We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Food”

The Lookout Bar & Grill
Ranked #192 of 305 Restaurants in Oxnard
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Alta Loma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad Food”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Went there about 2pm , they were doing renovation in the middle of the restaurant (replacing seat cushions on all the chairs) while people were eating. Highlight: The Calamari was delicious.......... it was all downhill from there. The hamburger and philly steak sandwich was horrible and fries were cold. Service was bad, only one waitress who was trying to do everything by herself ........ where was the manager? Will not go back again ...... shame, because it is in a great location on the water.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryK281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    5
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“California beach style British pub”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great fish and chips, good Black and Tan pours. treacle pudding for dessert was to die for!
Nice marina view.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoyP_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Faux English, but real beer”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

It's in my neighborhood, which makes this my favorite neighborhood tavern. The Bar Menu is better than OK and the wait staff is friendly and efficient. Live music some nights and there's always a great view of the harbor.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“What a view day and night”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Great food, drinks and live music. Saw Teresa Russell there she was really good. great service

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve and lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“LOUSY SERVICE FROM WAITSTAFF, good tacos though”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Went there during the week after the noon hour (only 2 or 3 customers were there). This is important because the service was so lousy. The guy that "waited" on our table was an older guy with grey hair and acted as if there was something else he would rather be doing. We would have eaten on the patio, but people smoke cigars out there so we avoided that. We ordered the mini-tacos on the happy hour menu and they were very good ($1 a piece). Both the beef and chicken were good. Went there the next day during the late afternoon and once again the service was lousy (a blonde female was "waiting" on us). The service was so bad I had to go get our drinks. Consequently, we did not even bother with eating there.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Picky2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lookout Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Lookout Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing