We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in early April. We had an upper, harbourview room and everything was as expected. The requested fridge and microwave were both in our room. Room was clean, spacious and well appointed. I really enjoyed the balcony overlooking the marina. It was a lovely spot to enjoy morning coffee.

The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient. Check-in and check-out went smoothly. The breakfast staff were so warm, friendly and welcoming. We almost felt like we were friends visiting for breakfast. Food was very good, lots of options and selections changed each day. Very good coffee which often is not the case in other locations.

The only weakness,and it was a small one was that the internet was very slow on the complimentary computer. THis location did not have the well ppointed business centre that some Hampton locations have...however, I suspect that they don't cater to business travellers as much as pleasure travellers. The computer was sufficient for checking email and basic stuff.

Room Tip: Check out the little pizza place down the street. It was Friday night and the place was crazy busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Faith R:
I want to thank you for taking the time and writing your review that will hopefully help other travelers make their choices when planning their getaways. I'm pleased to see how you enjoyed your stay and the details of your review. I apologize for the business center computer being slower, and as you said, it is for the basics like checking your e-mail or printing boarding passes, etc.
I hope to see you back at our property very soon, while in the Channel Islands area.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    252
    75
    20
    11
See reviews for
223
326
47
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Get a harbor-view room; it's worth the small extra cost. The rooms are large, even with king-size bed. It's nice to have the shower in sepaarate closed door with wash basin/closet/dressing room in alcove separate from the bedroom. Good, simple wifi. Wide selection of hot and cold in free breakfast. Pleasant ambiance and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dick99000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Dick99000:
We do appreciate your review, concise, simple and to the point... we love it! You are not too far away and now that you know where we are we hope to see you back in the near future.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent our 33 yr. anniversary at the hotel this weekend. The staff is very friendly, the room was clean, and the view of the marina was lovely. It was very quiet outside, even though we were on the first floor near the park and next to the walkway where people and dogs frequently pass by. The weather was cold so perhaps there were not many out this weekend. I would recommend the 2nd or 3rd floor for a better view.

The duvet and comforter were laughable - it had been washed (which is good) but the duvet was shaped like dozens of tennis balls were inside of it, it was totally lumpy and unappealing to look at. Under the duvet it felt fine but the look of it was totally off-putting. The maids were very jolly but also extremely loud - I was trying to nap and they were laughing and carrying on, banging walls and making more noise than a bunch of kids. The room key wouldn't work for my husband to go in and out of the sections of the hotel, and it happened to other people there as well. Also the floor of the bathtub creaked loudly whenever one took a step on it, probably needs reinforcing.

This being said, it was a nice hotel. They do call with a message the first night asking if all was okay. I would have preferred a written survey as I was hesitant to call and complain about the noisy maids - what if they were upset by my complaint and it was reflected in our room upkeep? I would stay there again but on an upper floor.

Room Tip: Book an upper floor on the marina side for more privacy and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Vera KB:
I want to thank you first for sharing your experience with other travelers, it seems you enjoy your stay overall. I want to apologize for the noise from the housekeeping ladies, it is great they are all happy but I can understand how it will disrupt the fact that sometimes even in the middle of the day, our guests might be napping or would like some quiet time. I will also discuss the duvet condition with the supervisor to avoid this situation in the future. While it might seem too early to know when you get the call from the front desk to see if everything is alright someone is at the desk 24 hrs and will be happy to take care of any concerns you might have. I hope to see you back soon while in the area, and please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.
Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We happened on this hotel. It turned out to be a real find if you are ever in the area. Very nice room, nice few of the marina, next to a park. The staff was absolutely wonderful! They could not have been anymore helpful or accommodating. The price was reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Pat:

I will pass along to the team your great comments not only about the property but our staff, we all strive to give the best service possible. I noticed you stayed with us last October... hope you can visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were traveling from the Midwest to attend a family event in Oxnard and needed an economical place to stay. I have nothing against the Hampton Inn chain, but at the price -- $119/night for a weekend stay -- I was afraid it would be one of the more rundown Hamptons. We were pleasantly surprised by the condition of this Hampton an the location was wonderful. Our room had a harbor view, the interior was quite pleasant, clean and spacious. Staff were friendly and efficient, even though the place was packed for Easter weekend. Only complaint is that the plumbing was quite loud -- if guests in an adjacent room were taking a shower, the plumbing kicked into high gear noise-wise. Other than that, we had a lovely 2-night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbor View, it’s lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Alexis B:
I'm glad you enjoy your stay during your visit to the area the past Easter weekend. We do appreciate your comments and while with a busy property you might experience more noise than usual it looks like you had a great stay. Now that you know where we are, we hope you visit us again in the near future.
All the best
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great hotel, great service, a welcome feeling followed by great quality for the money overall. And always that legendary breakfast where the selection offered helps for a great start of your day. Located in a very quiet area of town, by the harbor, the location is great for families or people looking to be away from the buzz.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Francois98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Francois98:

I want to thank you for the nice comments and ratings of our hotel, our team works very hard to give the best service possible and to make your stay most enjoyable. We definitely hope to be able to accommodate your needs next time you are in the Channel Islands Harbor area.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Check In was smooth and staff were friendly; The hallway carpet though was badly stained and noticeably patched. Room was clean enough & fortunately there were no loud parties in adjacent rooms but if there were, it would have been a tough to sleep. Had a view of the marina which was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Raul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Hampton Traveler:
Thank you for reviewing our facility to share with others, everyone is really busy now a days and we do appreciate you taking the time to do so. I'm sorry about the stains in the carpet you saw, we do schedule regular maintenance through out the property though but will get together with the proper departments to revise this particular issue. We are glad you enjoyed your marina view room and hope you visit us again while in the Channel Islands Harbor area in the near future.
Respectfully,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
3.2 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Address: 3231 Peninsula Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Family Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Business Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor Hotel Oxnard
Hampton Inn Oxnard
Oxnard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing