We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and perfectly prepared”
Review of Fishermen's Catch

Fishermen's Catch
Ranked #12 of 304 Restaurants in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
JH, Wyoming
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fresh and perfectly prepared”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went here based on reviews and was not disappointed. Chowder is some of the best I have ever had. Crab cakes, covina, and swordfish all excellent.

We did have one issue in that our order got lost. We knew something was wrong when we had not received our food and they were closing the kitchen. They quickly acknowledged the mistake, got our order out to us, and gave us a gift certificate for our next visit.

They do close early (8pm the night we were there) as the owners are fishermen and are out early every morning.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    48
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't trust your GPS, restaurant is located in the shopping centre”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This restaurant is located in a shopping centre at the corner of Wooley and Victoria; beside a Tea shop and drycleaners.

This is a Fish Market and Restaurant. The fish is so fresh as they have their own boats and the catch is cooked as you ordered it. Don't let the cafeteria decor fooled you, the food is worth a visit. We ordered the Capt's Combo and the Clam Chowder is full of fresh clams and not chewy at all. It was served piping hot The Crab Cakes is light and good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good seafood fast”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good seafood served quickly. The dining atmosphere is bustling and busy. It is good if you have loud or active kids as no one will really notice. The seafood selection is great and cooked well. I always make it a point to eat here when I'm in Oxnard.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding seafood!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Simple, down home atmosphere. They are the actual fishermen. It is a husband and wife place and they exude pleasure in what they are doing. Best seafood I've ever enjoyed. This place is a real jewel!!
John & Marcia from Grand Junction, Co.

Helpful?
Thank 4437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“How can you go wrong”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

With a name like Fisherman's catch, how can you go wrong? The portions are huge, and as it says...it's SEAFOOD--fried, grilled, whatever you want--the fish tacos are amazing, as is the seafood sampler--no the prices aren't low low...but who cares? The portions more than make up for it--you will have a doggy bag I'm sure.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fishermen's Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing