We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Loved the View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay here last weekend. Wished we could have stayed longer. One night was not enough. Clean well equipped room. Friendly staff. Continental breakfast was about as good as one can expect. Was kept well stocked and had good options. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We only wished there had been a spa. We will differently return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 878 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and I use to stay at Casa (which we LOVED) but since it's closing we stay at the Hampton and love it also. The view is wonderful, grounds immaculate, staff very friendly and accommodating since we usually arrive a few hours early before check-in, beds are very comfortable. During the summer the park next door has Concerts by the sea which is a lot of fun. We've had their breakfast a few times and it's pretty good. Sunday's the farmers market is awesome. Internet is a tad slow but with a view of the harbor who wants to be on the internet anyways. Put work and facebook aside...enjoy the view! Also if you're a seafood nut like we are check out H.C. Seafood & Co.
on the corner of Victoria and Channel Islands Blvd. Killer crab steamed and brought to your table with clarified butter. Also really GREAT fish and chips. Yum!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bottomsupranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband purposed to me at Casa Serena,, Then I believe the Hampton took over? We come every year for our Anniversary and request the same room....I believe it to be such a hidden jewel...We just returned from the Caymans for my 50th b-day....As Heavenly as it was...We have the blessings of paradise in our own backyard! First of all the staff so very helpful and pleasant..The rooms are immaculant in cleanliness.. And the marina view rooms are beyond heaven...Saturdays they have concerts in the park you can watch from your balcony and on Sundays a large farmers market! We love to take walks along the harbor..and the variety of restaurants will amaze you! Our personal favorite Sea Fresh! # 1 is Oysters Rockefeller.....we love seafood and this place was just as said..."Sea Fresh" It is a very Romantic getaway......as well, very family friendly....they have a little park for the kids and sidewalks for riding bikes...I would definitly recomend it for a family get away!....We will be there next Friday and Saturday and can not wait=) Dont forget to ask about their Romance Package<3 A very nice Bonus!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We needed a place to stay overnight while visiting friends in Oxnard and found this little gem. The front desk staff were cheery and helpful and the room/bathroom were clean and relatively large as compared to other Hampton Inns we have stayed in. A big plus was our balcony overlooking the marina which was great for the views and morning coffee. A very good experience and we will be back.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank swages01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Dear Swages01:
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are glad you found us and your stay was enjoyable, hope to be able to host your needs when in the area again.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here only one night, July 15, 2011. The hotel is in a great location near everything and the harbor view was spectacular! The room was clean and nice. The hotel web site lists they have a coin laundry but there was not one. The front desk staff was so helpful and located a laundry facility we could use. We used the pool that night and it was clean and warm. Parking was ample and security was good. We took a day sail to to the Channel Islands on the 16th so this hotel was a great place to stay the night before out sail.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two queen beds balcony room. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctwaternut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Hotel was perfect. Friendly, clean, helpful. Breakfast was great. Spring for the Marina view and you will feel like you an on a real vacation, even if you are just passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 360LuLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Dear Loretta:
Thank you for your nice comments, we appreciate you taking the time to do this and of course happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to host your needs in the future while in the Channel Islands area.
All the best,
Patty Tewes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I took a quick trip to Ventura and booked this place at the last minute. Considering the surrounding hotels, this one is very affordable. It's located right on the Harbor, so you may have a balcony overlooking the water. A decent breakfast is served: waffles, eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, and fruit. There are a few shops and restaurants walking distance to check out. However, the best tourist shopping area is at the Ventura Harbor Village, which is just about 10 minutes away. It's very pet friendly too (Harbor, not hotel).

if you want to take a long walk on the beach, you'll have to drive a few minutes toward the Mandalay Embassy Suites area to enjoy the it. In the morning, we drove through town, grabbed Starbuck's coffee, and strolled along the beach before we left town. Overall, this is a very relaxing place to stay, and to enjoy the local area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank TravelLover322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2011

Dear Travel Lover:
Just a quick notice to thank you for your taking the time to write about your experience when staying with us. We do appreciate your notes and look forward to hosting your needs in a near future.
All the Best,
Patty Tewes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
3.2 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Address: 3231 Peninsula Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range: $150 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor Hotel Oxnard
Hampton Inn Oxnard
Oxnard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing