We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place since I was a kid!”
Review of Hunan Garden

Hunan Garden
Ranked #198 of 304 Restaurants in Oxnard
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Oxnard
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved this place since I was a kid!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Everyone is nice and the food is good. I get my cravings for their Hunan chicken, chow mein or egg drop soup regularly. No other place competes in my eyes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Innerfatkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My favorite Chinese place to eat. Chill environment. A little hidden place but
Great quality.
Great house chow mein!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sk8xlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Liked the Food compared to other places have tried”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Came here for Dinner with the hubby and brother and enjoyed this little hidden gem. If you are looking for fancy lights and tables and 5 star service, I will save you the trouble won't happen here. However, the food is tasty and the service is decent and that's all you can ask for these days. You get what you pay for people. I love the Pot stickers by far they were the largest ones I have ever had in my life :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReshaRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yelp did not help”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Yelp gave 4 start rating to this restaurant. Maybe my expectations were too high as I am from the San Francisco Bay Area where there are a large number of excellent Chinses restaurants. Food was not very good. Order Beef Chow Mein and asked for Bok Choy (standard issue in most Chinese restaurants) but they said that they did not have that vegetable. It just not like Chinese food in the Bay Area. Service was nice. Food not up to par.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roshambo1-2-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Average Chinese Food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good food - nothing spectacular but good portions. The Szechuan beef wasn't spicy and the Hot and Sour soup was not hot or sour. Odd presentation of Egg Foo Yung as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay-BKKJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Garden also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing