We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Italian food”

The Italian Job Cafe
Ranked #6 of 305 Restaurants in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Fountain Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great Italian food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I ate dinner here on a Thursday night during a recent visit to the Oxnard area. We each enjoyed our entrees...I had butternut squash ravioli, a special, and he ordered a chicken dish off the regular menu. Both were excellent, as was the soup. So was the dessert! Our service was good and they kept our water glasses full. The restuarant offers daily specials, such as free dessert,free meals for kids on Wednesdays, half price wine by the glass, etc. so you might want to check these out. After dinner, you can take a nice walk and admire the harbor! We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    40
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colton, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“awesome ...”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

had dinner here on a friday night.
we went early to beat the crowd. fast service by Ryan. ambience is romantic !!! exceptionally good food -mushroom stuffed tortellini was rich, creamy and tasted artesanal.
i like to patronize local businesses and this place is some cafe oxnard is blessed to have.
majority of their gelato are imported.... why they import them is my question. i thought gelato can be made locally. the pistachio is good - altho it has scanty nuts.
i will definitely want to try everything in their menu , which means every time i come to oxnard i will drop by this place. :-)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sweetheartofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I had looked at several reviews for Italian restaurants in Oxnard since we were spending the weekend there soon. We got into town late, so I picked this one as the most hopeful for serving late diners. I laughed when I saw that their hours posted were "...til closing". A little vague, but they took us right in. We both had really great entrees; I had the pork chop and hubby had a creamy fettuccine thing. Shared the limoncello panna cotta and it all was wonderful. Our server was helpful and attentive and really seemed happy to be there. Only thing that bothered me was the acoustics in the restaurants. It got very loud at times. But overall a really enjoyable meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nomorebake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibu
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hidden jem”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had lunch here with better half last Friday. Each had lentil soup to start -- lunch in itself. I then had the $10 lunch special -- there was pleany of choice and I had the linguine with chicked which was excellent. My spouse had a fabulous prosciutto sandwich which could easily have fed us both. Shared an excellent tiramisu to finish. Even with a latte and two Morettis, we struggled to spend $60.

Very pleasant service. The space is a little sterile, probably better in the evening with less harsh daylight. Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malibuirishmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland, Fla.
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of our trip”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husand and I arrived in Oxnard on a beautiful, cool August afternoon. After checking into our channel view hotel we opened a bottle of wine, took a brisk walk, then watched a gorgeous sunset from our balcony. Around 7:30 PM we decided to find a place to eat dinner. The front desk clerk recommended several nearby places, but we chose "The Italian Job Cafe", 2810 S. Harbor Blvd. The name sounded odd, but it was a wonderful, quaint "neighborhood style" bistro. They had just posted a "closed" sign on the door when we walked up at 8 PM,(Oxnard is not L.A.!) but we stepped in the door anyway, and "pleaded" to be seated, as there were many tables still full of happy customers having their meals delivered.

I guess my "Southern charm" convinced them to let us stay, and boy are we glad they did! The food was superb, the fresh catch delicious, and the service excellent. The chef has worked in many restaurants, some in L.A., and the menu selections had a large variety of choices , including items for all of us who do not eat meat. They have a full bar, large wine selection, and are very friendly. It was a perfect end to a perfect day!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geezerhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Job Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Italian Job Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing