We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable morning on the water!”

Channel Islands Whale Watching
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The whale watching trip took us out to the Santa Cruz, one of the Channel Islands. It was a great day and we saw lots of dolphins, birds, but no whales. The crew were friendly and the captain was very knowledgeable about the history and what we were seeing, very good narrative.
The snacks were a bit unimaginative, and I wouldn't call it a 'breakfast' by any stretch, but it was ok..
Recommend taking a jacket, hat and sunscreen!

1  Thank rainey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Owner at Channel Islands Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2016

Thanks for taking the time to review your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great trip"
in 3 reviews
"channel islands"
in 9 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 2 reviews
"humpbacks"
in 9 reviews
"ranger"
in 7 reviews
"hundreds"
in 4 reviews
"passengers"
in 5 reviews
"sunscreen"
in 4 reviews
"gray"
in 3 reviews
"captain"
in 11 reviews
"boat"
in 27 reviews
"wildlife"
in 4 reviews
"ocean"
in 5 reviews
"motion"
in 2 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Sea lions, sea birds, mola mola, dolphins by the hundreds, and humpback whales. What more do you need.

1  Thank Carolshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Owner at Channel Islands Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2016

Teeming with life! Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been out several times with Channel Islands whale watch. A great group of people. You can see whales dolphin ans seals. The bird live off of Anacapa island is really nice to see as well. I have seen blue whales, humpbacks.

2  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Owner at Channel Islands Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2016

Thanks Tracey. Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A Super Pod was what we were told. A super pod of some of Nature's most incredible creatures. Add to that thousands of dolphins, slipping through the water at incredible speed and frolicking at the sides and all around the boat and you have a day filled with incredible adventure.
My husband and I had joined a cousin and her spouse for a day on the ocean to watch for whales. We were treated to a great show. The whales came out of the water and on jumped and then disappeared. A short time later a great fin broke the surface and seemed to wave to those of us on the boat who stood at the rail absolutely entranced by what we were seeing.
The captain of our ship told us that even some of his people, on their day off, had come to join the group on the boat to have a chance to enjoy the stunning display.
In between the whales and the dolphins, we took the time to go close to one of the islands that most of the time is shrouded in mist when looked at from the shore. There were many pelicans who watched from the shore of the island as we sailed by in the afternoon sunshine. The day was clear with not a cloud in the sky and the air was brisk. Be sure to take a jacket or heavy windbreaker because once out on the ocean the breeze is stiff and it gets cold.
I was enchanted and the trip only made me want more time to explore the other island options that were available. Maybe next year.

Thank Hannibaldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Owner at Channel Islands Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2016

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We took a "seafari" cruise with CIWW expecting to see whales, its in the middle of Blue Whale season and we hoped to see one of those gentle giants. Touted as a wildlife tour, we did see birds, common Dolphins, and some Bottlenose Dolphins but that was pretty much it. There was no mention of whales, and we realized too late that this tour was not oriented towards that type of animal sighting. We did go to Anacapa Island, the closest Channel Island to Oxnard's Channel Isle Harbor, and we were able to see the dramatic caves and cliffs, as well as the large population of Cormorants, Seagulls, and Cranes. The ship was fine, there were only 40 people on board so there was space but if this ship were full, we would have had to fight for viewing space.

They served a continental breakfast (we took the 9am excursion) which consisted of cakes and sweets, coffee and that is it. If you wanted something else, you had to pay for it. The bathrooms were clean but out of TP and I had to ask for it. The boat ride was pleasant enough, we hit some currants going out, but coming back was very smooth.

The kids who were narrating this boat ride were not terribly educated, they made some mistakes and shared some mis-information which bugged me as a teacher. Also, the narration was very short and for most of the ride we were on our own. We bought this with a groupon, so it was $75 for two of us so we did not feel ripped off but if we had paid full price ($160 pp) I would have been upset. The moral of this story is, get the groupon if you want to take this tour!!

Thank Amelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Channel Islands Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Channel Islands Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing