We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Gen Korean BBQ

Gen Korean BBQ
Ranked #18 of 305 Restaurants in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Nice Place”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

a lot of choices. The environment is modern and clean. the service was great. the only problem was the waiting time too long.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Korean all you can eat BBQ”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

the location was great! food was great too! best if you go there early because then you will get superb service. If the place becomes busy, then service becomes slow. the downfall is that, you still have to cook your food which takes about 15-20 minutes. try cutting the meat in small pieces so it cooks faster. if the first batch is almost done, make sure you place your next order so that while you're eating the first batch, then you're cooking the second batch as well. Servings are small so make sure you double your order. Anything with bulgogi is really good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomama_Fosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting concept”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I were just okay with this restaurant. The service was outstanding but the food was just okay. Cooking your own food over a grill doesn't always yield great results. I'd rather pay that much to have my food cooked for me as we had mixed results.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGA57GAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great fun, great value, good food”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Finally was able to find a parking space near Gen Korean BBQ. Very bad setup in The Collection off the 101 i Oxnard. Was going to give up after not being able to park on two previous visits. A big negative to any restaurant in this new center.

Beautiful interior space, outstanding service and very good Korean BBQ. Menu has over 20 choices of meats that you grill yourself on a small BBQ grate set in your table. Most were very very good. the sides to accompany the meal were all very good. Very little sauce was needed since the meats all came well seasoned before cooking.

The shrimp was completely au natural so peeling a hot hot shrimp off the BBQ was messy and unwieldy so I wouldn't order it again. The sirloin steak was tough but the other beef, pork and chicken dishes were exceptionally tender and delicious. The calimari turned out to be three baby octopus (interesting since octopus was NOT on the menu). All in all, a lot of fun to experience, experiment and enjoy.

Our service was attentive, informative and outstanding.

Would like to come back more often but parking is a huge problem in this new center. Handicap parking is impossible which will eliminate many people with mobility problems.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foosh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura, ca
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

There is a grill in the middle of the table. The food you order is delivered raw and you all get to cook your meal on the grill. Unlimited servings of chicken shrimp and steak.

Lots of help from the attentive, helpful, friendly servers.

Wonderful food, cooked to perfection (yourself) and a fun experience. I highly recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerryVentura_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gen Korean BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Gen Korean BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing