We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest Fih”
Review of Fishermen's Catch

Fishermen's Catch
Ranked #11 of 304 Restaurants in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Freshest Fih”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been eating in this restaurant since it opened. The fish is as fresh as can be. They have a 2 tacos & beverage lunch special that is a good deal. The only negatives that I might mention are the paper plates and the fact that it is usually pretty cool in their since the doors are usually open. They are about to break through to a space next door. It will increase their space. This is the place to be when you want the freshest fish. They have their own boat!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    48
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
341 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood in Casual Atmosphere and Great Value”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I love this place, no atmosphere, but super fresh seafood at a great price. No Spot Prawns today but fresh crab, steamers and calamari were all excellent. A short line to order, but it moves quickly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lobster like no other”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

What an amazing place the Fisherman's Catch is, straight from the boat to your table. We decided to have lobster and the two boys picked from the tank were extremely frisky and nearly took off the pickers fingers! One got a reprieve as he was too large so a smaller one had to be found - hillarious to watch. My husband had his steamed and I had mine on the grill... ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I have eaten lobster many times but none were as fresh and sweet as these local boys, well worth the cost (which wasn't extortionate). The staff are friendly and helpful and service was quick and polite. Definitely recommend this lovely place to anyone who enjoys their fish - everything we saw come out of the kitchen looked amazing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meggles57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Crab cakes need more spice”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Ordered the crab cakes which were a little bland - need a little more salt and spice. Service was very friendly and quick.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ironmom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fish that's not fishy”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Great fish and chips that were served Hot and crispy. The fish is fresh and has no fishy Taste. Atmosphere is your regular place for a order at the counter then sit down place. But if you're lucky enough to get a window there is a view of the marina.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvelynSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fishermen's Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing