We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves more than 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My stays at Hampton Inns have been very satisfactory, especially in an era of hotel greed; I hope that their fair treatment of guests is covered by an umbrella corporate policy regardless of each hotel's particular ownership. I refer to the offer of useful complimentary services such as breakfast (a great convenience when on the run), internet access, parking, even a simple reception three evenings a week. This is in direct contrast to the narrow-mindedness of some hotels that now have the gall to charge their "guests" parking and other irritating fees, as if one uses their parking facility to go shopping in town. I have also appreciated their NO PETS policy that saves you from barking dogs waking you up in the middle of the night. As a result, I exhaust the availability of Hampton Inns in an area before I stay at another hotel these days.

Going back to this particular hotel, it deserves more than five stars; everything was even more Hampton-Excellent than as described above. Its superb location on the waterfront coupled with its textbook, ideal management made this Hampton stand out. The fact that its General Manager Patty Tewes spends a significant part of her time visually and physically checking the hotel's operation explains the hotel's excellent service and exceptional staff. Ms. Tewes also stopped my wife and me in the lobby and asked us how we were doing. I was surprised shortly after check-in to receive a call from front office employee Airelle asking if my wife and I were satisfied with our room, and indeed we were. Another thing that stood out was the unusually rich breakfast buffet cared for by a lady called Vi, who constantly went around picking up used tableware and asking guests if they needed anything.

Unless you plan to spend only a utilitarian night, say, for business, I strongly recommend that you pay the not very significant extra charge for a room with Full Marina View, not simply with a partial view, because the view from such a room can compete with the view from any tropical resort. In short, in addition to other uses, this hotel's location and service make it ideal for a honeymoon or for a romantic, relaxed getaway.

Room Tip: Room with full marina view on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Patrick35:
It was our pleasure to have you and your family spend time at our property while visiting friends in the area, we do appreciate your kind comments which will be shared with the Team, they'll be happy to hear since I know they remember your visit.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and looking forward to your next visit.
All the best,
Patty Tewes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 885 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

A very clean & quiet hotel located on Peninsula Road in the heart of Channel Islands harbor.
Positives:

- Waterfront rooms with balconies
- Remodeled, clean, nicely decorated rooms
- Located next to Peninsula Park
- Swimming pool
- Great coastal climate
- Very safe-feeling location
- Quiet
- Continental breakfast included
- Free Internet access

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hombresg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Hombresg33:
We thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience in Trip Advisor. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and hopefully the activities, restaurants, etc that the Channel Islands have to offer.
We look forward to host your needs in a near future.
Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hasving read some of the reviews I was quite worried but I should not have been. Lots of Hamptons are on the side of freeways etc but this was on the marina in the best area of town. We had a great room overlooking the marina and the room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable.
The staff were charming and all their recommendations for places to eat at were spot on.

I would happily stay there again. The team did very well indeed.

Room Tip: go for Marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stadders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear stadders1:
It is great to see that this reviews do help travelers make their decisions while visiting certain areas. We are so glad you stayed with us thank you for your kind comments. Hoping to see you back soon while in the Channel Islands Harbor area.
All the best,
Patty Tewes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Every summer my husband and I try to escape the Florida heat, and fly to the Calif. coast for some cool weather and fun. We have never stayed in Oxnard, and needed a place to stay for one night. Using Trip Advisor as my guide(as usual) I chose the Hampton Inn. After one night in Santa Barbara, we visited Lotusland, then lesuirely drove south, arriving at the hotel on a late, cool August afternoon. Our room was on the second floor, and had a cute little balcony, where we sat drinking wine while watching a gorgeous sunset over the channel, which was filled with all sizes and shapes of boats.
The pool area is next to the parking lot, and there was a large group of rowdy "20 something" year olds yelling and being obnoxious( pool area) when we were checking in. Fortunately they were not staying near our room, and we did not see them again. The parking area is on the street side of the property.
The room itself was very nice-nothing special, but clean and just fine for one night. The AC stayed on continuously, not cycling on & off, and we had a very sound sleep.
The breakfast buffet is in the main building where the "front desk" is. They have the basic type food that all hotels of this genre have- scrambled eggs, breads, small yogurts, apples or bananas, etc... There is ample room to sit, and there is a fireplace and small couch arrangement in that room. Also they have one computer on a table for guests to use.
The area around this hotel has older buildings, and the massive apartment complex right across the street needs to be bulldozed and rebuilt ! The huge hotel at the end of the road is empty, and it looks like something you'd see in Tijuana.There is however a huge pizza place on the other corner with a nice deck outside on the waterway. Maybe this entire area will be rennovated soon so it will be more of a destination spot. The view from our room however was perfect, and the only time the "run down" buildings were noticable was when we went for a long walk.
Houses on the waterways on the other side of the bridge are very nice, and it was fun to drive to the beach and "check out" the newer homes. If you are just staying in the Oxnard area for a few days, The Hampton would be the perfect place to stay!
We ate dinner at "The Italian Job Cafe", on the other side of the waterway, and it was fabulous!(see my review) I have even recommended this restaurant to friends who live in nearby Ventura and Thousand Oaks.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a water view room-very much worth it! Also, request a room on the second or third floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geezerhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear geezerhippie:
This is a great and detailed review from your stay at our property. It looks like you enjoy the time you spent with us especially in your balcony enjoying the view as well as the area, restaurants, etc. There is some places that need a facelift but in general the area is growing so maybe we'll be seeing these changes in a near future.
Again, thank you so much for your comments and will look forward to your next visit if in the area.
All the best,
Patty Tewes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We traditionally stay at Hampton Inns. From initial check in to final departure, this particular Hampton Inn stands out as the 'best of the best' ever encountered. Superb, helpful, cheerful staff; rooms impeccably clean and appointed. Stay was capped off by the best breakfast service ever encountered in any Hampton Inn. Quality of food exceptional. Hostess genunely interested in making sure nothing was over looked.

An exceptional, exteremely well managed and supervised hotel.
AMP

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaBeachPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Virginia Beach Pilot:
Thank you very much again for your nice comments, I personally as well as the whole Team appreciate you sharing with others your experience while staying at our Channel Islands Harbor property. We really look forward to your next visit while in the area.
All the best
Patty Tewes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We researched hotels in Oxnard in advance of our travel and the reviews and description led us to believe this was a good option and the hotel for us. How wrong we were. On arrival, having driven for 10 hours, we were welcomed (sorry said hello to) by a receptionist who was disappointed we had interrupted her phone texting. We were shown a map twice of how to get to our room which led us to believe we had to drive through a large complex - er no, just 6 spaces! We went to our room and found it dull, dirty, stained curtains and chair and later found had bbq sauce on the remote control - a room that was supposed to be clean! We needed to eat so on the way out we mentioned this with the receptionist who told us that if we werent satisfied with our room (and we had booked an 8 night stay) she would be happy to check us out - no customer service and she knew we had travelled for 10 hours and had no where else to stay! We were eventually after a long debate moved to another room that was cleaner but still very dated in decor. Breakfast was limited and staff didnt seem interested. This was such a contrast to an earlier stay in Hampton Inn in Grand Junction which was very good. In the morning we spoke with the manager who listened to our complaint about the receptionist but was more supportive of her staff than us as customers. We went out and found another hotel and came back to check out. The manager wasnt bothered that we were checking out and they were losing 8 nights business. When I mentioned I didnt think we should pay the full night price at first offered a $30 discount. After clearing our room, we went back to the reception desk to hand in our keys and my husband pointed out that the Hampton Inn has a policy of if you are not satisfied, you dont pay! It is publicised on the reception desk, but unless you ask about it....and you experience a similar problem here, you wont get it! The receptionist had to go and ask the manager (who had now disappeared) if she could do this and the manager wouldnt even come out to apologise - they did however give us the full refund. As for the views, yes they are lovely views of the harbour (if you get one of those rooms - but you have to book one as we did) or you get a view of car park or very average small pool - which I have to say had dirty towels when we arrived in the evening, which were still there 15 hours later at mid-day. If you want a motel style accommodation and dont mind about the decor, and have a bit of a view, then you might want to stay....but we wont be back. A very disappointing Hampton Inn!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBKB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Mr. and Mrs. JBKB1:
Thank you for sharing a review about your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I wanted to apologize one more time for the experience you had while checking in at the property a couple of weeks ago. As I told you at the front desk after your breakfast and we discuss what had happened I can assure you again that unfriendly staff is not typical at our hotel in neither the front desk or breakfast areas. I understand that the appearance of your room was a concern, and I discussed with the supervisors on the different depts involved inmediately after our conversation so we could correct the issues you mentioned. Your feedback is very important to us, as it lets us know what we need to work on. Satisfaction Guaranteed is our brand promise and we take this comments very seriously.
Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any other questions or concerns.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, with no expectations, but was very happy with this hotel. They do everything they can to make you happy. Our air conditioner wasnt blowing out cool air, so I called to the front desk, and told them. They asked how long we would be out of our room, before coming back for the day. I gave them a 4 hour window, and was so surprised when we returned, we had a brand new air conditioner, blowing out nice cool air. We slept great that night. Was pleasantly surprised that they wash the duvetts on the bed eveyday, along with the sheets. Had a good breakfast, with a very sweet, pleasant girl who puts out the food. It has a pool, that they say is 85 degrees. This is a very nice hotel, because they really try to make you happy. The location was a little out of the way, but it was worth it.

Room Tip: If yiu want to eat the breakfast in your room, take the tray thats under the coffee machine in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Nansky:
It's great to hear about your experience while you stay at our property and that even though sometimes things happen we were able to fix your issue with the AC right away. We do appreciate your business and your comments and hope to see you back at our Hampton Inn Channel Islands very soon.
Patty Tewes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Address: 3231 Peninsula Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range: $153 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor Hotel Oxnard
Hampton Inn Oxnard
Oxnard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing