We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Day!”

Blue Ocean Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided Island Kayak tours of the Channel islands National Park ferry you out on a boat to the Channel Islands National Park and arrive at the Island Of Anacapa cove. A professional guide provides you a instructional briefing of kayaking and the guided route. We provide you the kayak and gear, you can bring bottled water and camera and wear swimwear or shorts bring sunscreen. You will kayak through caves and see seal and fish in the cove. Suitable for beginners and children over 9 years old. After a fun filled two hours we board the ferry boat and take you back home.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Day!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Blue Ocean Kayaking is the best! Our guide, GJ, was funny, knowledgeable, and personable. We saw dolphins on the way to Anacapa, plus many seals and sea lions, not to mention all the birds once we got there. It was so easy to step right from the boat into the kayak. The sea caves were amazing and we got to see so many of them. I recommend bringing some warm clothes to layer in, as it was a chilly boat ride out to the island. Once we got there the water was fairly calm and the day was overcast, so we remained comfortable the entire trip. We bought sandwiches from Latitude 34 Deli before we boarded the boat in the morning, and ate on the boat ride back to the marina. It was an amazing day and a wonderful trip and I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi_Anaheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A MUST TRIP”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Blue Ocean Kayaking was fantastic. From the very beginning of the tour to the end, they were so much fun. All the caves and adventures that goes along with it, Blue Ocean Kayaking was there to guide and inform you all the way. The trip was amazing and we would recommended them to everyone!! All the staffs was so friendly and great. GJ (the guide) was a pleasure to hang with for the day. We loved it!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Malinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I enjoyed each and every minute of my Blue Ocean Kayaking tour! It was so nice to be able to get into the kayaks right from the boat once we got to Anacapa. GJ led us into many sea caves plus we had plenty of time to just paddle and enjoy the Island and the wildlife. We saw so many birds and sea lions - and one harbor sea sort of followed us as we went. I can't think when I enjoyed myself so much!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great time!!!! Add to your bucket list!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were planning a trip to Santa Barbara originally but ended up in Oxnard since we got our hotel on points. Wanted to go Kayaking and looked up many trips from Santa Barbara but wanted to see if there were any in Oxnard and boy was I glad I did. This trip was amazing! The guide GJ was a pleasure and went above and beyond! (even retrieving my camera when it fell into the water in a cave ) bring a waterproof camera!!! lol The kayaking trip was so amazing and worked well for a beginner like me :) We saw dolphins on the way and seals galore while kayaking! Listening to the baby seals and seeing them swim around and under our kayak was amazing! The caves were awesome, small yet beautiful, and the Anacapa Arch!!!! WOW so amazing! The boat was so easy to get in and out of and a fridge was provided for our lunches to stay cool. We had an amazing time and I would highly recommend using this company as their staff was friendly and professional while also a fun to work with!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Katyoosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“One of the best outdoor adventures in Los Angeles”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This trip is one of my Top Ten favorite things to do in LA. It is a great adventure to paddle a kayak into a sea cave and under great stone arches. This place is majestic, beautiful, teeming with aquatic life and very very strange. In sum, it's a terrific adventure. If you are traveling to Los Angeles with kids, this is a much better way to spend a day than standing in line at Disneyland or Universal Studios. Also suitable for grownups of all ages.

There are many outfitters who will take you kayaking in the Channel Islands, but Blue Ocean Kayaking is the best for several reasons:

1) The crew is very friendly and helpful

2) The price is right

3) Best of all, their boat, the Sunfish, will take you directly to the spot where you begin kayaking. You put your kayak right in the water and you begin exploring immediately. The Sunfish follows along from a distance, and when you are done kayaking, you simply paddle over to the boat, and they pick up your kayak and you are done. This is different from all of the other companies. The other outfitters require you to haul you equipment onto a big ferry which disembarks at a pier, and then you need to carry the kayak over to the water. Worse, you need to double back when you are done and carry everything back onto the ferry boat.

What you will experience: incredible vistas that can only be seen from a boat. Floating just a few inches above the sea, your kayak will bob gently in the swell as you paddle through coves filled with sea birds, sea lions, and harbor seals. The sea below is crystal clear: you will see underwater kelp forests, fish and the occasional scuba diver. You will explore sea caves, some so narrow that you can touch both walls with your hands as you pass through. And you will paddle along the coastline behind the protection of rocks in narrow spaces that only a kayak will fit through. The trip ends as you paddle through the majestic arch at the very tip of Anacapa Island. It is breathtaking.

Everyone should experience this trip once at least.

Some logistics and info to help you prepare:

How long to drive there? The drive to Oxnard's Channel Island Harbor from Hollywood takes at least 70 minutes and maybe longer depending upon the time of day. If you are departing on the morning trip, you should plan to be on the road driving by 6:45 so that you arrive on time for the departure of the Sunfish.

What to wear: it can get very very cold when you are on the boat moving across the channel, especially in the morning. Low 60s temperature, but it felt colder because of the fog and wind in the early morning air. Leave your cotton clothing at home: the people wearing jeans and sweatshirts were miserable because the cotton clothing gets soaked and then you freeze. Better bet: bring a windproof shell and polar fleece. Layers are good because you will get warm as soon as you begin paddling. Quick dry sports TV shirt and board shorts are good for the boat. Also bring some sort of waterproof shoes (water shoes, river sandles) but not flip flops. You must wear shoes when you are on the kayak: if you need to step out of the kayak, you do not want to put your foot on the rocks without a shoe. The coral and shells are razor sharp.

What to bring: sunscreen, sunglasses, a camera (but put it in a waterproof bag or ziplock bag so it doesn't get wet), waterproof shoes, a towel, a change of clothes for afterwards, baseball hat is good for sun (it fits under the helmet), power bars, water, and lunch for after the trip.

Who's it for? This is a mildly athletic adventure for people who are willing to experience a strange and beautiful place that otherwise would never be seen. There were people of all ages on our trip: young couples, young families, older couples, some retirees. If you can ride a bike two miles you can kayak. No special skill required.

Is it dangerous? I don't think so, if you don't do anything dumb and follow instructions. You will be on the open sea in a very small craft, but the water is generally calm and weather is clear. Everybody wears a lifevest and helmet. The helmet is necessary because sometimes inside the sea caves the waves will lift the boat up, and your head might touch the ceiling.

How long is it? It takes about an hour on shore to get everyone organized and to teach them the basics of kayaking. Then it takes another hour to cross the channel by boat and reach the island. You will paddle for about 2.5 or 3 hours. Then it takes another hour to return. If you are on the morning trip, you can expect to depart from the pier around 8:30 or 9:00 and return to the dock at about 2:30 or 3:00 PM.

Single or tandem? I'd recommend the tandem if you are traveling in pairs. It's a good way to save money, but more important you can rest once in a while in a tandem. I noticed that the people in the single kayaks got fatigued much faster. Makes sense: if you are on a tandem, one person can paddle and steer while the other person relaxes or takes photos. On a single, you need to do all the work yourself, so you will never stop paddling for long. That said, nobody got so tired that they could not finish the excursion. It's just not that demanding.

Negatives: on our trip, it was unseasonably cold in mid July at 8:30 AM, so we were freezing on the way to the islands because we did not pack enough warm clothing. Also, the toilet on the ship broke during our trip, and that was a big bummer with 40 people on a 6 hour excursion. But those small inconveniences were not significant. Once you get into the kayak, you will be in heaven. It is thrilling and beautiful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Superplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Ocean Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing