We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disconnect and relax in Oxnard, CA!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Channel Island Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We traveled from Oceanside to Oxnard on Amtrak to join the rest of our family for a mini-getaway. I was pleasantly surprised! I felt like I was transported to the eastern seaboard. The sand dunes and tall grass was something I’d never seen along the west coast. The beach was the largest and most vast beach I've seen in a long time. We live just 4 miles from the beach in the Carlsbad and our beaches didn't compare to the size or cleanliness of Oxnard Shores. Our children range from 3-7 and they loved the public play structure on the beach sand. Our first morning there we witnessed a baby seal being released back into the ocean while my brother-in-law surfed. The resort is 150 steps to the beach sand nestled among amazing multi-million dollar homes. The resort was set back just enough to allow you to disconnect from our busy lives. Just a few blocks away, on the beach, we had a picnic at the best public park. Our spacious accommodations felt like home, with our own Jacuzzi and BBQ grill on our back patio! We can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: Our rooms were located near the checkin office facing each other with a small courtyard in between a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlsbadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hi carlsbadgirl,
We're thrilled we could host you while visiting family here at Channel Island Shores. There's plenty of beach around us to enjoy and we hope you had a chance to check them out. We're sure watching the baby seal was pretty amazing as well. Even though you're just a few hours away, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 129 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at this property in March and had an amazing time. The resort itself is small, but the rooms are spacious and have everything you could need. The beach is amazing and right outside the gate- the kids loved the playground on the beach and the huge park down the street. They also had a great time climbing the sand dunes while we enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. The individual jacuzzis are a nice touch! The resort is in a gorgeous neighborhood and its fun to just walk around and look at the beach houses. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacationforme2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hi vacationforme2008,
We're thrilled you had an amazing time with us here at Channel Island Shores. There's plenty to do and the beach is just moments away. We're so glad your children had fun playing on the playground. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This resort has such beautiful views, so close to a quiet, peaceful beach and just minutes from the harbor. I got to enjoy the jacuzzi tub on the balcony of my room while sipping wine and listening to the waves crash under the stars. Doesn't get much better than that. Aside from that, the rooms are spacious, had a washer/dryer and are very clean. The staff is so wonderful and obviously genuinely care about the resort and the guests. I'll be back next month!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaNixole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hi AmandaNixole,
We're so glad we could welcome you to beautiful Channel Island Shores. There's tons of peace and quiet to be enjoyed, as well as relaxing in the jacuzzi. We are looking forward to your return next month. See you then!

Kind Regards,

Jennifer Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband, daughter and I spent a delightful weekend recently at your resort. I have relatives in Santa Barbara and Goleta and have driven from San Diego north to visit them many times. Besides a quick exit on Rose for Costco, I had never spent any time in Oxnard. From the minute we pulled up to the Channel Island Shores, we were in love.
The rooms were ridiculously spacious and clean. We had two bedrooms upstairs each with their own ensuite. The kitchen was generously sized and well stocked. The hot tub was a wonderful touch and we did enjoy using it!
The front office staff gave us a tip on a restaurant that we visited for Saturday morning breakfast. The food was delicious with generous portions and excellent service.
The beach was pristine and not at all crowded and parking was painless and well thought out.
All in all, a wonderful experience. You'll be seeing us again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Hi Cindee S,
We're delighted to have hosted you and your family at Channel Island Shores while visiting your relatives. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and relaxing in the hot tub. Our staff is always ready to give our guests helpful tips on restaurants and shops to visit. We're happy you had a great time and look forward to your return!


Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very close to a lightly used beach that has beautiful views and surfing waves, with lots of sand and a childrens play area.
This is a timeshare complex, so all units are condos, but well appointed and comfortable with lots of free parking, even covered if preferred. We love it!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1 bdrm upstairs unit that faced the beach and had ocean views, including from our hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was an RCI timeshare exchange for us and, to be honest, we were a little reluctant to try Oxnard. What could it possibly have to offer? As it turns out, plenty! This is a small complex, the inventory shows 25 total units in 5 buildings and it is located steps from the beach. This part of Oxnard is on the Channel Island Beach front, a point that juts out into the ocean a bit. Building #5 has some peek-a-boo views of the beach from the upper floors (we stayed in building #5 and got a kitchen window peek).

The amenities include: free internet (decent speed), a free washer and dryer in each building (bring your own detergent as you cannot buy it in a coin-op on-site machine), 6' square nice fiberglass spa on your deck (each unit has their own), and a fully equipped kitchen. Note: bring your own shampoo as this is not an amenity that is provided (the shower dispenser holds shower gel, not shampoo). The bedroom is generously sized and holds a king-size bed. The bathroom counters have a retro, fun small tile (think Craftsman influence) and easily holds all the supplies needed. Nice propane bbq on your deck, too. Lighter for the BBQ is in the lower kitchen drawer).

You can easily walk to the harbor (1 and 1/3 miles) and there are so very many activities to explore there. Go to www.marineemporiumlanding.com for an index of all the businesses. You can find out about the super Farmer's Market on Sundays 10 a.m. to 2 p..m. (fresh fish from boats available too) and you can also explore the water activities by going to the websites listed at the Marine Emporium Landing website.

There's a cute little beach park grouping of play equipment just out the door and by the beach and a much bigger play equipment choice at the huge Oxnard Park located between this timeshare and the Embassy Suites compound (it is a biggie!), which you can walk by on your way to the harbor. So many fun things going on there: kites being flown, volleyball games in progress, many exercise classes in progress, you name it and you can probably find it here.

Negatives, there are a few. Building #5 backs on another complex's pool and you do hear the equipment run almost constantly and then there are the cheerful (but loud) children's voices up until 10 p.m.when the pool is supposed to close. Those little shrieking voices do carry! (Think nails on a blackboard). There is no fitness center and no pool (each unit has their own spa outside on the deck).

This complex looks like it may have been an apartment complex at one time and was converted to a timeshare condo. Given the generous size of the kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, and the number of closets, in our experience this is not something we usually found in our past timeshare exchanges. There is also assigned carport and parking spaces for each unit.

Very homey, free popcorn in the office, lots of books to take, games, movies, and brochures for local things to do. Include a trip to Ojai and to Camarillo Outlet Mall for a change of pace. This is not an easy place to find, the signage is almost non-existant. This development is smack-dab in the middle of a large condo community so looking for this needle in a haystack will be challenging.

Room Tip: Ask for another building besides building #5 as the pool and equipment for another complex is right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIVacations, Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you had such a pleasant stay here at Channel Island Shores. Next to the beach and nestled between two harbors, guests are often quite surprised at what a great find we are. I want to also like to thank you for the suggestion of the website. I believe that guests will find the site to be very informative. I would like to suggest to guests that they follow your advice and take the stroll down to the Oxnard harbor for the Farmer’s Market or to Mrs. Olson’s Coffee Hut for breakfast.

Hope you plan a return trip soon.

Resort Manager
Channel Island Shores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We just got back from a lovely week at CIS. We had a huge unit, kitchen well stocked, clean and modern. Our unit had two bedrooms each with California Kings, plus a hide a bed downstairs. There was plenty of free parking and we were very close to the beach. There is a large park nearby and after a few days of observing the area we felt fairly safe letting our kids scooter around. Our unit had a nice hot tub , washer/dryer and private grill. I do wish beach towels were included as we slightly suffered the whole week. We also think hooks out on the patio would help with drying our swimsuits and beach items. (It was a rough week of, Beach, Hot Tub, Beach, Hot Tub-poor me!) The office was very helpful to suggest great restaurants and activities. We loved Fisherman's Catch, the food was GREAT. Hook Burger was good as well. We also took a day cruise to Santa Cruz Island. Lot's of fun. There is alot to do in Oxnard when you do your reseach. The Harbor Farmer's Market was a great morning, live music, fresh seafood, tamales, produce and fish tacos. The Heritage Square Farmer's Market was not as good. Several parts of the town smell like strawberries- can't beat that. Life was good at at Channel Island Shores and we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottsdaleSlinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

ScottsdaleSlinky,
Very happy to hear you had a wonderful time here at Channel Island Shores. We seem to be California’s best kept secret. Ventura County is an amazing area. Lots of places to go and things to do. We have the Ventura County Fair “Rides, Ribbons & Rodeos” coming this August 1-12. Always a great time!

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our shores.

Resort Manager
Channel Island Shores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
4.8 mi away
Courtyard Oxnard Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Island Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Island Shores

Address: 1311 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-1965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Oxnard
Price Range: $187 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Channel Island Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Island Shores is located half a block from the beach and with views of the Channel Islands, this charming resort with a beach house feel is within steps of white, sandy beaches and refreshing ocean surf. Please note that air conditioning is not offered at this property. Please note there is a USD 15.00 daily resort fee due at booking which includes internet, parking, and phone calls. Please note the resort does not provide extra beds/cots or cribs, however guests may bring a crib. Weekly housekeeping is available; we do not have daily housekeeping. Please contact the resort prior to 6pm if arriving after hours and you will be provided with a lockbox code and parking instructions. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the resort. We look forward to hosting you! Guests must be 18 years of age or older with a valid ID and credit card to book and check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Channel Island Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Island Shores Hotel Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing