We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood”
Review of Fishermen's Catch

Fishermen's Catch
Ranked #15 of 305 Restaurants in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The specials are listed right when you walk in the door. Excellent tasting and yet inexpensive seafood. You order like at a fast food joint, and sit down with a number on your table. They bring the food out to you - in a very timely manner. It is more or less "fast" food that isn't fast food. Rather, it was extraordinary fresh seafood. I had the crab cakes. My friend ordered the fish tacos. The meal came - and it wasn't just 2 or 3 small crab cakes, but it was an actual meal. Definitely check this place out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johngannonlasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    19
    7
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great seafood!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This restaurant is located in a shopping center with numerous other shops. The food was great. If you get the chance have the grilled red snapper! It was out of this world. The clam chowder was a perfect size and tasted amazing. If you are in Oxnard and want great seafood at a reasonable price, you have to try this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Since this was the #1 rated restaurant in Oxnard, I thought it would be really good. However, I thought the fish was gross. At least my meal was. I ordered a special they had, the salmon burrito. It was mostly fishy-tasting rice with a bit of salmon in it. We also ordered some halibut, which was okay but nothing special. Although the service was fast, the food just didn't live up to what I expected. If you want quality seafood, the best place to go in Oxnard is H.C. Seafood near Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teenagetraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Hidden in a strip mall. Great find for fresh seafood. Ordered at a counter and sat outside with nice views of the next door yacht club. Fish was hot and cooked perfectly. Great spot for a casual lunch. Inexpensive for the quantity and quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdk326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Who Needs a Fast Food Joint When There's Fisherman's Catch!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I love the food here! I'm a local and come here about twice a week. I often get the Mahi fish tacos special, usually two for about 6 bucks including drink. Huge portion, fresh taste and fast service. Why go to the golden arches or other fast food? I like to pick up and eat at home - I order, wait about 5 minutes and bingo! Lovely fresh food, fast.

My husband likes the clam chowder and often gets a fish sandwich with whatever fresh catch they're offering.

Pick up some food to go, turn left on Wooley towards the beach. Park on Mandalay Beach Rd (free, plentiful) walk across the sand and enjoy the beach and great food.
Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ehbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fishermen's Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing