We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Have stayed in the Oxnard area many times but usually further inland and most hotels are fairly basic but this one was a nice surprise.

Nice large modern comfortable rooms, Property was clean with easy access to Oxnard area. Would stay here again

Only problem was electronic key failed a couple times and had to get it replaced but that was just a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Mario:
We at the Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor appreciate your comments and time to write the nice review you did for us. We really hope you stay with us on your next visit to the area.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    248
    71
    20
    11
See reviews for
212
317
44
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel deserves all the previous positive ratings on Tripadvisor.

The location is in the middle of a pleasure boat marina, away from highways, noisy roads and shopping malls. Quiet, secluded and relaxing. Rooms are spacious and very well maintained. Service is attentive and polite. Breakfast is very satisfying. Rates are reasonable. What is not to like?

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank PortTownsendJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Port Townsend Josh:
A quick note to thank you for sharing your experience at our property with others, and for your kind words, we hope that next time your in the area for business or pleasure, you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Level Contributor
244 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife, my son, and I stayed two nights here to facilitate a trip to Channel Islands National Park. We were pleasantly surprised but the spacious room (I recommend the deluxe room). After a week in other hotel rooms we were delighted to have a little extra space to spread out and relax. The entire property is well kept and the staff helpful and friendly.

Being near the harbor was great; a park with playground is located next door which our son thoroughly enjoyed. Island Packers tours leave from the pier nearly straight across the harbor which was convenient.

My only complaint would be that the hall outside our room was consistently very cold due to the location of two air vents but this was only a minor annoyance.

The room price was also quite reasonable for the area. I would certainly recommend this location to anyone in the area.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms (on the ends of the hotel) are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Nathatt:
I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at our property, it seems that you took advantage of our location to program some trips to the islands and explore the surroundings. We all appreciate you taking the time to write this review and look forward to see you again in the near future.
All the best
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Nice standard Hampton Inn room - got a room facing the Habour (what a view).
A little bit pricy but worth it due to the location.

Great breakfast and spacoius eatingroom.
Poolarea was okay and heated.

Peninsula Road and are is very very nice.
I recommend the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Anders:
It looks like you came a long way to the Channel Islands Harbor, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. Hope to see you again soon in your next visit to California.
Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on our recent spring break trip. We had a harbor/marina view room. Loved the view and the sunsets! The rooms are clean with a nice size bathroom. Breakfast is well done, and they change it up a little each morning. The pool was heated, which was great because my kids love to swim even if it is chilly outside temperature, which it was during most of our stay. Great location to explore the Channel Islands (even though our trip out there got canceled due to rough seas), and the Santa Barbara area is only 30 miles away. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms are definitely worth the little bit of extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svwyo5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear svwyo5150:
We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at our property and for taking the time to write this nice review. Unfortunately sometimes due to weather conditions certain plans can change, but we all hope that you visit us again and try that trip to the islands in a near future.
All the best
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

All of the little things are in place here that put this place over the top. Super friendly staff and experience, harbor view rooms are really beautiful, and breakfast is very nicely done. In fact, the oatmeal is the best I have ever had. Rooms are really clean, no funky smells anywhere, pool is heated.

Room Tip: Definitely get harbor view! Get dinner at TOPPERS, but go early, and sit upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Mike:
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our property as well as our oatmeal in the morning. We all hope to host your needs again in the near future while in the Channel Islands Area.
Sincerely,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel is located in the "just right" location. We had the marina view hotel with one king bed. The rooms are not out of this world. Then again, you wouldn't expect that from a Hampton Inn. Our expectations were met. The room, the restroom, the patio were all very clean! The buffet breakfast is obviously very limited. The eggs seemed to be powder. But it was not too bad. Overall, I was satisfied. If you're passing by and need a quick one night stop, I would recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billynbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear billynbirdy:
We all appreciate your note in the Tripadvisor since we recognize everyone is very busy now a days but this comments will probably be helpful and appreciated by other travelers. We do have some limitations as a limited service property but are glad that you enjoyed your one nighter and hope to see you again while in the Channel Islands Harbor again.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn
8.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
4.4 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Address: 3231 Peninsula Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor Hotel Oxnard
Hampton Inn Oxnard
Oxnard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing