We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a typical Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco bay area, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“a typical Hampton”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Clean, well kept, nice breakfast, great for travelers and business folks...just like all Hampton's I've been to. Just a warning though...if between Memorial Day and Labor Day either pay for a harbor view or try to ignore the noise from the pool. And the ground level floor rooms could easily be access by anyone hopping a short fence...and the rooms are on a public walkway along the harbor. It didn't seem very safe especially since you cannot gain access through the doors into the hotel without a room key. I'd use extra precauctions (don't leave the balcony doors open, lock the doors and don't open to 'just anyone')

Room Tip: Harbor side would be quieter, ask for room NOT on the ground floor. Also the elevators are in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniecat1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear anniecat1242:
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are able to share your thoughts. You're right during the holidays with a lot of people around the promenade it can get a bit noisy othewise it is very quiet here since we are in the Peninsula. The reason to have the building access with a key is actually for security reasons so that especially in the afternoon until housekeeping gets to the property those entrance doors are locked. We also have a security officer around the property through out the night. Again, I do appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back next time you stay with us.
Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    249
    72
    20
    11
See reviews for
215
317
44
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I were up here in Oxnard last weekend. We were invited to a Naval retirement ceremony for a family friend. It also happened to be our five year anniversary. We decided (last minute) to come up a day early, since we're from San Diego, and had a 3 hour drive. We made the reservations the DAY OF check in, no problems what-so-ever. The front desk clerk was very helpful with things to do for the weekend. They even had it in their notes that it was our anniversary and said congratulations (sneaky hubby!). We had a room on the 3rd floor facing the Marina...beautiful view. So quiet, and wonderful. The parking was fine, great service. Excellent restaurants in the marina area. Very, very clean room. The hotel staff even left a hand written posted note on the bed that the duvet was freshly clean (That kind of seemed weird to me, because I thought they (hotels in general) cleaned them with every visit, but maybe I've been wrong all these years??) Anyhoo, the complimentary breakfast was good for me. Waffles, scrambled eggs, oatmeal, cold cereal, bagels, muffins, danishes ect... the coffee was piping hot...which I LOVE..we enjoyed our coffee out on our balcony both mornings. I hardly saw a soul around it was so quiet. Overall, if we have to come to Oxnard again, I'd say this is the only place we'll stay. The only negative thing I have to mention is the refrigerator in the room...it kind of did this grinding noise once or twice a night, didn't really bother me, but did wake me up. Since we didn't have anything in the fridge I just unplugged it after the first night and that was that...no biggie)

Room Tip: Marina view is a must...3rd floor if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello Erika:
Thank you so much for your nice review and comments about our property and team members, we are all so glad you enjoyed the time you spent with us and we were able to meet your expectations. As a Brand Standard we do place the Duvet notes in the headboards as a reminder to the guest that we "do change them every single time" . I hope you had a wonderful visit and anniversary and hope to see you back soon while in the area.
All the best,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am a Hampton fan. I stay at one whenever I'm traveling and there is one available so I would have rated this property a Very Good if not for the awful bath towels. I can't believe they are Hilton standard. Thin and small is what they are.

Aside from the useless towels it was a nice place. Great grounds that back up to a lovely marina. The breakfast was typical and the front desk people I encountered were efficient if not a little aloof.

I think I would search out another Hampton in the area and avoid this one in the future.

Room Tip: I was in 109. Pool view king and I paid around $129
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobZAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear BobZ:
I want to thank you for taking the time to review our property; I do want to apologize for the issue with the towels, we follow Brand standards when purchasing all of our linens and have already discuss this issue with the department supervisor to avoid any future situations since this was probably unnoticed in the room inspection. If you are in the area in the future and will give us the opportunity to host your needs again, please feel free to contact me directly so that I can better assist you.
Respectfully,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno,California
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hotel is very nice. It is close to everything. Both my wife and I had a GREAT time. Weather was perfect and we couldn't ask for better service from hotel staff. The park next door hads to the location. Great for picnics and a quick stroll.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMCOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear AMCOM:
We appreciate your nice input and sharing your experience at our property with other travelers, we will love to see you back while in the Channel Islands Harbor area in the near future.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have been staying here now for the past four years. Our daughter is now a senior at the nearby Cal State University Channel Islands. There are closer Hampton Inns to the college, but by staying here on the harbor, only 15-20 minutes away, we have a little "mini-vacation!" (Plus the price is the same!) My husband has multiple sclerosis and uses a wheelchair, so we always have stayed in one of their ADA rooms overlooking the harbor. The bedroom and bathroom are spacious and easy to manuever around in a wheelchair, plus it is wonderful to still have the balcony to use and enjoy the view of the harbor. The breakfast seems to be a little better than most Hampton Inns (and Patty always welcomes us with a hug and a smile!). One of the ADA rooms has a couch with a pull-out bed (which is nice if you have a child or an extra person). If you ask (especially in advance), you can have a mini-fridge and a microwave put in the room. There is a pizza place nearby that delivers to the hotel - perfect to eat on the balcony with your bottle of wine or chilled beer. A couple of the ADA rooms (320 and 220) are quite close to the ice machines and elevators and can be a little louder than the other ADA rooms, but usually everything quiets down not too late in the evening. There's a great little park next to the hotel that you can walk to (or roll to!), plus on summer weekends there are late afternoon/early evening concerts in the park that you can enjoy from your balcony with your own beverages/snacks. This a wonderful hotel with great views, a warm and helpful staff, and a very reasonable (low) cost! We highly recommend this Hampton Inn!

Room Tip: ADA rooms 320 and 220 are close to the elevators and to the ice machines which can be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4forFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear 4Forfun:
What a great review of our property, service, rooms and surroundings! We thank you so much for taking the time and sharing with other travelers looking for places to stay in the area. We do appreciate you coming back each time you visit your daughter and like you said... making it a mini vacation at the same time. We really hope to see you and your husband back really soon.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything I can assist you with.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my fourth stay at this hotel and it was again great. The staff was friendly and helpful with several solid recommendations for dining and wine tasting.

The room was clean and comfortable, nad the staff always had a smile and were looking for ways to help

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogre1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Ogre 1969:
It's great to hear you enjoy yourself each time you're at the property, we do our best to ensure you have a pleasant and comfortable stay as well as give you information for dining and entertaining around the area. We do appreciate you coming back and hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I make it a point to stay at this particular Hampton Inn. The staff from front desk to food service to maintenance and housekeeping are all very pleasant and go out of their way to make you feel at home and to show you the local establishments for recreation. Of particular note is Patty, who makes the early morning breakfast such a great way to start the day!

Room Tip: Upper level - marina side are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonparkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Parkhouse:
It's great to hear you enjoy coming to our property each time you're in the area. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share with others and the nice comments, especially about Patty in the breakfast area, which we will pass on to her.
We hope to see you back soon while in the Channel Islands Harbor area in the near future.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn
8.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Address: 3231 Peninsula Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor Hotel Oxnard
Hampton Inn Oxnard
Oxnard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing