We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Baby Beach Baby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Oxnard Ventura
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We loved our visit Ventura and our stay at the Courtyard. We were very close to the beach and the Ventura Pier. The price was reasonable and the rooms were clean. We will come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miamigirl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie G, General Manager at Courtyard Oxnard Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you Miamigirl1969 for your excellent and very good scores for our hotel, as well as sharing your experience. Our location makes exploring our area very convenient with our access to the 101 and proximity to the beaches. It is such a compliment to hear that you will be visiting us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 286 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel, though in a nice location and priced well, committed the number one offence that can be committed. They woke me up about 4:00 AM. In my opinion, a hotel has one main function beyond the ability to allow me conduct and prepare for business. That function is to provide sleep for its patrons, me. That’s it, sleep. Courtyard Oxnard/Ventura managed to create such a ruckus trying to “slide” my bill under my door that I was awakened, and stayed that way from 4:00 AM. Not good. I recently stayed at a Springhill Suites in Athens, GA and found that they placed the bill in a nice bag on the door knob. I am assuming they took this path to insure that issues such as the 4:00 AM billing incident do not occur at their hotel. That said, I’ll place Courtyard Oxnard/Ventura on my do not stay list, as the unforgivable sin has been committed. As I previously mentioned, the hotel is located and priced well. It has plenty of good food around, looks to have a nice pool, and is close to the freeway. The bathroom was in a below average state of affairs but all in all, for $130 I’ve had worse stays.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that has a big gap under the door so they don’t have to force feed a bill t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerenityTrugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie G, General Manager at Courtyard Oxnard Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Please allow me to extend a sincere apololgy for your experience at the Courtyard Oxnard. Guest privacy is important to us which is why folios are slid under the door so that they are not available to others to intercept. However, with your feedback we will be able to address your concern and tailor our procedures so that our guests to do not experience any inconvenience. Thank you for your contribution and providing us this opportunity to learn from our mistakes. Please do not hesitate to let me know if there is anything further I can do to demonstrate my apology, we look forward to a future opportunity to host your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed at this hotel on a Marriott Rewards stay for two nights while touring around the Pacific Coast Highway. The rooms were standard as would be expected at most Courtyards. Everything was clean and well attended to. The lobby was large and very comfortable. The noise from Highway 101 was audible intermittently, but what do you expect when you're staying at a hotel right next to a major freeway? The only real irritation was that I presented a different card at check-in for incidentals than the card I used to hold the room. The person at check-in managed to both holds for incidentals on both cards and they took about a week to fall off.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coirishalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie G, General Manager at Courtyard Oxnard Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Thank you for your review of Courtyard Oxnard. I am very sorry to hear about the error made upon check-in, I will certainly be sure to review this and share your feedback with our staff. We also appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel's cleanliness and comfort; we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please keep us in mind for future visit's to California's Strawberry Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was a nicer Courtyard than most. Room was a little outdated, however it was big. Lobby was nice with the standard market and a bar. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie G, General Manager at Courtyard Oxnard Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

We certainly appreciate your review of our Courtyard and are extremely pleased to hear that you ranked our hotel as being nicer than most. It is encouraging for us the hear that our guests would choose our hotel when they return to our area, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Nothing special about this hotel. It did live up to what you would expect from Marriott. No complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach_Bum_5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie G, General Manager at Courtyard Oxnard Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you for the Excellent Score for cleanliness and Very Good Scores for Service, Value and Rooms. We are very happy to hear that you received a good night's sleep! It is important to have your expectations met, we hope in the future you'll give us another opportunity to show you what makes us special. Many of our guest's feel it's that personal touch and service that sets us apart. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We got a good deal online at Venere. The Hotel itself was great as was the staff BUT the Hotel is 1,200 ft from RR tracks & though our room faced away from the RR tracks, you still heard the train whoo-hooing until midnight. Highway 101 was only 200 ft away & in a normal hotel, it might not be a problem but this is California, where I have yet to see a hotel with double paned insulated windows, or one that has a seal that keeps out air & sound. Sure enough, you could poke your finger from one side of the window seal to the outside...when the window was closed, so fresh air in early Nov. was kinda ok, but the Swooshing highway traffic might have done us in if we hadn't come prepared with a white noise maker (that we travel with). Unfortunately nothing covers up a train giving it's warning as it passes a crossing ! Did I mention the airplanes at 6 am ? I don't think there are commercial flights going out of the Oxnard airport (2 miles away) or the Camrillo Airport (4 miles away) ..so I guess what we heard were crop planes...but having been kept up till midnight by the trains, being woken up by the "Red Baron" at 6am was rude and scary. On the plus side the beds were VERY comfy. On the weird side, there was a large wood coffee/microwave cart sticking out from the wall at the end of the bed between the bed & the bathroom...what the heck, that's gonna hurt when you go trying to find the bathroom with the lights out ! Because there was a wedding & a birthday bash going on(on main floor), we were given a room on the 6th floor...we didn't hear the Mariachi band that went till ? But we did see lots of women in tight 2 inch skirts & 10 inch heels, staggering around the hotel lobby & parking lot at night. The next morning we saw g-strings & handfulls of feathers everywhere...we even saw a man wandering toward toward lobby in only boxers & a feather boa the next morning at breakfast time. Please note: there is NO free hotel shuttle to LAX...their website says hotel shuttle...to get a shuttle to LAX you have to get make arrangements outside of the hotel (we used Roadrunner)

Room Tip: a lower level room not facing the highway, or the RR ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethanyM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie G, General Manager at Courtyard Oxnard Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service, cleanliness and value you received during your stay with us at the Courtyard! I am sorry to hear that the train crossing, located about 1/4 mile from the hotel disturbed your stay. We certainly offer earplugs or a Sleepy Time Basket to create a more serene and relaxing sleep. Our lower floors recieve a more insulation from the noise as do our freeway side rooms with double pained windows for those that could be awoken by these noises.

Although it is not a standard, we have equipped all of our rooms with refrigerators and microwaves as an additional amenity for all of our guest rooms. While the placement is not our preferred location, it allows all appliances to function at the same time. The opposing wall contains the power for the flat screen tv and air conditioning and we would not want to overload the circuits.

We sincerely appreciate all of your feedback and look forward to the possibility of hosting your return to Oxnard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Was a bit concerned at first, since the hotel is right next to a freeway. However, our rooms were quiet, even though they were on the highway side. Good clean rooms, breakfast buffet, very convenient to Ventura retaurants, reasonable prices.....

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CbinBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie G, General Manager at Courtyard Oxnard Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you again for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Oxnard! We are always happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxnard hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Best Western Oxnard Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oxnard Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oxnard Ventura

Address: 600 E Esplanade Dr, Oxnard, CA 93036-2403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range: $131 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oxnard Ventura 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the premier hotels in Oxnard, CA – Courtyard Oxnard Ventura. Located between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara just off the 101 freeway along Southern California’s famous “Strawberry Coast,” our hotel is minutes from the Channel Islands Harbor & beaches. This Oxnard, CA hotel’s 166 spacious guest rooms and suites feature complimentary wireless Internet, 32” flat-screen HD TVs and room service. Our hotel’s guests have complimentary access to the on-site fitness center, 24-hour self-service business center and outdoor swimming pool & whirlpool. Our spacious meeting facilities offer more than 10,000 sq ft and accommodate groups from 10 to 500 guests, with state-of-the-art audiovisual services. Every morning, our Plaza Grill Restaurant offers a full American breakfast buffet. Our hotel’s Oxnard, California location is conveniently located close to beaches, golfing, shopping outlet malls, restaurants, wine tasting tours, whale watching, kayaking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Oxnard Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oxnard Ventura Hotel Oxnard
Oxnard Courtyard
Oxnard Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing