We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Farmers Market” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channel Islands Harbor

Channel Islands Harbor
Ranked #2 of 40 things to do in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Neighbor to the scenic Channel Islands, Channel Islands Harbor is a working harbor that offers fun-filled water activities for the whole family. About an hour's drive north from Los Angeles, the Harbor features several beach-lined parks and coastline for picnics and surfing, as well as nearby biking and walking paths. While at the Harbor, visit our many shops and dine at one of several restaurants with menus ranging from deli sandwiches to Brazilian cuisine. Be sure to check out the Channel Islands Maritime Museum with its ever-changing exhibitions, world-class maritime art, and ship models.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love the Farmers Market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Every time we are in Oxnard I always try and go to the Farmers Market on Sundays. They have a large selection of fruits, vegetables and even fresh caught fish right from the dock.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyj356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    56
    12
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carpinteria, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tall sail ship adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

The harbor is just beautiful. Such a great atmosphere, clean, friendly people - we will definitely be going back. When we went, we went on the tall sails ship "The Bill of Rights". It was outstanding. We even got to help raise the sails. The proceeds go to a good cause, which we didn't know until we were on the boat. After sailing, we stopped in a little sandwich shop for lunch, which was so-so, but the owner was as nice as he could be. Love this harbor. :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carpacabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard
Level Contributor
223 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Gaost town”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

owned and operated by the supervisor of Ventura county. the worst land lords in history. this is a beautiful location, not next to a sewer treatment plant like venture harbor. still no one can make a go of it because of the poor management. operations are spotty and may be closed the next day. major chains have closed up rather than do business with the supervisors. What a waste of a beautiful location.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank steve and lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Better than Marina del Rey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We hadn't been here in several years and were very pleasantly surprised to see how nicely kept the area is now. Busy area but easy to get around without the huge LA crowds. Good old Ventura County!

Helpful?
1 Thank LauraJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Abundance of activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I love the farmers market on Sundays! The taco stand, live music and sunshine always start my day off right!

I've enjoyed the Lookout Bar & Grill late night with friends.

I've had amazing pasta and authentic Italian desserts at the Italian Job.

I've enjoyed breakfast with my dog on the patio at Sea Fresh Restaurant.

I've crammed into Topper's Pizza on a weeknight and felt like it was the only restaurant in town because it was so crowded.

I took a Segway ride around Marine Emporium Landing.

I've savored a sunset harbor cruise aboard the Scarlett Belle paddlewheeler and a sunset ocean cruise on the Tall Ship, Bill of Rights.

I look forward to taking a kayaking harbor tour, seeing the Maritime Museum, playing volleyball with a beer outside the Rudder Room, seeing a play in the park when I have kids... There is so much to do, I need to find the time to enjoy it all!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank longbrdpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Channel Islands Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Channel Islands Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing