We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"We love this Hotel... and return every year"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Orcutt, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"We love this Hotel... and return every year"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband purposed to me at Casa Serena,, Then I believe the Hampton took over? We come every year for our Anniversary and request the same room....I believe it to be such a hidden jewel...We just returned from the Caymans for my 50th b-day....As Heavenly as it was...We have the blessings of paradise in our own backyard! First of all the staff so very helpful and pleasant..The rooms are immaculant in cleanliness.. And the marina view rooms are beyond heaven...Saturdays they have concerts in the park you can watch from your balcony and on Sundays a large farmers market! We love to take walks along the harbor..and the variety of restaurants will amaze you! Our personal favorite Sea Fresh! # 1 is Oysters Rockefeller.....we love seafood and this place was just as said..."Sea Fresh" It is a very Romantic getaway......as well, very family friendly....they have a little park for the kids and sidewalks for riding bikes...I would definitly recomend it for a family get away!....We will be there next Friday and Saturday and can not wait=) Dont forget to ask about their Romance Package<3 A very nice Bonus!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    248
    71
    20
    11
See reviews for
212
317
44
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We needed a place to stay overnight while visiting friends in Oxnard and found this little gem. The front desk staff were cheery and helpful and the room/bathroom were clean and relatively large as compared to other Hampton Inns we have stayed in. A big plus was our balcony overlooking the marina which was great for the views and morning coffee. A very good experience and we will be back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank swages01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Swages01:
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are glad you found us and your stay was enjoyable, hope to be able to host your needs when in the area again.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carloina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here only one night, July 15, 2011. The hotel is in a great location near everything and the harbor view was spectacular! The room was clean and nice. The hotel web site lists they have a coin laundry but there was not one. The front desk staff was so helpful and located a laundry facility we could use. We used the pool that night and it was clean and warm. Parking was ample and security was good. We took a day sail to to the Channel Islands on the 16th so this hotel was a great place to stay the night before out sail.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two queen beds balcony room. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctwaternut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Hotel was perfect. Friendly, clean, helpful. Breakfast was great. Spring for the Marina view and you will feel like you an on a real vacation, even if you are just passing through.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loretta360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Loretta:
Thank you for your nice comments, we appreciate you taking the time to do this and of course happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to host your needs in the future while in the Channel Islands area.
All the best,
Patty Tewes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I took a quick trip to Ventura and booked this place at the last minute. Considering the surrounding hotels, this one is very affordable. It's located right on the Harbor, so you may have a balcony overlooking the water. A decent breakfast is served: waffles, eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, and fruit. There are a few shops and restaurants walking distance to check out. However, the best tourist shopping area is at the Ventura Harbor Village, which is just about 10 minutes away. It's very pet friendly too (Harbor, not hotel).

if you want to take a long walk on the beach, you'll have to drive a few minutes toward the Mandalay Embassy Suites area to enjoy the it. In the morning, we drove through town, grabbed Starbuck's coffee, and strolled along the beach before we left town. Overall, this is a very relaxing place to stay, and to enjoy the local area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLover322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear Travel Lover:
Just a quick notice to thank you for your taking the time to write about your experience when staying with us. We do appreciate your notes and look forward to hosting your needs in a near future.
All the Best,
Patty Tewes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This property was very clean, and the service people were helpful enough. But a number of little things nagged at me. There was no folding luggage rack in the room. The deadbolt on the room door caught when you closed the door, and you had to be careful that the door was entirely shut. But, most annoying, the in-room internet connection was painfully slow. To test the connection, I downloaded Speakeasy to my laptop and measured the download speed in the room. It was .14 Mbps. That's not far off dial-up download speed. Unacceptable.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jackcatscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattyTewes, General Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Dear guest:
First I want to thank you for taking the time to write down your thoughts about your stay last week. Sometimes the only way to fix some issues is to hear about them. We are working with Hilton directly on the internet access situation and hope to resolve it promptly. I do apologize for the slow connection and hope that you will give us another opportunity to host your needs when in this area in the future.
Best Regards,
Patty Tewes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed here for the Camarillo Shopping - pleasantly surprised.

Great room - plenty of space, nice view, friendly staff - just what most hotels should aspire to.

This is one of those places that have the really awful Waffle breakfast things - how can you call that food? let alone Breakfast. I still give it an overall of 5 stars. By this stage we considered any place with Breakfast included wasn't going to be offering anything decent for Breakfast - and maybe Americans are use to this sort of thing for Breakfast?

Its a bit out of the way (from Camarillo), but worth the little drive.

The pizza place down the road is great for a Beer, Pizza & sports on TV.

This place deserves a high rating.

Room Tip: Waterfront please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoreLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaAGM, Manager at Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear guest;

We always welcome our visitor's comments and I appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we did !!
Hilton works hard to improve all services, including breakfast items. We are sure next time you come to visit you'll enjoy some new yummy food.

Great hearing from you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn
8.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
4.4 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Address: 3231 Peninsula Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor Hotel Oxnard
Hampton Inn Oxnard
Oxnard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing