We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fish market/cafe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishermen's Catch

Fishermen's Catch
Ranked #10 of 298 Restaurants in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“fish market/cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

TWO ENTRIES HERE AT TWO DIFFERENT ADDRESSES - BUT SAME PLACE

Wednesday lunch, each had the "fresh" fish plate; two sides and the fish: Halibut $18.95, California Sea Bass $16.95. We both had the same two sides; fries and Cole slaw. The fries are coated [paprika?] and the slaw has hunks of pineapple - both tasty. We shared the two grilled fish and both were a little on the dry side, but still well within tolerance. Since I had a glass of wine, we could not be served outside, but we had a window table with a view of the courtyard. You pass by the raw fish display on entering to stop at a small counter where you order and pay. They give you a number and the food is brought to your table. The table has catsup, hot sauce, salt and pepper; you get your own plastic knife and fork. The "plate of fish" comes on a Styrofoam segmented plate; each segment having the three items you ordered. According to the lady taking our money, the fish is locally caught by her husband now out on his boat and her son out on his; father-in-law [87 year old former fisherman] has retired but still work at the market/restaurant.
Not the best fish ever, but good enough to want to come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    45
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JH, Wyoming
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh and perfectly prepared”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went here based on reviews and was not disappointed. Chowder is some of the best I have ever had. Crab cakes, covina, and swordfish all excellent.

We did have one issue in that our order got lost. We knew something was wrong when we had not received our food and they were closing the kitchen. They quickly acknowledged the mistake, got our order out to us, and gave us a gift certificate for our next visit.

They do close early (8pm the night we were there) as the owners are fishermen and are out early every morning.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't trust your GPS, restaurant is located in the shopping centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This restaurant is located in a shopping centre at the corner of Wooley and Victoria; beside a Tea shop and drycleaners.

This is a Fish Market and Restaurant. The fish is so fresh as they have their own boats and the catch is cooked as you ordered it. Don't let the cafeteria decor fooled you, the food is worth a visit. We ordered the Capt's Combo and the Clam Chowder is full of fresh clams and not chewy at all. It was served piping hot The Crab Cakes is light and good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good seafood fast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good seafood served quickly. The dining atmosphere is bustling and busy. It is good if you have loud or active kids as no one will really notice. The seafood selection is great and cooked well. I always make it a point to eat here when I'm in Oxnard.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Simple, down home atmosphere. They are the actual fishermen. It is a husband and wife place and they exude pleasure in what they are doing. Best seafood I've ever enjoyed. This place is a real jewel!!
John & Marcia from Grand Junction, Co.

Helpful?
Thank 4437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fishermen's Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing