We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Channel Island Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in march 2011 while visiting California. It looked OK on the Internet and had very good reviews. First of all - the location is too far away from the city - LA - it took about an hour and the half to get there from the airport. Second - it is located near the beach, but it is really too cold in March and winds are strong, so if you do not want to freeze to death look somewhere else.
Pros:
- Clean rooms with jacuzzi
- full kitchen

Cons:
- rooms are a bit outdated
- location is not ideal if you want to visit city
- check-in time at 16.00 and check-out at 10.00 AM - and they are very firm about that though I am not sure they really need this anyway

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex_jonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 127 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2011

We were visiting a friend who lives in Oxnard, but also made day trips to LA, Santa Barbara, Malibu, Santa Monica, and Venice. Ventura is only a couple miles down the road. Our unit was half a block from the beach. For the 2 of us the unit was huge. We had a 1 bedroom unit that slept 6. The pullout couch downstairs, a loft upstairs and a bedroom upstairs gives plenty of room for sleeping. The private hot tub on the deck just for our use was awesome! Full kitchen allowed us to prepare meals and a bbq grill is on the deck for each unit's use. Very quiet at night. Not much dining and nightlife in the area, but a short drive away

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

These apartments are great value for money The Hot tub was a real boon after the long journey from the UK. There was everything you could wish for to selfcater for a family or a group of freinds. There are lots of things to doin the area and the beach is just on your doorstep, plenty of good places to eat and takeaways nearby. Breakfast, coffee are available from reception complimentry. Keys and instructions leftin a late box and a code is given if you arrive after 6pm.
Definantly want to return for a longer visit. Itsjust about30minutes to Santa Barbara at a third of the price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaystant21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

This location is an easy half day's drive from Sequoia National Park, and it was great to arrive to friendly reception, answers to all our questions, and then a lovely unit. Plenty of space, spotlessly clean, well-equipped with everything we need plus the bonus of a large deck with a hot tub for just us. The sandy beach that goes on forever is less than 100 metres from our door, and we loved the long walks every morning. Oxnard is a lovely seashore town that feels like a small town along the coast, but has all the amenities of a large town. Although we'd never heard of it before, we'd definitely come back here again, both to the town and to Channel Island Shores!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimber55ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Channel Island Shores' friendly staff offer a library of free videos, books, board games & afternoon popcorn. There's free covered parking next to the 2-story condos; ours was upstairs, with a gas bbq and spa on our balcony. Free shared laundry rm was downstairs. Excellent bed, kitchen. Some living-rm furniture and bath fixtures were worn, but very clean. Stairs, no elevator. Neighborhood's quiet; the impossibly-wide white beach, a few steps away, is silky-soft, great for kids. There are swings and a small play area. No tidepools, but we walked for miles on firm sand beside waves that never got overwhelming, even in a storm. Large, lovely Oxnard Beach Park a short walk away includes lawns, benches, grassy sand dunes, volleyball courts. A mile or so away there are public beaches less sheltered by the islands, where waves rise higher for surfers and kitesurfing (those wild people hitched to a board and a colorful crescent kite). February weather varied from still, sunny 60's to wild, stormy 40's. Near the resort, we were often the only people on the sand as far as we could see.

There's a beautiful harbor full of sparkling-clean sailboats and yachts, with excellent restaurants nearby. Delicious, generous servings of breakfast fare at casual, cheerful Mrs. Olson's Coffee Hut; quietly classy Whale's Tail has delectable chowder, etc plus huge view windows looking across harbor lined with hundreds of spotless yachts and sailboats; we watched them float in & out. Yolanda's Mexican Cafe is pretty, serves good Sonoran food. Besides lunchtime pizza buffet, the friendly, attractive Me-N-Ed's Pizza serves huge, fresh-bread calzones bursting with savory fillings, has sports-channel TV's but wasn't noisy -especially outside on the patio!

Our all-day boat trip to lushly-green Anacapa (one of the Channel Islands) on Island Packers' boat was delightful. [They also offer shorter whale-watching trips in season, and rides to farther, larger islands.] Staff are cheerful, informative, unobtrusive; the boat pauses for photos of dolphin, whale, huge sunfish. A classful of school kids went with us and made a lively passage, with squeals of joy at our dolphin travel buddies, but the kids were kept busy on the island clearing non-native plants. Teachers and volunteer guides kept them in good order. Bring your own food, water; they drop you off for 5 hrs or overnight. Stairs are STEEP up from Anacapa's dock. In summer you can snorkel in sparkling-clear water; we walked trails, & sat peacefully to absorb incredible views. The island gets little rain, so is less green in summer, but still lovely. We were warned that nesting gulls in April are noisy, defensive, messy and fascinating. In Feb, they were quietly picking nesting spots.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Riparians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Could park on street right outside reception (parking also available at rear of property). Check in was quick and very friendly. Unit was really well equipped and appointed (eg nightlights, washing up liquid, table set for dinner). Friendly check out. Great breakfast at Mrs Olsen's Coffee Hut, a short drive away. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emissary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

It's just a stone's throw from the sand of the beach. It is a very cool beach too. This is not Malibu, Newport, or Santa Monica. It's a very quiet, beachy area with no businesses nearby. The beach is wide and vast and when I went in November, almost nobody was there. There is a very nice and huge park just a short walk away. I was most struck by the huge Acapaca Island just off the shore, about ten miles away, I think. I squinted and could see the lighthouse of the island. A pal and I spent most of our time just bicycling around the area. Then we went to Ventura, Ojai, and Santa Barbara--all close by except Ojai is a little bit of a climb into the hills, but it was my favorite place to go in the area. I really enjoyed Oxnard's farmers market on Sunday morning.
I stayed in a one bedroom unit. I was adequate in size, but it reads like the two bedroom units are very spacious. All I need to cook was in the kitchen. The management had just put in new beds and furnishings which look costly thought this timeshare is fairly modest. I'm not terribly demanding about the unit where I travel, location comes first to me, I just like them clean, not cramp, a view is a big plus (my unit didn't have much of a view), a pull out couch for guests, and having a full kitchen. People who work there are very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojave19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Hueneme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Island Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Island Shores

Address: 1311 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-1965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Oxnard
Price Range: $178 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Channel Island Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Island Shores is located half a block from the beach and with views of the Channel Islands, this charming resort with a beach house feel is within steps of white, sandy beaches and refreshing ocean surf. Please note that air conditioning is not offered at this property. Please note there is a USD 15.00 daily resort fee due at booking which includes internet, parking, and phone calls. Please note the resort does not provide extra beds/cots or cribs, however guests may bring a crib. Weekly housekeeping is available; we do not have daily housekeeping. Please contact the resort prior to 6pm if arriving after hours and you will be provided with a lockbox code and parking instructions. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the resort. We look forward to hosting you! Guests must be 18 years of age or older with a valid ID and credit card to book and check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Channel Island Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Island Shores Hotel Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing