We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and reasonably priced”
Review of Fishermen's Catch

Fishermen's Catch
Ranked #11 of 305 Restaurants in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fresh and reasonably priced”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Fresh seafood at good prices? What more can you ask for?

The owners are a fishing family that ship out several mornings a week. So the fish, crabs, shellfish are fresh. I ordered the sea bass filet and it's simply different than anything I've ever had before. You can really taste the difference. No-frills grilled fish filet, my sea bass was so good that I ordered a red snapper filet right after.

Casual atmosphere, a seafood gem with none of the fine dining nonsense.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brooklynzoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    48
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“FRESH!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Fisherman's catch has the freshest seafood I've had since I've been here on the west coast. Even as I was waiting for my food, the fresh catch had come in and you could see the guy preparing it in the back. Decent price too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dadbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Ventura County!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is one of the best seafood restaurants in Ventura County. The owners fish in the early morning (that's why they close at 8 pm) and all their fresh catch is served at the restaurant. You can get all kinds of seafood and it is cooked perfectly! Especially good is their clam chowder! Once you try it, you will come back. This is where all the locals in the know come for seafood!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The freshest seafood around and you don't have to have it fried or deep fried. They have already expanded because it is so popular. I go there for my fresh fish to cook at home too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karenfar93035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, in a glorified strip mall place.”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were really craving good shrimp and fish and this place definitely hit the spot. Nothing fancy., everything is served on the cheapest paper plates available to buy, but the fish was flaky inside and very crispy outside. The shrimp were huge!!! the fries were good too, but who had room for fries. They don't skimp on your portions at all which is good because it actually made the prices worth paying. We sat outside and ate. There is no view but it was a lovely day and eating outside on a lovely day is one of life's joys. When we are in the area again we will definitely come again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RRCazador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fishermen's Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing