We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aggravating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I have just returned from a two night stay. Was pleasantly surprised when a room was ready even though we had arrived early. Room was boring but looked clean except for some stains on the carpet and dubious covers. Then discovered there was no remote or way to turn on the t.v. Called front desk and soon a remote was brought. Then discovered the radio did not work. Called front desk and they brought another radio. Then tried to take a bath and discovered there was no plug in the tub. Called front desk and eventually a plug was brought. (I am now out $6 for tips to the various people bringing in the items). Ate in the room to ho-hum food. No sugar at the coffee bar for my evening cup of tea. No bar or meals in the hotel other than breakfast and an overpriced "pantry" area at the front desk. The waitress/waiter at breakfast were very nice. Location is easy to get to from Highway 101. Otherwise, this is not a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleurbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 632 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2007

Thanx to Tripadvisor reviews I booked this Hotel for a weekend we were attending a wedding in Santa Barbara Rooms were quiet and seemed new even though I was told they have been open for two years. Love the Sleep # beds Highly recomend

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travel50well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

Unfortunately this was one of the most unpleasant hotel stays we have ever had and certainly not something we would expect from a brand such as Hilton.

When we reserved the room online we had specifically requested a non-smoking room since we have two small boys. The hotel did not have any non-smoking rooms when we arrived and rather than apologizing for this oversight the receptionist very rudely told us that we could either take the room or leave it. I guess we should have left because things only got worse!

Since we were driving up from LA we had specifically inquired with the hotel about how long room service would be available. We were told that we could avail of the same till 10:00 pm. So as soon as we checked into our room we called room service right away (at 9:30) and ordered a couple of things from the menu. Nothing complicated – just a salad and pasta. We were told that our order would arrive in a half hour.

At 10:30 pm when no food had still arrived we called room service again. We were routed to the front desk. They informed us that the kitchen had closed and everyone had left. So what happened to our order?? We had two hungry kids on our hands and no places near by that late to get a meal. We simply could not believe that Room Service would take our order and simply disappear. I asked to speak to the manager. The receptionist told me that there was no Manager on duty and wouldn’t be until the next morning.

At this point I asked the person to simply send us some milk. The next morning we packed up and left the hotel as soon as we could. As you can imagine in the future I will never stay at this Hilton again especially if I have my family with me.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank apuzinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

Stayed here with the family for a local softball tournament weekend in early June. In short, there is nothing wrong with the hotel for what it HAS, just for what it doesn't have. It is a new, clean, comfortable, quiet hotel. The staff is friendly. The breakfast buffet is reasonably priced and very good. Only minor complaint is very noisy pipes when turning on sink in bathroom (it practically screamed).

The hotel served us well for our needs (a place to sleep and eat breakfast essentially). Just be aware that this hotel has limited eating hours (til noon on weekends) and limited room service hours (evening). There is no concierge, a very tiny business center, no place to get a good mixed alcoholic drink (margarita, etc) and it's in the middle of nowhere. There is no store on site, just a tiny improvised snack center (candy, sodas, travel size aspirin, etc) you can buy from the front desk staff. The pool was taken over by screaming kids from our team, which would annoy me if my step-daughter wasn't on the team. I recommend going to the Ventura Harbor Village (shops, restaurants) for some entertainment and a nice view of the ocean/boats (about 5 miles away).

Stayed: June 2007
Thank lozaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

This facility really came through. I needed a hotel in a pinch and found this property. Caught the restaurant just as they were closing and they prepared an excellent meal complete will all the fixins'. The room is comfortable and clean with all the amenities including a refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable. I agree that the location is somewhat confusing and challenging to find but it is off the freeway and obvious to see.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank coastalbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

Located just off the freeway, the room was nice with 'fridge, and the amenities of the free business and fitness centers were
helpful. Missing was the free continental breakfast offered
by other hotels of this class, although there was an onsite
resturaunt offering a reasonably prices breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

this is a great hotel. nice large , clean & comfortable rooms. friendly staff , good facilities and a nice pool. it's location isnt great so i suppose it best suited to travellors as it is right beside the highway and there isnt that much in oxnard. my family enjoyed our brief stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter&Juli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxnard hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Oxnard Ventura
2.8 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo

Address: 2000 Solar Dr, Oxnard, CA 93036-2694
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxnard
#2 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range: $112 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Oxnard/Camarillo hotel located between Camarillo and Oxnard, just 40 miles south of Santa Barbara. Enjoy a central location within walking distance to shops and restaurants, and minutes from Oxnard and Ventura beaches. For great dining and entertainment opportunities, consider a night out in downtown Ventura, just 20 minutes away. The hotel is convenient to Point Mugu, Port Hueneme, and Ventura military bases. Enjoy easy access to Highway 101 at the Rice Avenue Exit in Oxnard. Oxnard Airport and Camarillo Airport are just 15 minutes away. The famous outlets in Camarillo are 10 miles away. Experience complimentary services at this convenient Oxnard hotel including a 24-hour Business Center, fitness center, and swimming pool. Dine on American classics for breakfast and dinner at the Great American Grill(R). For meetings and events, the hotel offers over 1,878 sq. ft. of function space. Stay connected throughout your stay with complimentary WiFi and secure remote printing through PrinterOn(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Oxnard/Camarillo Hotel Oxnard
Hilton Oxnard
Oxnard Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing