bigger properties might have this facilities while we are a bit restricted with space, and while we don't have refrigerators and microwaves in all of the rooms we do provide them free of charge, upon request and availability. It looks like you stayed with us at a busy time of the year (July 2012) and as much as we try to comply with all guests requests, it becomes challenging with a full house, never the less we would love for you to visit us again and give us another opportunity to serve your needs in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.
Respectfully,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Quiet, Clean rooms and pleasant friendly staff. My check in was weird as the boss was breaking in a new employee. I'm sure they will fix that. The breakfast is great and coffee available 24/7 free. The breakfast staff is so friendly and can't wipe up the dirty tables fast enough. Please come and stay here. The veiw rooms are great. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank N C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear NCS:
Thank you for your taking the time and reviewing our location and your stay, we do appreciate your comments and hope to see you back at our property in the near future.
Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This Hampton Inn is on a side street, a little off the beaten path in Oxnard, but just 15 minutes from the Ventura harbor which was where we caught Island Packers for a trip to Santa Cruz island. Check-in was prompt, with all our requests acknowledged, the room spacious and comfortable. The TV even had a game console. Breakfast was good - the attendant friendly and helpful. The rooms are located in a separate building from the check-in and require a room key for access - this is good. We like the location, the service, and the price. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalZooGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear SoCalZooGal:
We thank you for your participation in Trip Advisor reviews and for your great comments, it looks like you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your trip to the Islands. There is much more to do around the area, so looking forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

While Oxnard as a city is a little scruffy and rough around the edges, this hotel is a jewel. The exterior looks a little dated, so we were nervous about how the condition of the room might be, but all the interior spaces were clean and in good condition. The room was spacious and comfortable. The balcony with table and chairs has not just a view of the harbor; it is practically on top of it. The included hot breakfast makes this place an incredible value. With our AAA discount, we scored a harbor view room with an additional pull-out sofa bed over a weekend for around $275, which is a great deal.

Room Tip: The harbor side rooms are approximately $10 more. Do yourself a favor and spend the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0lacan0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello lOlacanOla:
What a nice overview of our property you described, we thank you for taking the time and sharing with others your experience at our water front property. It seems you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, SC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a nice Hampton Inn right on the harbor. You can book your room with a view and enjoy the sunsets and the boats going in and out. There is a sidewalk and a park right next door. The continental breakfast was pretty much the standard fare, although the eggs did not look like real eggs. The waffles were quite good. Just do the waffles and forget the fake looking eggs. They had a nice pool that we did not use.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemson80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Clemson80:
The whole team at the Channel Islands Hampton Inn appreciates you taking the time to write this nice review, it seems you not only enjoyed your stay but the great view from your marina view balcony. We look forward to your visit to our property next time you are in the area.
Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
3.2 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Oxnard Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Address: 3231 Peninsula Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oxnard
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor Hotel Oxnard
Hampton Inn Oxnard
Oxnard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing